2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike Results: Rea Strengthens Lead

2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike Results: Rea Strengthens Lead
Kawasaki's Jonathan Rea

2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike Results

A week ago during the Donington World Superbike, Kawasaki Racing Team’s Jonathan Rea doubled and took the points lead after eight of 13 rounds.

The ZX-10RR Ninja pilot’s biggest competitor, Aruba.it Racing Ducati’s Alvaro Bautista, crashed out of race one and finished third in race two.

2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike Results: Rea Strengthens Lead
Kawasaki’s Jonathan Rea

Rea was hungry for additional points as the 2019 World Superbike Championship headed to the WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca this past weekend. And though he didn’t complete a double win as he did in Donington and Misano, he did achieve the race-one victory and second in race two.

And Bautista was nowhere to be found. The Spaniard crashed out of both races aboard his Ducati Panigale V4 R, leaving with zero points garnered at the American round.

Ahead of the two-month summer break, Rea now has 433 points as he chases his fifth-straight title – 81 ahead of Bautista with four rounds remaining. The next closest rider is Pata Yamaha’s Alex Lowes, who is 213 points behind Rea.

During GEICO US round of 2019 WorldSBK, Rea first claimed the pole, followed by the race-one win ahead of Aruba.it Racing Ducati’s Chaz Davies and Turkish Puccetti Kawasaki’s Toprak Razgatlioglu.

Ducati's Chaz Davies wins at America WorldSBK 2019
Ducati’s Chaz Davies

Rea followed this performance by winning the Superpole Race, setting a new race lap record of 1:22.700 at the track known for its Corkscrew. Sunday Rea was fierce but lost the 25-lap race to Davies by 3.333 seconds. Davies became just the fourth victor so far this season alongside Bautista (nine wins), Rea (six wins), and Pata Yamaha’s Michael van der Mark (one win). Finishing third once again on Sunday was Razgatlioglu.

Rea now has a total of 156 podiums, including 80 race wins, and 20 pole positions. The 2019 WorldSBK series continues September 6-8 in Portimao, Portugal. The break doesn’t mean complete downtime for Rea, who will compete at the Suzuka 8 Hours alongside Leon Haslam and Razgatlioglu. There will also be an official WorldSBK test in late August at Portimao.

“I would never have believed you if you told me I would come here and set a new lap record, win two races and take the overall, so it has been a great weekend,” Jonathan Rea said following 2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike.

“We made a very small change to the bike between the Superpole race and Race Two. My feeling was completely different, which we did not expect. There was a lot of front movement, whereas all weekend before that we had been strong with the front. I had a few small warnings, just enough for me to roll it back a bit, think about finishing and we got it done. I am just super-satisfied with this weekend and I did the best I could in race two. I am looking forward to the summer break now.”

Kawasaki ZX-10RR Ninja rider Jon Rea on Corkscrew at Laguna
Kawasaki’s Rea on Corkscrew

2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike Results, Race 1

1Jonathan Rea35’06.671
2Chaz Davies00’05.693
3Toprak Razgatlioglu00’12.721
4Tom Sykes00’14.957
5Alex Lowes00’20.621
6Jordi Torres00’23.087
7Michael van der Mark00’26.491
8Loris Baz00’30.605
9Marco Melandri00’32.566
10Michael Ruben Rinaldi00’44.432
11Eugene Laverty00’46.792
12Leandro Mercado00’47.091
13Alessandro Delbianco00’51.830
14Sandro Cortese00’53.681
15Markus Reiterberger01’00.235


2019 Laguna Seca World Superbike Results, Race 2

1Chaz Davies35’05.513
2Jonathan Rea00’03.333
3Toprak Razgatlioglu00’11.658
4Alex Lowes00’16.259
5Tom Sykes00’18.323
6Leon Haslam00’18.449
7Loris Baz00’23.637
8Jordi Torres00’24.572
9Marco Melandri00’25.919
10Michael Ruben Rinaldi00’30.742
11Leandro Mercado00’32.177
12Eugene Laverty00’38.508
13Markus Reiterberger00’41.862
14Sandro Cortese00’41.989
15Ryuichi Kiyonari00’55.483


2019 World Superbike Point Standings (after nine of 13 rounds)

1Jonathan Rea404
2Alvaro Bautista334
3Michael van der Mark205
4Alex Lowes203
5Leon Haslam183
6Toprak Razgatlioglu167
7Chaz Davies166
8Tom Sykes163
9Marco Melandri132
10Sandro Cortese97
11Jordi Torres93
12Michael Ruben Rinaldi86
13Loris Baz68
14Markus Reiterberger60
15Leandro Mercado44
16Eugene Laverty41
17Leon Camier26
18Ryuichi Kiyonari15
19Lorenzo Z Zanetti14
20Alessandro Delbianco13
21Thomas Bridewell12
22Michele Pirro8
23Yuki Takahashi8
24Samuele Cavalieri6