Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2015 Monster Energy Cup Track - 11' Raised Starting Gate!

2015 Monster Energy Cup Track – 11′ Raised Starting Gate!

2015 Monster Energy Cup Track Design

The fifth-annual Monster Energy Cup is set for Saturday, Oct. 17, at Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas – the same venue that hosts the final round of the Supercross Championship.

And on Thursday, the official 2015 Monster Energy Cup track design was unveiled for the the $1 million Supercross race. For 2015, the track will feature some drastic changes, which includes the starting gate being raised 11 feet in the air. The elevated-starting platform will surely challenge the 22-rider grid ahead of the Monster Energy Cup.

“I’m really excited about this year’s track design, and feel it’s a lot different than any before it,” says Ricky Carmichael, the track’s designer. “The elevated start is going to be so cool to see and I like that it is back inside the stadium. The 11′ elevation almost gives it a BMX feel, but bigger. As happy as I am with the track I am really excited for the racing this year. There is a lot of heat showing up for this year’s race and I’m expecting to see some of the best racing action ever this time around.”

2015 Monster Energy Cup Tickets VideoBesides the tweaked starting gate, the ’15 Monster Energy Cup Track will featured the AMSOIL Arch – a 150-foot sweeper turn so massive that it will extend into the grandstands. The MEC track will also feature a new spin on the devious Joker Lane built as an “S” turn on the start straight.

“Racers will also be treated to a massive sand roller section coming out of Monster Alley, where racers reach speeds upwards of 70 mph and a long technical rhythm section with dual lanes. Additionally, the Monster Energy Cup track will feature a high-speed outdoor motocross themed section outside the stadium section, an under/over bridge, and a large triple jump exceeding 100-feet for the Monster Energy Finish line,” MX Sports says.

If a rider wins all three main events at the Monster Energy Cup, the MX pilot can walk away with $1 million. The only rider to complete the feat at the MEC was Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto, earned the seven-figure payday in 2011.

The next three winners took top MEC honors, but not the $1 million – Honda Justin Barcia in 2012 (2-1-1), Suzuki’s James Stewart in 2013 (8-1-1); and Kawasaki’s Davi Millsaps (3-4-1) last year.

For additional information, or 2015 Monster Energy Cup tickets, visit

Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha Sign E-Motorcycle Battery Agreement

Get ready for the Swappable Batteries Consortium for Motorcycles and Light Electric Vehicles made up of Honda, KTM, Piaggio, and Yamaha. The goal is...

Laurin & Klement Slavia B – The Birth of Škoda Motorsports 120 Years Ago

Czechs Václav Laurin and Václav Klement founded their bicycle manufacturing company in Mladá Boleslav, Bohemia, in 1895. The company, Laurin & Klement, started a...

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.