Motorcycle Types Adventure / Dual-Sport 2011 Washougal 450 Motocross | Results

2011 Washougal 450 Motocross | Results

2011 AMA Motocross

Spoiler Alert: 2011 AMA Washougal Motocross 450 Results Below

Much changed in the 2011 AMA Motocross Championship following Saturday evening’s Washougal National in Washington.

The changes actually began last week when Two-Two Motorsports Honda’s Chad Reed had a 1-14 finish due to the most famous motocross crash of the 2011 season, allowing the points battle to tighten on top.

Heading into Washougal, Reed held a six-point lead over the reigning Motocross Champion, Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki) and a seven-point lead over Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki).

But after Dungey took the overall victory with a 2-1 moto finish in Washougal, he also ousted Reed in the points race, becoming the new championship leader. Dungey was joined on the overall podium by Villopto (1-2), and Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Brett Metcalfe (4-3).

As for Reed, he didn’t have any horrific crashes, but struggled to a 4-7 finish. Reed says he’s still recovering from the Spring Creek crash. He moved to third in the championship standings, nine points behind Dungey, eight behind Villopoto.

The opening moto became a tight battle between Villopoto and Dungey. At one point towards the end of the moto, Dungey attempted to pass Villopoto but crashed. The reigning Motocross Champion was able to remount and finish second. Taking third was American Honda’s Trey Canard.

In Moto2, Villooto took the holeshot, but the race was red-flagged due to Canard hitting the dirt hard; Canard sustained a DNF. Canard was reportedly OK, and will return to the series. When the race was restarted, Dungey got out front first, and gradually extended his lead to take the checkered flag.

Joining Dungey on the Moto2 podium was Villopoto and Metcalfe.

Ryan Dungey (Rockstar Makita Suzuki RMZ450 Motocross) says: "The first moto was good. I was slow in the first few laps, but I was able to inch up on (Ryan Villopoto) and find some lines. I tried to make the pass, but he pinched me off. I tried again, and hit something, which spun me right around.

"I got a good restart in Moto 2, and Villopoto was on me, but I found some good lines and started to pull away. To be back in position to win the title brings a sense of joy; to work so hard for something. We just have to take it one moto at a time for the rest of the year. Everyone’s speed is really good right now."

Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki KX450F Motocross) says: "Ryan (Dungey) was riding better than me in the second moto. He had some better lines. But, it feels good to have the red plate (and points lead). It’s a big step, but we still got some things to work on, and we’ll continue to try and improve. I haven’t won here at Washougal yet, but everything was going well. I just didn’t have it there at the end of the second moto."

Chad Reed (Two-Two Motorsports Honda CRF450R Motocross) says: "I’m still feeling the after-affects of the crash at Millville, but day-by-day, I’m feeling better. We have two weekends off after Washougal, which is nice to know, as it’s easier to tell my body it just has to step it up for one more 10-hour day before getting a rest. After Saturday, I will worry about the hurting. I don’t have one particular thing that is injured – I’m sore all over. I hit my head pretty decent in the crash, so I’m laying low this week from on-the-bike training."

The 2011 AMA Motocross Championship takes a two-week break before heading to Unadilla for Round 9.

2011 Washougal AMA Motocross: 450 Results

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (2-1)
  2. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki (1-2)
  3. Brett Metcalfe, Mannum, Australia, Suzuki (4-3)
  4. Chad Reed, Kurri Kurri, Australia, Honda (7-4)
  5. Justin Brayton, Fort Dodge, Iowa, Yamaha (6-5)
  6. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM (9-6)
  7. Tommy Hahn, Great Bend, Kan., Yamaha (8-7)
  8. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM (5-10)
  9. Jimmy Albertson, San Diego, Calif., Yamaha (11-9)
  10. Michael Byrne, Rockhampton, Australia, Suzuki (10-12)

2011 AMA Motocross 450 Class Championship Standings (after 8 of 12 rounds)

  1. Ryan Villopoto, Poulsbo, Wash., Kawasaki – 341
  2. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki – 340
  3. Chad Reed, Kurri Kurri, Australia, Honda – 332
  4. Brett Metcalfe, Mannum, Australia, Suzuki – 247
  5. Kevin Windham, Baton Rouge, La., Honda – 193
  6. Andrew Short, Colorado Springs, Colo., KTM – 183
  7. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM – 178
  8. Davi Millsaps, Murrieta, Calif., Yamaha – 173
  9. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki – 159
  10. Tommy Hahn, Great Bend, Kan., Yamaha – 140

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Daytona Fantasy Supercross Tips (16 Fast Facts)

The Daytona Supercross is the midway point in the 2021 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series. There are eight rounds in the book, and there...

BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy Comes To Europe For 2022

For the first time since its 2008 debut, the BMW Motorrad International GS Trophy competition will be held in Europe. Located above the northeast...

Ultimate Motorcycling Editor’s Letter, March 2021: Vive l’automatique!

Testing the 2021 Honda Rebel 1100 DCT for this issue reminded me of something fundamental—motorcycles need to be accessible to new riders. Although we’ve...

Lieback’s Lounge: FTR—The Savior From Winter Misery?

When I found myself cleaning the tire treads on my Multistrada 1200, I knew the winter madness had returned.

2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster First Look: New Fork and More

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster gets a more responsive motor with additional midrange power from the vertical-twin 1200HT engine. The powerplant also meets Euro...

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...