News 2011 MiniMotoSX: Las Vegas Results

2011 MiniMotoSX: Las Vegas Results

2011-minimotosx-las-vegas-results 1

Mini Moto SX

For the past seven years, Willie Browning has been one of the favorites to win the GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX but something always prevented him from winning even one main event.

But tonight, at the South Point Arena in Las Vegas, Browning dominated all three expert main events on his CHP mini bikes. He started by taking the 10 Inch Expert class victory over BBR’s Ryan Abrigo and Braaap USA’s Michael Blose.

He later came back to win the 12 Inch Expert class over Derek Costella and Kyle Partridge and then took his third main even win of the night in the World Final, which takes the top three finishers in all of the premier classes.

The improbable trifecta win earned Browning $9,000 for a night of mini

bike racing!

The 2011 GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX, presented by Monster Energy and Braaap USA had 15 separate AMA number one plates on the line for Expert, Amateur, Vet and Youth classes. For the Experts, there was $18,000 in purse money on the line so you know that is going to lead to some intense racing.

Matthew Skerrett beat fellow Austrialian Mike Reefman in the 35+ Vet class. Tatum Sik took the lead from defending women’s champion Erika Short and never looked back to win her first MMSX over Jackie Ives and Katie Cyr. Zac Hays won the Vintage main over Shea Koester and Robert Rexrode.

Drake Williams won the 12 Inch Amateur class over Tomokuni Osada and Matthew Skerrett. Hiroshi Nakayama made the trip from Japan pay off with a victory in the 10 Inch Amateur class over Robert Rexrode and Kevin Papaeko.

10 Inch Stock/Mod was won by Clint Johnson over Duane Brown (one of the BBR brothers) and Joshua Sheffer. Tiger Lacey defended his title in the 12 Inch Stock/Mod class over Michael Horban and Drew Petrie.

The 12 Inch Youth class was won by Daniel Maynet over Kyle Davis and Dillon Drummen. Killian Woder won the 10 Inch Youth class over Dillion Drummen and Tyler Walker. Carson Brown dominated the 12 Inch Youth 9-13 year old class to make up for giving away the lead on the last lap at last year’s event. Robbie Wageman, the defending Champion finished second ahead of Zachary Bierbower.

In the Gas Versus Electric battle, the Gas bikes were given a head-start, which proved insurmountable and Shawn Rhinehart won on a Honda CRF150.

Jamie Lanza was closing fast on his Zero when he was involved in a big crash trying to get into second overall.

Jay Maloney was the second gas powered bike across the line followed by Blake Mitchell. Blake Mitchell was the first Electric bike across the line followed by fellow Zero pilots Chris Green and Jamie Lanza.2011-minimotosx-las-vegas-results 2

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...

2021 BMW R 18 Test: City and Country Life with the Big Boxer

Let's say we hop into Mr. Peabody's WABAC Machine and set the date for October 1936 and Berlin as a location. With us, we...

Harley-Davidson Tremont Shoes Review: Urban Motorcycle Footwear

In the on-going debate over how much protection is enough, the correct answer for each of us comes from within. Some riders would never...