Motorcycle Racing News Trial des Nations: Tolmezzo Results (Video)

Trial des Nations: Tolmezzo Results (Video)

2011 Trial des Nations Video

When things were set for the 2011 FIM Trial des Nations in Tolmezzo, Italy, Spain was the favorite.

Why? It simply had the best riders – Toni Bou (Repsol Montesa), Adam Raga (Gas Gas), Albert Cabestany (Sherco) and Jeroni Fajardo (Ossa). These four are ranked in the top five best riders so far in the 2011 Trial World Championship.

And just as it did for the past seven years, Spain won the Trial of the Nations, taking victory for the eighth consecutive year. Since the Trial des Nations began in 198, the only team to beat Spain was Great Britain, which took the Trial of the Nations in 1999, 2002 and 2003.

Although it couldn’t add a fourth Nations title, Great Britain was Spain’s nearest competitor, the teams consisting of Michael Brown (Gas Gas) James Dabill (Beta), Jack Challoner (Beta) and Dougie Lampkin (Gas Gas).

The FIM states that Great Britain "put up a brave fight in almost British like conditions they simply had no answer to the mighty Spanish quartet. Spain’s winning margin of seventy-nine marks after two laps of eighteen slippery sections confirmed the difference between the two teams on the day."

The 2012 FIM Trial des Nations will be hosted in Moutier, Switzerland.

Attached above are video highlights of the 2011 Trail des Nations.

2011 Trial des Nations Results:

World Championship Group
1: Spain 38
2: Great Britain 117
3: Italy 159
4: France 233
5: Norway 343
6: Japan 354

International Trophy Group
1: Germany 111
2: Sweden 129
3: Czech Republic 135
4: Australia 161
5: Belgium 168
6: Finland 186
7: USA 186
8: Austria 197
9: Ireland 204
10: Poland 237
11: Switzerland 291
12: Portugal 331
13: Canada 339
14: Slovakia 355
15: Latvia 384
16: Denmark 406

Previous Trial des Nations Winners:

World Championship
1998 – Spain
1999 – Great Britain
2000 – Spain
2001 – Spain
2002 – Great Britain
2003 – Great Britain
2004 – Spain
2005 – Spain
2006 – Spain
2007 – Spain
2008 – Spain
2009 – Spain
2010 – Spain

International Trophy
1998 – Germany
1999 – Belgium
2000 – United States
2001 – Germany
2002 – Norway
2003 – Finland
2004 – Ireland
2005 – United States
2006 – Ireland
2007 – Belgium
2008 – Czech Republic
2009 – Germany
2010 – Norway

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Harley LiveWire: Debut Journey from Mexico to Canada Via WCGH

The Coronavirus pandemic has halted vacation plans for many, including those of Diego Cardenas. The Californian had planned to spend his 50th birthday in Spain...

2020 GasGas TXT GP Lineup First Look: 4 More Trials Bikes

Just when we thought there would be only four GasGas observed trials motorcycles for 2020, GasGas announces the four-bike 2020 TXT GP lineup. The...

Avon Roadrider MKII Tires First Look: Vintage Rubber + Modern Tech

Essential to any vintage motorcycle is the proper rubber. The new Avon Roadrider MKII tire builds on the original version, offering authentic styling with...

2021 KTM Cross-Country Lineup First Look: GNCC Wrecking Crew

With a focus on the GNCC Racing series, KTM has a six-model cross-country lineup of off-road racing motorcycles. There are three-each of two-strokes and...

Metzeler Roadtec Scooter Tires First Look: 48 Sizes

Metzeler is introducing the new Roadtec Scooter line of tires, consolidating its wide range of scooter tires. The 48 sizes of Metzeler Roadtec Scooter...

2021 Soriano Motori Lineup First Look: Electric Sport Motorcycles

It can seem like brands never go away. In recent years we have seen the resurgence of marquee brands such as Indian, as well...