Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2017 Assen MotoGP Preview | 10 Fast Facts

2017 Assen MotoGP Preview | 10 Fast Facts

2017 Assen MotoGP Preview

The 2017 MotoGP Championship heads this weekend to the land of the Dutch at the legendary TT Circuit Assen. Following are the pre-race fast facts ahead of this weekend’s 26-lap Dutch TT at “the cathedral.”

1. Assen marks round eight of 18 during a tight battle for points. The top six, led by Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Vinales, are separated by only 36 points:

  1. Vinales: 111 points
  2. Andrea Dovizioso: 104
  3. Marc Marquez: 88
  4. Dani Pedrosa: 84
  5. Valentino Rossi: 83
  6. Johann Zarco: 75

2017 Assen MotoGP Preview: Yamaha's Maverick Vinales
Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales

2. Heading into Assen, four riders have won: Vinales (Qatar, Argentina, France); the reigning MotoGP Champion Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez (Texas); Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa (Jerez); Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso (Mugello, Catalunya).

3. “DesmoDovi” enters Assen after a two-race win streak, the first of his MotoGP career. But Ducati doesn’t have a strong history at Assen. Ducati only has one win at the Dutch TT (2008, Casey Stoner), and two other podiums (Dovizioso, Scott Redding).

4. Last year, Dovizioso claimed the pole at Assen, but crashed out on a restarted race that was red flagged due to heavy downpours.

2017 Assen MotoGP Preview: Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso
Ducati’s Andrea Dovizioso

5. The Australian Jack Miller (EG 0,0 March VDS Honda) capitalized on last year’s wet conditions, claiming his first MotoGP win during his sophomore year. It was also the first win for an Independent Team rider since Toni Elias in Portugal back in 2006. After the 2016 Assen MotoGP win, Miller famously said: “this makes it clear that we do know how to ride a motorbike and I’m not an idiot.”

6. Joining Miller on the Assen podium last season were Marquez and Scott Redding (Octo Pramac Ducati), respectively.

2017 Assen MotoGP Preview: Yamaha's Valentino Rossi
Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi

7. Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Valentino Rossi has the most wins at the Dutch TT. The Nine-time Champion has nine victories at Assen: seven in MotoGP, and one each in the former 250cc and 125cc classes.

8. Ducati Team’s Jorge Lorenzo has mixed results so far on the Ducati, claiming a best of third in Jerez. The five-time World Champion’s results are also mixed at Assen, where he claimed only one MotoGP win in 2010, but where he also famously rode to fifth with a broken collarbone back in 2013.

2017 Assen MotoGP Preview: Honda's Marc Marquez
Honda’s Marc Marquez

9. Three-time MotoGP Champion Marc Marquez only has three podiums so far this season: a win at Circuit of the Americas, and two second-place finishes at Jerez and Catalunya. In MotoGP, he has never finished off the podium at Assen, claiming runner-ups in all except for the 2014 victory.

10. Assen is the only circuit to host a MotoGP every year since the series begin in 1949. It was held on Saturdays every year until the 2016 Dutch TT.

2017 MotoGP Point Standings (after seven of 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Points
1 Maverick Viñales 111
2 Andrea Dovizioso 104
3 Marc Marquez 88
4 Daniel Pedrosa 84
5 Valentino Rossi 83
6 Johann Zarco 75
7 Jorge Lorenzo 59
8 Jonas Folger 51
9 Cal Crutchlow 45
10 Danilo Petrucci 42
11 Alvaro Bautista 34
12 Scott Redding 33
13 Jack Miller 30
14 Loris Baz 23
15 Aleix Espargaro 21
16 Andrea Iannone 21
17 Hector Barbera 21
18 Tito Rabat 19
19 Karel Abraham 11
20 Alex Rins 7
21 Michele Pirro 7
22 Bradley Smith 6
23 Pol Espargaro 2
24 Sam Lowes 2
25 Sylvain Guintoli 1

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Motorcycle Workbench Workout: Facing the Trash, Finding Some Treasure

Top 14 Trash and Treasure Items Found on Workbench Admit it - we have a workbench problem. If you have a workbench it is likely...

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: National Track Tested (12 Fast Facts)

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: First Ride at Fox Raceway The 2020 Honda CRF250R is virtually all-new this year, with a host of change. There are significant...

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck First Look: Motorcycle Hauler

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck Concept Vehicle: Fully Functional If you’re tired of suffering the indignity of hauling your BMW motorcycle around in the bed of...

Elvis Presley’s Last Motorcycle To Be Auctioned At Hard Rock Cafe Hollywood

Elvis Presley’s Harley-Davidson Electra Glide On The Auction Block Elvis Presley's last motorcycle—a 1976 Harley-Davidson FLH 1200 Electra Glide—will be up for auction at 10...

Dunlop Geomax Enduro EN91 Tire First Look (6 Fast Facts)

Dunlop Geomax Enduro EN91: DOT Off-Road Competition Tire Street-legal and off-road competition-ready, the Dunlop Geomax Enduro EN91 is available for riders looking to enter anything from...

2019 Isle of Man Classic TT: Rider Entry List Headed by McGuinness

John McGuinness will once again head up the Bennetts Senior Classic TT rider list for the 2019 Classic TT, which is set for August 17-26 at the Isle of Man.