Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP Championship | 2010 Points

MotoGP Championship | 2010 Points

Valencia | Final Round

Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha M1) signed off a hugely successful 2010 campaign with his ninth win of the year today, taking victory at Valencia in front of a delighted home crowd.

The MotoGP World Champion, who before this weekend had never won at the circuit, eventually crossed the finish line 4.576 seconds clear of Casey Stoner (Ducati GP10), who was followed onto the podium by Valentino Rossi (Yamaha M1).

Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda RC212V) – who sealed runner-up spot in the Championship with seventh – Héctor Barberá (Páginas Amarillas Aspar), Álvaro Bautista (Rizla Suzuki) and Randy de Puniet (LCR Honda RC212V) ended their 2010 seasons with top-ten finishes.

Aleix Espargaró (Pramac Ducati Racing), Colin Edwards (Monster Yamaha Tech 3), Marco Melandri (San Carlo Honda Gresini Team), Hiroshi Aoyama (Interwetten Honda MotoGP) and Carlos Checa (Pramac Ducati Racing) completed the 15 finishers.

There was disappointment for Nicky Hayden (Ducati GP10) who crashed out at the start having risen to second position, whilst Loris Capirossi (Rizla Suzuki) retired from the race with 17 laps remaining.

Lorenzo’s final points tally of 383 is also a new record for the most points scored in a single season in the MotoGP class. His win was also the first at Valencia for Yamaha in the 800cc era.

2010 Final MotoGP Championship Standings

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 383
2 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 245
3 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 233
4 Casey STONER Ducati AUS 225
5 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Honda ITA 206
6 Ben SPIES Yamaha USA 176
7 Nicky HAYDEN Ducati USA 163
8 Marco SIMONCELLI Honda ITA 125
9 Randy DE PUNIET Honda FRA 116
10 Marco MELANDRI Honda ITA 103
11 Colin EDWARDS Yamaha USA 103
12 Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 90
13 Alvaro BAUTISTA Suzuki SPA 85
14 Aleix ESPARGARO Ducati SPA 65
15 Hiroshi AOYAMA Honda JPN 53
16 Loris CAPIROSSI Suzuki ITA 44
17 Mika KALLIO Ducati FIN 43
18 Alex DE ANGELIS Honda RSM 11
19 Roger Lee HAYDEN Honda USA 5
20 Kousuke AKIYOSHI Honda JPN 4
21 Carlos CHECA Ducati SPA 1
22 Wataru YOSHIKAWA Yamaha JPN 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Helmet Use by U.S. Motorcyclists Trends Higher in Past Decade

Could the availability of better helmet options be part of the reason? According to the U. S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration...

Editor’s Letter: A Very Merry Christmas When I Became An ‘Authentic Motorcyclist’

At the end, my parents handed me a small package. I opened it up, and it was a little booklet. It had pictures of a motorcycle.

2021 AMA Supercross and Motocross Pro Numbers: List and Analysis

Supercross starts up in January, and it’s time to match the latest crop of riders to the numbers on their motorcycles. The biggest news...

Cardo Packtalk Black and Prototype Headset Review: Racing Intercom

Cardo has been well known for its high-quality helmet-to-helmet communication systems for over a decade. Cardo uses Bluetooth technology in both is Packtalk and...

2021 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The triumvirate of 2020 AMA 450MX National Champion Zach Osborne, 2018 AMA Supercross Champion Jason Anderson, and Dean Wilson will all be racing motorcycle...

Shoei RF-1400 First Look: New Motorcycle Helmet

The folks at Shoei made the best of our pandemic situation with their unique launch of the new Shoei RF-1400. They shipped us the...