Motorcycle Racing News Arai Dominates 2010 AMA Road Racing

Arai Dominates 2010 AMA Road Racing

Arai Motorcycle Racers

Arai Helmets, a perennial force in virtually every form of motorsports competition from motorcycles to Formula-1, has dominated the 2010 AMA Pro Road Racing championship.

Arai racers captured four of the five national championships: American SuperBike, Daytona SportBike, SuperSport East, and the inaugural Harley XR-1200 series.

More than "only" winning the championships, however, the Arai riders captured both of the top positions in three of the classes, the top four in another, and finished second in the only class not won.

But even that doesn’t tell the whole story. In the National Guard SuperBike class, Team Graves Yamaha rider Josh Hayes edged Rockstar Makita Suzuki rider Tommy Hayden at the last round in one of the two hotly-contested class championships that saw Arai win 15 of the 19 races-seven by Hayes, five by Hayden.

The other three wins came from longtime Arai rider, and Hayden teammate, Blake Young, who finished sixth in the points. It was Hayes’s first Superbike crown, Arai’s first since Nicky Hayden’s 2002 win, and the first for Yamaha in a decade.

The 2010 Daytona SportBike class was another barn burner, the points lead swapping back and forth on almost a race-by-race basis, and the championship again not being decided until the last round.

In the end, after Arai riders took 13 of the season’s 18 races (with Bobby Fong winning his first-ever Daytona SportBike final), it was Team M4 Monster Energy Suzuki’s standout Martin Cardenas by just eight points over GEICO Powersports RMR Suzuki’s Danny Eslick. They gave Arai its second one-two championship finish.

The most notable achievement in the 2010 SuperSport series was the first-ever AMA Pro national road race win by a woman. Arai-sponsored 16-year-old Elena Myers did it on her Lucas Oil RMR Suzuki GSX-R600 at Infineon Raceway on May 15th, on her way to second place in the SuperSport West class championship.

In the SuperSport East series, Arai’s young guns owned the top four championship positions. J.D. Beach on his Rockwall Performance Yamaha won eight of the eleven races he contested on his way to the championship. Huntley Nash was second and had three victories, Tomas Puerta third, and Cameron Beaubier fourth.

Finally, the inaugural running of the new Vance & Hines XR-1200 class turned out to be another Arai showcase, as Danny Eslick and Travis Wyman took the championship and second place respectively in the shortened series.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Team RB Freestyle Randie and Birdman Motorcycle Stunt Riders

Hello Rider Readers, It’s Randie Raige of Team RB Freestyle here! Come take an inside look at tandem stunt riding with me. That’s right, two...

2021 Aprilia Tuono V4 Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

The Aprilia Tuono V4 has earned a reputation for being an uncompromisingly high-performance upright sportbike. Note that we didn’t say naked, as it has...

2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Lineup First Look: Adventure and Travel

Sporting two touring-oriented ADV motorcycles, the 2021 Moto Guzzi V85 TT lineup returns with some motor and electronics package updates, and a bit more....

2021 American Flat Track Schedule: 17 AFT Rounds Planned

The 2021 American Flat Track schedule has been revealed, and it features 17 rounds running from March to October, and coast-to-coast. There are four...

2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory First Look (11 Fast Facts)

There are quite a few updates to the 2021 Aprilia RSV4 and RSV4 Factory. None of them are revolutionary. However, taken together, they add...

Honda CRF110F EFI Long-Term Test: 11-Year-Old Tested

When we got a hold of the 2019 Honda CRF110F, we were reluctant to give it back. Test rider Ben Karsian was cutting his...