AMA Hall of Fame: Another Vote for Clark


2012 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame

When the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame rescinded Derek “Nobby” Clark’s induction into its 2012 class, much drama followed.

After the news arrived on June 11, the Hall of Fame stating Clark’s induction was revoked due to “an error in the Hall of Fame balloting process,” much talk began within the industry. And a month later, SPEED “Wind Tunnel” star Dave Despain became the first person in history to official resign from the AMA Hall of Fame, the famed motorcycle journalist questioning the leadership at the organization.

Next to go was two-time AMA Grand National Champion Dick Mann, and soon three-time 500cc MotoGP Champion Kenny Roberts was talking of resigning.

And on Thursday, the AMA reported that the American Motorcycle Heritage (AMHF) Foundation Board of Directors will conduct a supplemental vote for the inclusion of Clark in this year’s Hall of Fame induction class. If voted in, Clark, the famed race tuner of such legends as Mike Hailwood, Giacomo Agostini and Kenny Roberts, would be inducted at this year’s ceremony in November.

The AMA says the decision is in response to errors that occurred in the 2012 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame balloting process; the supplemental vote does not affect other 2012 Hall of Fame inductees.

Jeffrey V. Heininger (Chairman of the AMHF) says: “We believe Mr. Clark is worthy of induction into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame. It’s important to stress that the balloting errors were not of Mr. Clark’s making, and the entire board offers its sincere apologies to Mr. Clark.

“The only people who can elevate Mr. Clark to the Hall of Fame are the voting members, which include the living Hall of Famers. A clear vote in light of all that has happened allows Mr. Clark to enter the Hall with the honor he deserves. We expect to start contacting voting members for balloting early next week.”

Also in response to the errors in the 2012 ballot, Heininger told the AMHF board that the executive committee would convene a review panel to evaluate the Hall of Fame selection committees’ structure, along with procedures to ensure the adherence to, and checks and balances within, the induction process.

Jeff Heininger says: “There were errors made at the staff and committee levels in the formulation of the 2012 ballot. Those errors were rightly investigated, and the process must — and will be — corrected going forward.

“Recent events show that while the procedure for selecting Hall of Famers is sound, the implementation of that procedure leaves too much room for mistakes,” Heininger said. “It is important, for the integrity of the selection process and the Hall of Fame itself, to make sure our balloting is beyond reproach.”

These actions follow a recommendation of the AMHF Executive Committee on Monday, July 16, when a report detailing problems with the 2012 Hall of Fame balloting process was discussed.

The full report can be found at by clicking here.