Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP MotoGP Virtual Grand Prix of Spain Preview: All 3 Classes

MotoGP Virtual Grand Prix of Spain Preview: All 3 Classes

After two successful MotoGP Virtual Races that drew millions of viewers from around the globe, MotoGP will be holding the Red Bull Virtual Grand Prix of Spain on Sunday, May 3, at 9 a.m. EDT. Unlike the Virtual Races that were between 10 MotoGP racers, the Virtual Grand Prix of Spain will have 11 riders in the MotoGP class, and 10 competitors in each of the support classes— Moto2 and Moto3. The racing will be on the electronic rendering of Circuito de Jerez – Ángel Nieto.

The MotoGP heavy hitters from the Virtual Races return, including race winners Alex Márquez and Pecco Bagnaia. Both Alex Márquez and Bagnaia finished on the podium at the two Virtual Races. Other top-five regulars that will be racing again are Maverick Viñales, Marc Márquez, and Fabio Quartararo.

Returning after missing the second round are Alex Rins, Miguel Oliveira, Danilo Petrucci, Tito Rabat, and Iker Lecuona. Rins and Oliveira will be looking to build on their previous top-ten finishes, while Rabat and Lecuona will be looking to avoid their zero-point DNFs in the first round, and Petrucci his round-two DNF.

Lorenzo Savadori will be making his debut. In addition to being a test rider for Aprilia Racing Team Gresini, Savadori raced in the MotoE World Cup last year, and is slated to compete in the Italian CIV Superbike Championship Series.

LCR Honda is absent from the Virtual Grand Prix of Spain. Takaaki Nakagami is in Japan, and doesn’t yet have access to the new MotoGP20 game, while Cal Crutchlow doesn’t have a PlayStation. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing is letting its satellite team, Red Bull KTM Tech 3, supply the racers.

2020 MotoGP Virtual Grand Prix of Spain

The MotoGP race will be 13 laps, while the Moto2 and Moto3 races will be eight laps. This will be the first time the GP racers will be competing on Milestone’s MotoGP20 platform.

The races can be streamed, or watched later on-demand, on the MotoGP website, as well as the usual social media outlets.

2020 Red Bull Virtual Grand Prix of Spain

The MotoGP Virtual Grand Prix of Spain is also functioning as a fundraiser for Two Wheels For Life, which uses motorcycles to access and provide health care services to under-served populations in rural sub-Saharan Africa.

MotoGP Entry List

  • Aprilia Racing Team Gresini: Lorenzo Savadori
  • Ducati Team: Danilo Petrucci
  • Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP: Maverick Viñales
  • Petronas Yamaha SRT: Fabio Quartararo
  • Pramac Racing: Pecco Bagnaia
  • Reale Avintia Racing: Tito Rabat
  • Red Bull KTM Tech 3: Miguel Oliveira, Iker Lecuona
  • Repsol Honda Team: Marc Márquez, Alex Márquez
  • Team Suzuki Ecstar: Alex Rins

Moto2 Entry List

  • American Racing: Marcos Ramírez
  • Aspar Team: Aron Canet
  • Beta Tools Speed Up: Jorge Navarro
  • Flexbox HP 40: Lorenzo Baldassarri
  • Italtrans Racing Team: Enea Bastianini
  • Liqui Moly Intact GP: Marcel Schrötter
  • NTS RW Racing GP: Bo Bendsneyder
  • Petronas Sprinta Racing: Jake Dixon
  • Red Bull KTM Ajo: Jorge Martín
  • Sky Racing Team VR46: Luca Marini

Moto3 Entry List

  • Aspar Team Gaviota: Albert Arenas
  • BOE Skull Rider Facile Energy: Ricardo Rossi
  • Estrella Galicia 0,0: Sergio García
  • Kömmerling Gresini Moto3: Gabriel Rodrigo
  • Leopard Racing: Dennis Foggia
  • Red Bull KTM Ajo: Raúl Fernández
  • Red Bull KTM Tech 3: Deniz Öncü
  • Rivacold Snipers Team: Tony Arbolino
  • SIC58 Squadra Corse: Niccolo Antonelli
  • Sterilgarda Max Racing Team: Alonso López

MotoGP Virtual Race Series Standings (after two rounds)

  1. Pecco Bagnaia, Pramac Racing Ducati, 45 points (1 win)
  2. Alex Márquez, Repsol Honda Team, 41 (1 win)
  3. Maverick Viñales, Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP, 36
  4. Marc Márquez, Repsol Honda Team, 24
  5. Fabio Quartararo, Petronas Yamaha SRT, 24
  6. Alex Rins, Team Suzuki Ecstar, 10
  7. Joan Mir, Team Suzuki Ecstar, 9
  8. Miguel Oliveira, Red Bull KTM Tech 3, 8
  9. Iker Lecuona, Red Bull KTM Tech 3, 0
  10. Aleix Espargaró: Aprilia Racing Team Gresini, 0
  11. Danilo Petrucci, Ducati Team, 0
  12. Valentino Rossi, Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP, 0
  13. Takaaki Nakagami, LCR Honda Idemitsu, 0
  14. Tito Rabat, Real Avintia Racing; 0
  15. Michele Pirro, Ducati Team; 0

Don Williams
Don Williams
With 45 years of riding experience, Don Williams is a fan of all kinds of motorcycles. He enjoys sport bikes, cruisers, dirt bikes, touring bikes, adventure bikes, dual sport bikes, and rideable customs. Ask Don what his favorite bike is and he will tell you, "Whatever bike I'm on."

Ducati Team Signs Jack Miller for MotoGP in 2021

Before a MotoGP race has been run in 2020, the Ducati Team has signed Jack Miller for its 2021 MotoGP factory squad. Miller, 25,...

Lieback’s Lounge: Rookie Mistakes & Homemade Gaskets

There was a vague smell of gas, but I thought nothing of it. That changed quickly about 50 miles into a 200-mile ride after fueling...

Emula Concept First Look: With 2electron McFly Technology

One of the prime complaints many motorcyclists have about electric motorcycles is that they don’t deliver the visceral experience that comes from an internal...

2020 Yamaha Power Assist Bicycles Review: Two Electric Choices

While not a motorcycle, as we interpret it, a pedal-assisted electric bicycle just might be a gateway product to owning a motorcycle. With that...

Editor’s Choice: Al Phillips Collection at Mecum Indy 2020 Auction

Noted motorcycle collector Al Phillips will be selling 25 motorcycles from his collection at the Mecum Indy 2020 auction at the Indiana State Fairgrounds....

2020 Kawasaki Concours 14 ABS Buyers Guide: Specs & Price

Based on the dragstrip-scorching Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14R, the 2020 Kawasaki Concours 14 ABS is a civilized coast-to-coast sport-touring motorcycle that does not lack for...