MotoGP Planning Spanish Openers: 2020 Grand Prix of Spain & Andalusia

2019 Jerez MotoGP Qualifying Honda's Marc Marquez

MotoGP is hard at work planning out the rescheduling of the 2020 MotoGP World Championship calendar. In cooperation with the governing bodies of Jerez and Andalusia, MotoGP is hoping to run the first two 2020 MotoGP Rounds at Circuito de Jerez-Ángel Nieto on July 19 and 26. 

Holding a meeting electronically, Regional Government of Andalusia VP Juan Antonio Marín, Jerez de la Frontera Mayor Mamen Sánchez Díaz, and Dorna Sports CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta came to an agreement to present the plan to the Spanish government.

MotoGP Planning Spanish Openers: 2020 Grand Prix of Spain & Andalusia - Dovi

If the Spanish federal government approves of the plan, the first round will be called the Grand Prix of Spain, with the following weekend’s round named the Grand Prix of Andalusia. The FIM will also have to sign off on the unusual arrangement of two races in the same venue on consecutive weekends.

One challenge for the MotoGP teams will be dealing with the higher temperatures of Jerez in July. The average high is 92.5 degrees, with highs in the 100s not unheard of. Normally, MotoGP races in Jerez in May, when the average high is 78 degrees. 

As a reminder and a possible hint at what the beginning of 2020 will bring, here are the results of the 2019 Grand Prix of Spain.

2019 Jerez MotoGP Results

1Marc MarquezRepsol Honda TeamHonda161.241:08.685
2Alex RinsTeam SUZUKI ECSTARSuzuki161.1+1.654 seconds
3Maverick ViñalesMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha161.0+2.443
4Andrea DoviziosoMission Winnow DucatiDucati161.0+2.804
5Danilo PetrucciMission Winnow DucatiDucati160.9+4.748
6Valentino RossiMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha160.7+7.547
7Franco MorbidelliPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha160.7+8.228
8Cal CrutchlowLCR Honda CASTROLHonda160.5+10.052
9Takaaki NakagamiLCR Honda IDEMITSUHonda160.5+10.274
10Stefan BradlTeam HRCHonda160.3+13.402
11Aleix EspargaroAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia160.2+15.431
12Jorge LorenzoRepsol Honda TeamHonda160.0+18.473
13Pol EspargaroRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM159.9+20.156
14Johann ZarcoRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM159.5+26.706
15Tito RabatReale Avintia RacingDucati159.4+28.513
16Karel AbrahamReale Avintia RacingDucati158.8+36.858
17Bradley SmithAprilia Factory RacingAprilia158.5+41.390
18Miguel OliveiraRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM158.5+41.570
19Hafizh SyahrinRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM158.0+50.568
Not Classified
Jack MillerPramac RacingDucati160.43 Laps
Joan MirTeam SUZUKI ECSTARSuzuki160.55 Laps
Fabio QuartararoPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha160.712 Laps
Francesco BagnaiaPramac RacingDucati157.819 Laps


Photos by Luciano Bianchetto