2019 Phillip Island MotoGP Results: Marquez Takes Win #11 in Australia

Marquez and Vinales crash 2019 Australian Grand Prix
Honda's Marc Marquez and Yamaha's Maverick Vinales

2019 Phillip Island MotoGP Results

When Marc Marquez clinched his eighth title in Thailand across all classes, four rounds remained.

The Repsol Honda RC213V pilot could have relaxed, but he showed no signs of slowing during the first of three back-to-back rounds last week at Motegi for the Japanese Grand Prix.

2019 Phillip Island MotoGP Results: Marquez Takes Win #11 in Australia
Honda’s Marc Marquez

He dominated Motegi and carried that rhythm into Sunday’s Australian Grand Prix at Phillip Island. There, Marquez was under constant pressure from Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Vinales.

But while battling for the lead on the final lap, Vinales crashed, allowing Marquez to claim his 11th win of 2019 MotoGP with zero pressure. This bumped LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow into second. The Brit finished 11.413 seconds behind. Taking the final podium position was Pramac Racing Ducati’s Jack Miller, who finished 14.400 seconds back.

Marquez began from third on the grid behind Petronas Yamaha’s Fabio Quartararo and poleman Vinales. A nine-rider battle began, and Marquez was upfront battling with Vinales and Crutchlow.

Honda's Cal Crutchlow to Phillip Island MotoGP 2019
Honda’s Cal Crutchlow

Marquez would not get the lead until the last lap. Once out front, Vinales crashed while under pressure.

“It has been a crazy weekend with the weather and everything,” Marc Marquez says about the cancelation of practice and qualifying sessions due to high winds. “Maverick was very fast today, but I was able to follow him and start slowly cooking the victory.

“Viñales started to push very hard and very fast at the front, but I knew that if I could stay with him for four or five laps then the victory was possible. The Repsol Honda Team have done a great job with the limited track time we have had.

“We had to gamble a little bit with the soft rear tyre and it was on the limit in the end, but we were able to win! It’s really special to take this 55th win with Honda, I feel incredible with the Honda family and I’m excited to enjoy this moment with them and the team.”

Jack Miller third in Phillip Island MotoGP 2019
Ducati’s Jack Miller

With his victory, Marquez became the most successful Honda rider of all time. He passed Mick Doohan and now has 55 victories in the premier class, and 81 overall. He is fourth on the list of most overall GP wins across all classes:

  • Giacomo Agostini, 122 wins
  • Valentino Rossi, 115
  • Angel Nieto, 90
  • Marc Marquez, 81

Marquez needs just nine more podium finishes to equal Pedrosa’s record 112 premier class podiums on Honda machinery.

Marquez and Vinales crash 2019 Australian Grand Prix
Honda’s Marc Marquez and Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales

With two races still remaining in 2019, Marquez (375 points) is just nine points away from surpassing Jorge Lorenzo’s record 383 points from a single premier class season. The MotoGP Championship heads directly to Sepang International Circuit in Malaysia for the penultimate round.

2019 Phillip Island MotoGP Results

1Marc Marquez40’43.729
2Cal Crutchlow00’11.413
3Jack Miller00’14.499
4Francesco Bagnaia00’14.554
5Joan Mir00’14.817
6Andrea Iannone00’15.280
7Andrea Dovizioso00’15.294
8Valentino Rossi00’15.841
9Alex Rins00’16.032
10Aleix Espargaro00’16.590
11Franco Morbidelli00’24.145
12Pol Espargaro00’26.654
13Johann Zarco00’26.758
14Karel Abraham00’44.912
15Hafizh Syahrin00’44.968
16Jorge Lorenzo01’06.045


2019 MotoGP Point Standings (after 17 of 19 rounds)

1Marc Marquez375
2Andrea Dovizioso240
3Alex Rins183
4Maverick Viñales176
5Danilo Petrucci169
6Fabio Quartararo163
7Valentino Rossi153
8Jack Miller141
9Cal Crutchlow133
10Franco Morbidelli105
11Pol Espargaro89
12Joan Mir77
13Takaaki Nakagami74
14Aleix Espargaro52
15Francesco Bagnaia50
16Andrea Iannone43
17Miguel Oliveira33
18Johann Zarco30
19Jorge Lorenzo23
20Tito Rabat18
21Stefan Bradl16
22Michele Pirro9
23Hafizh Syahrin8
24Karel Abraham7
25Sylvain Guintoli7
26Bradley Smith0