News AMA Pro Hillclimbers: Poags Hole Results

AMA Pro Hillclimbers: Poags Hole Results

Motorcycle Hillclimb

When Pro Hillclimbers converged on Poags Hole in Dansville, N..Y, last weekend, Harold Waddell had a great day, winning the Unlimited Class and exhibition Verti-Cross Hillclimb and taking second in the Xtreme Class.

Jason Smith won the Xtreme Class and rookie John Koester took the win in his first Pro Sport appearance, making hillclimb history by being the first Pro Sporter ever to crest Poags Hole.

Heavy rain soaked the hill and pooled in the pits the morning of the race, leading some to wonder if the race would run. But hillclimbing is an all-weather sport and with a growing crowd of hardy fans, the show must go on.

Poags Hole draws a large number of entries- AMA riders vying for championship points plus NAHA riders gunning for a chunk of the winnings. 2010 topped out at 74 pro class bikes and eight Verti-Cross machines.

Pro Sport launched promptly at noon, with the rain still falling. Scott Hoke rode fifth and reached 685 feet- almost to the crest. Then John Koester rode, cresting in 21.141 seconds- a Pro Sport hill record. In Pro Sport’s second run, David Jude II edged out Hoke by a scant two-feet for second place. Points leader, Josh Lingle, finished a disappointing eleventh, giving up nearly half of his lead against Hoke.

In Xtreme Class, Phil Libhart topped the hill first at 21.841 seconds. Chris VanHyning posted a 22.835 ride, a second off Libhart’s pace. Then Waddell rode flawlessly at 19.325 seconds, the time to beat. Travis Whitlock rode last and crested at 21.759. At the half it was Waddell, Whitlock and Libhart in the top three.

In second half Xtreme action, VanHyning fought back with a 21.391 temporarily in second. Riding third from last, Jason Smith screamed over the top in 17.999 seconds for the lead, forcing Waddell to defend his position. He rode faster than the first round by three tenths but settled for second behind Smith. At the final it was Smith, Waddell and VanHyning on the podium.

The fastest rider in the Unlimited Class first half was a brand new rookie, Jay Sallstrom, licensed days before the race. He’d never before seen Poags Hole nor ridden a nitro bike. Riding last in the order, right after a sizzling 17.823 second performance by Waddell, Sallstrom blasted up the hill and over the top in 17.742 seconds to the amazement of riders, fans and himself. He was on top at the half.

Dusty Beer posted a 19.016 ET in the Unlimited Class second half, squeezing into third. Then Whitlock knocked him back by jumping from ninth to first with a 17.511 second run. Waddell rode next to last and broke 17 seconds, pushing Whitlock and Sallstrom back one spot each. Sallstrom rode last but couldn’t beat Waddell or Whitlock, remaining third.

In exhibition Verti-Cross (think- vertical moto-cross), eight riders faced off in four heats. The winners moved on to the semi-final with Stephen Carlin facing VanHyning and Waddell opposing Smith. In the final Waddell took on Carlin and came out on top for the win.

Series points leaders, first through third, are: Unlimited- Colby McCutcheon, Scott Campbell and Benner; Xtreme- Nate Redmann, Libhart and VanHyning; and Pro Sport- Lingle, Hoke and Mosko.

AMA Pro Hillclimbers will race next at Canaan, NH for round 6 on August 29.

AMA Pro Hillclimb Dansville Results
U/L: 1. Harold Waddell (Suz); 2. Travis Whitlock (KTM); 3. Jay Sallstrom (Yam); 4. Dusty Beer (Kaw); 5. Chris VanHyning (Yam).
Xtreme: 1. Jason Smith (Yam); 2. Harold Waddell (Suz); 3. Chris VanHyning (Hon); 4. Travis Whitlock (KTM); 5. Phil LIbhart (Tri).
Pro Spt: 1. John Koester (Suz); 2. David Jude II (Hon); 3. Scott Hoke (Suz); 4. Brandon Novak (KTM); 5. Matthew Gillespie (Hon).
Verti-Cross: 1. Harold Waddell (Suz); 2. Stephen Carlin (Suz); 3. Jason Smith (Yam).

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...

MP Magic 37.5 Tech Merino Wool Socks Review (All-Season Footwear)

I’m very picky when it comes to motorcycle socks. For dirt bikes, it’s easy. I always wear Fly Racing Knee Brace socks, as they...

2021 Triumph Tiger 850 Sport Review (13 Fast Facts)

Marketing is a funny thing. Usually, manufacturers exaggerate the displacement in model names—even if only by a little bit. However, in the case of...

2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special First Look (5 Fast Facts)

The 2021 Harley-Davidson Street Glide Special changes this year focus on new colors and finishes. However, there are some other updates worth discussing. The...

2021 DOT Certified Helmet Performance Testing Update

We provide some deep insight into the latest 2021 DOT Certified Motorcycle Helmet performance testing, from failure rate to suggestions for regulators.

2021 Benelli TRK502 Review (15 Fast Facts for Sport-Touring)

Last month we tested the 2021 Benelli TRK502X adventure motorcycle and came away impressed. At first glance, the standard TRK502 doesn’t seem that much...