2019 Aragon MotoGP Results: Recap, News and Points

2019 Aragon MotoGP Results: Recap, News and Points Ducati Dovizioso
Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso

2019 Aragon MotoGP Results

The 2019 MotoGP Championship headed to Spain for the third of four times this weekend, round 14 taking place at the Motorland Aragon circuit.

Heading into the weekend, Marc Marquez was the clear favorite. He had won their four times before in the premier class, including the last three years. Come Friday, the Repsol Honda RC213V pilot dominated free practice.

Honda Marc Marquez Aragon MotoGP 2019
Honda’s Marc Marquez

He followed that up with claiming his ninth pole of the season, though he was off the best lap time he achieved in 2015.

The 26-year-old Spaniard continued his strong performance with a flawless performance during Sunday’s 23-lap Aragon Grand Prix where he started his 200th career GP. And we mean flawless – he ran consistent 1:49s for most of the race, and finished by 4.863 seconds ahead of Mission Winnow Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso.

Claiming third was yet another Ducati rider – Pramac Racing’s Jack Miller, who finished 5.430 seconds back. Both Ducati riders beat the man who remained in second for most of the race, Monster Energy Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales.

The Spaniard rode consistently and smooth, but could not get an edge on Marquez. He was then passed by Dovizioso with three laps remaining, and beat to the checkered flag by the by Miller.

2019 Aragon MotoGP Results: Recap, News and Points Ducati Dovizioso
Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso

Petronas Yamaha SRT’s Fabio Quartararo finished in a lonely fifth, and was nearly 9 seconds behind. He was followed by LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow, Aprilia Racing Gresini’s Aleix Espargaro, Monster Energy Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi, Team Suzuki’s Alex Rins and LCR Honda’s Takaaki Nakagami

After claining his eighth win of 2019, Marquez has 300 points and leads Dovizioso by 98 points. The next closest rider in points is Rins with 156.

The series now breaks for two weeks ahead of the Thailand Grand Prix at Chang International Circuit. Marquez beat Dovi at last year’s GP in Thailand, and will surely be the favorite there again.

Following are the official results. A more indepth report will follow.

2019 Aragon MotoGP Results

12593Marc MARQUEZSPARepsol Honda TeamHonda166.941’57.221
2204Andrea DOVIZIOSOITADucati TeamDucati166.6+4.836
31643Jack MILLERAUSPramac RacingDucati166.6+5.430
41312Maverick VIÑALESSPAMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha166.6+5.811
51120Fabio QUARTARAROFRAPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha166.4+8.924
61035Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRLCR Honda CASTROLHonda166.3+10.390
7941Aleix ESPARGAROSPAAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia166.3+10.441
8846Valentino ROSSIITAMonster Energy Yamaha MotoGPYamaha165.4+23.623
9742Alex RINSSPATeam SUZUKI ECSTARSuzuki165.1+27.998
10630Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNLCR Honda IDEMITSUHonda164.9+31.242
11529Andrea IANNONEITAAprilia Racing Team GresiniAprilia164.8+32.624
1249Danilo PETRUCCIITADucati TeamDucati164.8+33.043
13388Miguel OLIVEIRAPORRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM164.8+33.063
14236Joan MIRSPATeam SUZUKI ECSTARSuzuki164.8+33.363
15153Tito RABATSPAReale Avintia RacingDucati164.6+36.358
1663Francesco BAGNAIAITAPramac RacingDucati164.3+41.295
1782Mika KALLIOFINRed Bull KTM Factory RacingKTM164.1+42.983
1817Karel ABRAHAMCZEReale Avintia RacingDucati164.1+43.880
1938Bradley SMITHGBRAprilia Racing TeamAprilia164.1+44.279
2099Jorge LORENZOSPARepsol Honda TeamHonda163.9+46.087
2155Hafizh SYAHRINMALRed Bull KTM Tech 3KTM163.9+47.308
Not Finished 1st Lap
21Franco MORBIDELLIITAPetronas Yamaha SRTYamaha0 Lap


2019 MotoGP Point Standings (after 14 of 19 rounds)

1Marc MARQUEZHondaSPA300
2Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiITA202
3Alex RINSSuzukiSPA156
4Danilo PETRUCCIDucatiITA155
5Maverick VIÑALESYamahaSPA147
6Valentino ROSSIYamahaITA137
8Jack MILLERDucatiAUS117
10Franco MORBIDELLIYamahaITA80
12Takaaki NAKAGAMIHondaJPN68
13Joan MIRSuzukiSPA49
14Aleix ESPARGAROApriliaSPA46
15Andrea IANNONEApriliaITA32
16Francesco BAGNAIADucatiITA29
19Jorge LORENZOHondaSPA23
20Tito RABATDucatiSPA18
21Stefan BRADLHondaGER16
22Michele PIRRODucatiITA9
23Sylvain GUINTOLISuzukiFRA7
25Karel ABRAHAMDucatiCZE5
26Bradley SMITHApriliaGBR