NHHA: Murphy Idaho, Round 4 Results

National Hare & Hound Video

Round 4 of the AMA/Kenda National Hare and Hound Championship Series is in the books, and for the third time in a row, it is the KTM of Kurt Caselli who came out on top just outside Murphy, Idaho.

Unlike some of the previous rounds however, the win wouldn’t come easy as four different racers would lead before the day was over.

The hosting club, Dirt Inc, prepared nearly 110 miles of course and despite torrential rainfall in the weeks prior to the event, everything came off perfect come start time.

After having to relocate the main pit area and start location just three days prior to the race, the Dirt Inc crew, along with the NHHA, brought racing back to Idaho as the most northern stop of the series.

Off the start, it was the FMF/KTM of Kurt Caselli, followed closely by the Purvines Racing’s Honda of David Pearson. As the two made it through the fence and onto the race course, three Kawasaki’s of Destry Abbott, Jacob Argubright, and Robert Underwood all flew through together and followed the leader’s dust.

It would be a little over an hour before the leaders were spotted again and when they headed down main pit row, the pits were buzzing with excitement.

Caselli came in first, followed only seconds later by Pearson, who was immediately trailed by both Destry Abbott and Jacob Argubright. The Kawasaki pits couldn’t buy enough help and both mechanics worked to get their riders out before the next. Immediately out of the pits, Argubright made the pass and a cat and mouse game began.

Out front and only a few hundred yards ahead, Pearson made a move on Caselli and took over the lead. From this point, Pearson would catch the hare and collect the $500 cash reward for first past the hare. At mile marker 60, Argubright and Abbott would make the pass on Caselli and the Factory KTM rider would find himself in 4th.

A late crash by Pearson would let the following three by, and Caselli slid his way into the lead yet again. Running second, Off Road Support’s Jacob Argubright would make a pass and physically lead for the first time in 2011. Holding on with the ISDE ace only feet behind, Argubright gave it everything he had but blew a turn and fell over handing the lead back to Caselli with only 5 miles to go.

At the finish line, it was Kurt Caselli followed approximately ten seconds later by Jacob Argubright, and about another ten seconds later by the Monster Energy Kawasaki of Destry Abbott, who is now the only rider to podium at all four rounds in 2011. Pearson would recover from his crash and finish fourth while Robert Underwood would have his best finish of the year in fifth place.

It was back to business for the Vet Pro Class as David Fry and Dan Capparelli went at it yet again here at Round 4. After the full 110 miles, it was David Fry and his Purvines Racing Honda who took the win at 14th overall and first place Vet Pro. Knowing how important points can become at the end of the season, Capparelli rode equally hard finishing at 16th overall and second Vet Pro. As the only Vet Pro racer to finish all 4 events, Capparelli holds on to his points lead with his second place here at Round 4. Senior racer Jake Vainio finished first place in the 40+ class and third Vet Pro, while Idaho’s Nick Steinbach and Washington’s Kelly Hill rounded out the top 5 in the Vet Pro class.

The stacked 250cc class this year has had it’s share of excitement. With two riders coming into the finish line side by side as 7th and 8th overall, the first 250 would be that of Elko, Nevada’s Levi Hutchings and second place would go to local rider, Lane Buchert.

Racing in his first ever National Hare and Hound, 16-year old Tuffy Pearson (cousin to David Pearson) would finish a respectable 9th overall! Rounding out the Top 15 would be 6.Justin Morrow, 7.Levi Hutchings, 8.Lane Buchert, 9.Tuffy Pearson, 10. Brett Saunders, 11. Chris Morrow, 12.Clay Davies, 13.Skyler Howes, 14.David Fry, 15. Ricky Brabec. Great job guys!

Idaho was all business as Blais Racing Services rider Shayla Fulfer rode hard in her home town race to take a commanding victory. With a generous 10 minute gap at the finish line, Fulfer led from start to finish to take the win in the Woman’s Pro Class.

Off Road Support’s Sarah Kritsch rode to a well deserved second place after her bike wouldn’t start on the line. Starting the race physically last off the expert line, Kritsch passed the other 8 woman in the largest Woman’s Pro turnout of the year.

After running in third place for most of the event, Three Brothers KTM’s Kelly Barbosa took a spill in the water crossing at the end of the race and let Idaho local, Tresa Worrell, get by for third place. Barbosa would recover for 4th place and Mckensee Thomas would round out the top 5 in the Woman’s Pro class.

The amateur classes were represented well with big Holeshot awards provided by some of Idaho’s local motorcycle businesses. Pro Moto Billet/Fastway sponsored the “B” Row Holeshot award and Dennis Maurer took home a brand new Fastway steering stabilizer kit, the same model that Jacob Argubright used to land on the podium and lead mid-way through the event.

From the “C” Row, it was all Brendan Crow, as the California desert racer earned himself a brand new Rekluse clutch kit courtesy of the Rekluse crew. With the local businesses stepping up to sponsor Round 4, the pits were buzzing all weekend as both companies invited the NHHA riders to their shops for tours prior to the Idaho National.

Kenda Kash was awarded at Round 4 at the finish line to Kevin DeJongh, Dennis Maurer, Shayla Fulfer, and John Kearney who all went home winners with $50 cash in their pockets courtesy of Kenda Tires.

All riders in the A and B skill levels who finish 1st or 2nd place in their respective classes will be receiving the contingency packets via email in the coming weeks as the results are made final. Please check out www.NationalHareandHound.com for the winner’s list and please sign up and add your email address if we do not already have it.

All riders in attendance at Round 4 will be mailed a $10 gift card from Rockymountainatvmc.com just for showing up to the start line!

Dirt Inc had the largest Pro Purse of the year here at Round 4, with $2000 dollars up for grabs by the end of the show. Sponsored by Dan Wiebold Ford and the family of Jody Schlapia, who were in attendance, the pros were eager to come out on top.

David Pearson took home the $500 catch-the-hare prize, while the top 5 each took home their share of the Pro Purse at the finish line podium. The race was dedicated to the memory of Jody, who lost his battle with Cancer last year, and by the look of things in and around the pits, he would have been proud of the way that his club represented his memory with one of the most exciting national’s of the 2011 season.