World Superbike Results – Race 1 – Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

World Superbike Results - Race 1 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca

After having the race stopped twice for red flags with Sylvain Guintoli (Aprilia Racing Team) in the lead, Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) won Race 1 at Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca in a 12 lap sprint, extending his lead in the championship chase. Crashes sustained firstly by Danny Eslick (Michael Jordan Motorsports Suzuki) and teammate Roger Hayden each resulted the in the red flage being waved.

The works Kawasaki rider took the lead on the tenth lap thanks to an outstanding overtaking maneuver at Turn 11, after a side-by-side downhill ride with Chaz Davies (BMW Motorrad GoldBet). The Championship leader then rode comfortably to win the race, while Marco Melandri lost some ground after trying to pass his teammate Davies at Turn 5. On the final lap, Melandri was knocked off the podium courtesy of a superb pass by Eugene Laverty (Aprilia Racing Team) at the "Corkscrew".

Laverty's teammate Sylvain Guintoli ended up fifth, a frustrating result for the Frenchman who was comfortably in the lead in each of the two interrupted races. Davide Giugliano (Althea Racing Aprilia) claimed sixth place, ahead of Jules Cluzel (FIXI Crescent Suzuki), Toni Elias (Red Devils Aprilia), Ayrton Badovini (Team Ducati Alstare) and Mark Aitchison (Team Pedercini Kawasaki).

Potential podium contender Niccolò Canepa (Team Ducati Alstare) and Leon Haslam (Pata Honda World Superbike) could not line-up for the final restart of the race after crashing out in the second part. Canepa, Eslick and Hayden are all uninjured and are expected to line up on the grid for Race 2 tomorrow. Haslam said, "The leg is a little sore with ligament and muscle pain, but I’ll ice it up tonight and we’ll be all right tomorrow."

With his seventh win of the season, Sykes extends his lead to 22 points over Guintoli, 35 on Laverty, and 45 head of Melandri.

Photography by Ara Ashjian

World Superbike Results - Race 1 - Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
1. Tom Sykes - Kawasaki Racing Team - 16:55.703
2. Chaz Davies - BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK - 16:56.956
3. Eugene Laverty - Aprilia Racing Team - 16:58.157
4. Marco Melandri - BMW Motorrad GoldBet SBK - 16:58.353
5. Sylvain Guintoli - Aprilia Racing Team - 16:59.133
6. Davide Giugliano - Althea Racing - 16:59.287
7. Jules Cluzel - Fixi Crescent Suzuki - 17:04.837
8. Toni Elias - Red Devils Roma - 17:06.955
9. Ayrton Badovini - Team Ducati Alstare - 17:09.843
10. Mark Aitchison - Team Pedercini -17:13.533
11. David Salom - Kawasaki Racing Team - 17:13.713
12. Blake Young - Fixi Crescent Suzuki - 17:17.470
13. Michel Fabrizio - Pata Honda World Superbike - 17:17.790
14. Federico Sandi - Team Pedercini - 17:28.540
15. Vittorio Iannuzzo - Grillini Dentalmatic SBK -17:29.970
16. Glen Allerton - Next Gen Motorsports - 17:45.870

World Superbike Championship Standings After Race 1, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca
1. Tom Sykes - 348 points
2. Sylvain Guintoli - 326
3. Eugene Laverty - 313
4. Marco Melandri - 303
5. Chaz Davies - 259
6. Loris Baz - 180
7. Jonathan Rea - 176
8. Michel Fabrizio - 171
9. Jules Cluzel - 150
10. Davide Giugliano - 149


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.