2012 Phillip Island Moto2 | Results

2012-phillip-island-moto2-results (1)2012 AirAsia Australian Grand Prix Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2012 Phillip Island Moto2 results listed below

Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol’s Marc Márquez was crowned Moto2 World Champion at Sunday’s AirAsia Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island after coming third in an enthralling race won by Tuenti Movil HP 40’s Pol Espargaró with Anthony West second.

Pole-man Espargaró had a bad start as he was taken by Italtrans Racing Team’s Takaaki Nakagami, Márquez and Interwetten-Paddock’s Tom Lüthi in the first few bends. Yet within one lap Espargaró was leading Márquez as the Spanish duo started to spar, in front of Marc VDS Racing Team’s Scott Redding, Nakagami and JiR Moto2’s Johann Zarco.

A lap later and Espargaró already looked in a league of his own as he had pulled out a significant gap over Márquez in second. With 20 laps to go Speed Master’s Andrea Iannone retired with an engine problem, as Redding made his was past Márquez into second.

At the same time, QMMF Racing’s Anthony West led a big group for fourth, with Technomag-CIP’s Dominique Aegerter and Came IodaRacing Project’s Simone Corsi in tow.

With 12 laps remaining Lüthi looked to be struggling as he had dropped into 12th, while Espargaró’s teammate Esteve Rabat had fought his way up to sixth. And couple of laps later Lüthi’s race got even worse as he crashed out, citing a rear tire issue.

Eight laps before the end West had dropped off his group and was edging ever closer to Márquez to challenge for third. The pursuing group fighting for fifth saw Marc VDS’ Mika Kallio and GP Team Switzerland’s Randy Krummenacher join the fight as the six of them were bunched tightly.

With three laps left West made his move on Márquez much to the delight of the local crowd. The Australian then tried a move on Redding, but couldn’t make it stick, as Kallio was forced to drop his bike into the gravel after being bumped by Corsi. The action was then back at the front again as West made a brave move into second, only to then be dramatically followed by Márquez in the final corner, relegating Redding to fourth.

Espargaró took the chequered flag with an enormous margin of over 16 seconds, with West taking his second ever Moto2™ podium in front of an ecstatic home crowd.  The final spot on the rostrum went to Márquez, who is now the fifth Spanish rider to have won the intermediate-class, and the first to do so on a Suter bike. The first non-podium finisher in fourth was Redding ahead of Aegerter, Zarco, Corsi, Rabat, Krummenacher and Nakagami.

It was also confirmed after the race that NGM Mobile Forward Racing’s Alex de Angelis had undergone successful surgery at the Epworth Richmond Hospital on his finger injuries from yesterday, and was on his path to recovery. His return date has however not been confirmed.

2012 Phillip Island Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 40 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Tuenti Movil HP 40 Kalex 169.2 39’26.486
2 20 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 168.0 +16.811
3 16 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Team Catalunya Caixa Repsol Suter 168.0 +16.837
4 13 45 Scott REDDING GBR Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 168.0 +16.957
5 11 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag-CIP Suter 167.3 +26.018
6 10 5 Johann ZARCO FRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 167.3 +26.028
7 9 3 Simone CORSI ITA Came IodaRacing Project FTR 167.3 +26.091
8 8 80 Esteve RABAT SPA Tuenti Movil HP 40 Kalex 167.3 +26.372
9 7 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI GP Team Switzerland Kalex 167.3 +26.474
10 6 30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 167.3 +26.580
11 5 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 166.6 +36.520
12 4 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 166.6 +36.565
13 3 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 166.6 +36.870
14 2 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Tech 3 Racing Tech 3 166.5 +38.220
15 1 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Kiefer Racing Kalex 166.1 +44.350
16 72 Yuki TAKAHASHI JPN NGM Mobile Forward Racing FTR 165.8 +48.586
17 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA Arguiñano Racing Team AJR 165.7 +48.763
18 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 165.7 +48.768
19 14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA Thai Honda PTT Gresini Moto2 Suter 165.5 +52.487
20 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Desguaces La Torre SAG Bimota 165.5 +52.569
21 8 Gino REA GBR Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 165.5 +52.707
22 75 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Technomag-CIP Suter 164.2 +1’12.087
23 22 Alessandro ANDREOZZI ITA S/Master Speed Up Speed Up 163.5 +1’21.455
24 82 Elena ROSELL SPA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 161.9 1 Lap
25 10 Marco COLANDREA SWI SAG Team FTR 161.9 1 Lap
Not Classified
36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 167.4 2 Laps
49 Axel PONS SPA Tuenti Movil HP 40 Kalex 166.5 2 Laps
60 Julian SIMON SPA Blusens Avintia Suter 166.5 2 Laps
57 Eric GRANADO BRA JIR Moto2 Motobi 156.0 2 Laps
12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten-Paddock Suter 163.7 8 Laps
29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Speed Master Speed Up 165.1 21 Lap


2012 Moto2 Championship Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Marc MARQUEZ Suter SPA 299
2 Pol ESPARGARO Kalex SPA 260
3 Andrea IANNONE Speed Up ITA 188
4 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 177
5 Scott REDDING Kalex GBR 161
6 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 119
7 Bradley SMITH Tech 3 GBR 108
8 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 107
9 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 98
10 Johann ZARCO Motobi FRA 94
11 Simone CORSI FTR ITA 87
13 Claudio CORTI Kalex ITA 74
14 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 61
15 Julian SIMON Suter SPA 58
16 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 56
17 Toni ELIAS Kalex SPA 40
18 Randy KRUMMENACHER Kalex SWI 31
19 Xavier SIMEON Tech 3 BEL 21
20 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 19
21 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 19
22 Gino REA Suter GBR 17
23 Mike DI MEGLIO Kalex FRA 14
24 Hafizh SYAHRIN FTR MAL 13
25 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 10
27 Ratthapark WILAIROT Suter THA 8
28 Ricard CARDUS AJR SPA 7