Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2016 Las Vegas Supercross Results | Dungey Crashes, But Wins

2016 Las Vegas Supercross Results | Dungey Crashes, But Wins

2016 Las Vegas Supercross Results – Season Finale

2016 Las Vegas Supercross Results | Dungey Crashes, But Wins
KTM’s Ryan Dungey

The final round of Monster Energy AMA Supercross was held at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas, Nevada. Flash flooding during the day made for an extremely muddy racetrack, which provided a major challenge for all racers.

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey put a cap on his championship-winning SX season grabbing the Holeshot Award. He was passed by Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen early on in the race and crashed into him after the Roczen washed the front end on lap six. Dungey was able to remount his KTM to take over the lead once again and survive the remaining ten laps of the shortened main event to take his ninth victory of the season.

Ryan Dungey at Las Vegas SX 2016
KTM’s Ryan Dungey

“Las Vegas is not known for rain,” said Dungey. “It hasn’t rained when I’ve been here in the past. The track was tough, especially with the rain coming down during the heat races. Once that stopped, the mud kind of hardened up a little bit and there was a good line.

“Ken (Roczen) was giving us a challenge and was going good tonight, for sure. Then he tucked the front end and I had nowhere to go. I am really happy we ended the season strong and that was the goal tonight. Tonight was a challenge, but I’m glad we got a win.”

Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson came around the first corner in third place and passed Roczen after he washed the front end and went down. As a result of Dungey going down, Anderson was able to close in on him, but was never able to make a pass settling for second place on the night and finishing in third place overall in the series point standings.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac came around the first corner in ninth place and made several passes aboard his Kawsaki KX450F on the muddy course to round out the podium in third place.

Series veteran Chad Reed piloted his factory Yamaha YZ450F to fourth place on the night after a sixth place start while Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s Blake Baggett rounded out the top five in fifth place after starting outside the top ten in eleventh.

Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Broc Tickle, BTO Sports KTM’s Justin Brayton, Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard, Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely, and Monster Energy/AutoTrader/Toyota/Yamaha’s Justin Barcia rounded out the top ten, respectively.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Las Vegas Supercross Results – Season Finale

  1. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F
  2. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450
  3. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F
  4. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F
  5. Blake Baggett – Suzuki RM-Z450
  6. Broc Tickle – Suzuki RM-Z450
  7. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F
  8. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R
  9. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R
  10. Justin Barcia – Yamaha YZ450F
  11. Josh Grant – Kawasaki KX450F
  12. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F
  13. Jake Weimer – Suzuki RM-Z450
  14. Vince Friese – Honda CRF450R
  15. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF450R
  16. Mike Alessi – Honda CRF450R
  17. Nick Schmidt – Suzuki RM-Z450
  18. Bracken Hall – Honda CRF450R
  19. Nick Wey – Kawasaki KX450F
  20. Benny Bloss – KTM 450 SX-F
  21. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450
  22. Marvin Musquin– KTM 450 SX-F
  23. Davi Millsaps– KTM 450 SX-F

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide First Look (6 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Road Glide is here, and it’s louder and sleeker than ever—plus it has some wild new wheels. Here’s what’s new...

2021 Houston 3 Fantasy Supercross Tips (11 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is off to a mind-boggling start. The playing field is so level that the bubble is right...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Bob 114 First Look (6 Fast Facts)

When the Softail Standard was released last year and functionally the same motorcycle as the Street Bob, we knew something had to be afoot...