Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results | Dunlop Claims 15th...

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results | Dunlop Claims 15th TT!

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results

The final race of the 2017 Isle of Man TT – the PokerStars Senior TT – began with some drama when Tyco BMW’s Ian Hutchinson crashed his S 1000 RR at Milestone 27.

Hutchy, who won the RST Superbike and RL360 Quantum Superstock TTs, was air lifted to the hospital, where he was diagnosed with a broken femur.

The red flag caused the 2017 Senior TT to be shortened from six to four laps, and was dominated by one man: Bennetts Suzuki GSX-R1000 rider Michael Dunlop.

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Suzuki's Michael Dunlop
2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Suzuki’s Michael Dunlop

The 28-year-old Northern Irishman, the nephew of the late Joey Dunlop who holds the record of 26 TT victories, led all four laps. Dunlop claimed his 15th TT win at the 37.73-mile Mountain Course 13.3 seconds ahead of Smiths Racing BMW’s Peter Hickman and Silicone Engineering Kawasaki’s Dean Harrison. Hickman seriously impressed, claiming podiums at every race he competed in.

This was also Dunlop’s third Senior TT win, the other two achieved in 2014 and 2016 on BMW S 1000 RR machinery.

As for Guy Martin, who suffered a huge crash during the RST Superbike race due to a false neutral aboard his Honda CBR1000RR SP2, he didn’t compete. The Honda Racing Team decided to not race due to “lack of track time for Guy and the SP2.”

“I came back to the TT this year to race and try to win with Honda Racing,” Guy Martin says. “I’ve done loads of testing and the team have been flat out, before we got here and at the event. But we’re not doing the times needed to be competitive here, we need more time to set up the bike and doing six laps will not achieve what we set out to do and I’ve always reckoned this is not the place to be out riding just to make up the numbers, so as a team we agreed it wasn’t right competing in the Senior TT. With the weather and my crash I’ve done plenty of tea drinking and dog walking.”

Following is the official IOM TT report.

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: BMW's Peter Hickman
2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: BMW’s Peter Hickman

The race had been shaping up to be an epic with just 0.18s between Hickman and Hutchinson and Harrison only 1.2s further back in third but, eventually getting underway at 5.15pm, Dunlop led the restarted race through Glen Helen on the opening lap, with a 1.5s advantage over Bruce Anstey. Harrison was a further 0.9s back in third with Hickman, Michael Rutter and James Hillier completing the top six, the last two getting a second bite of the cherry having experienced problems in the first start.

Dunlop increased his lead through Ramsey slightly to 2s but Hickman was up to second ahead of Anstey who in turn held a 0.2s advantage over Harrison with Rutter still in fifth but with Conor Cummins now up to sixth at the expense of Hillier.

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Kawasaki's Dean Harrison
2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Kawasaki’s Dean Harrison

Dunlop added a further second to his lead by the time he reached the Bungalow and an opening lap speed of 132.292mph gave him a 4.2s lead over Hickman who in turn was 3.2s clear of Anstey. Harrison, Rutter and Cummins were holding station in fourth to sixth but Josh Brookes was on the move, going from 12th at Ramsey to eighth at the Grandstand.

At Glen Helen on lap 2 Dunlop had increased his lead by two more seconds and Harrison was now up to third with Anstey dropping back to fourth despite leading on the road and having a clear track. Rutter was still fifth but Hillier had moved back ahead of Cummins for sixth.

By Ramsey, Dunlop was still leading by 6s as him and Hickman practically matched each other every mile. Harrison was losing a bit of time in third but he was pulling away from Anstey who was extending his advantage over Rutter. Hillier was still sixth but just 2.4s covered him, Cummins and Brookes.

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Kawasaki's James Hillier
2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Kawasaki’s James Hillier

Coming into the pits at the end of the lap and Dunlop’s lead was now 9.2s after lapping at 132.903mph with Hickman in second and Harrison third, the latter having lapped at 131.838mph. Anstey was out though at Bedstead with the top six now completed by Rutter, Hillier and Cummins. Brookes was up to seventh having done his first 130mph+ lap around the Mountain Course at 130.551mph.

The lead was down slightly at Glen Helen on lap three to 7.7s as Hillier took over fourth from Rutter with Brookes moving up to sixth and by Ballaugh, Hickman had reduced the deficit to Dunlop further to 7.3s. However, through Ramsey for the third time and the Northern Irishman had got the gap back up to 8.5s.

Indeed, going into the fourth and final lap, the 28-year old was 10.6s clear of Hickman and he duly came home for his 15th TT win, his eventual winning margin being 13.3s.

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: BMW's Michael Rutter
2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: BMW’s Michael Rutter

Hickman made it five podiums from five starts with Harrison repeating his third place finish from Sunday’s RST Superbike race, aided by his first ever 132mph lap on lap four. Hillier and Rutter ended their strong weeks in fourth and fifth, the gap between the duo just 0.64s at the chequered flag.

The battle for sixth also went all the way to the end with Brookes, who lapped at 130.883mph fourth time around edging out Norton team-mate David Johnson. Cummins, Martin Jessopp, who recorded his first 130mph lap, and William Dunlop completed the top ten.

2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Norton's Joshua Brookes
2017 Isle of Man TT Senior Race Results: Norton’s Joshua Brookes

The results meant that Hickman won the Joey Dunlop Championship with 76 points based on cumulative results from the RST Superbike, Monster Energy Supersport, RL360 Quantum Superstock and PokerStars Senior TT Races with Hutchinson second (61) and Dunlop third (60).

Jamie Coward was the first privateer home in an excellent 11th place with Daley Mathison next home in 13th but Horst Saiger’s 18th saw him clinch the TT Privateer’s Championship. He finished with 71 points with Coward in second on 63.

Photos by Wayne Freestone

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2019 MV Agusta UNICEF F3 800: One-of-a-Kind For Charity

2019 MV Agusta UNICEF F3 800: Charity Build If you blinked, you missed it. MV Agusta built this one-off F3 800 for UNICEF Italia and...

2019 Budds Creek Motocross National Results and Coverage (9 Fast Facts)

2019 Budds Creek Motocross National Results: Tomac’s Perfect Day With one round remaining in the 2019 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross National Championship Series, Eli Tomac...

2019 Vertigo Dougie Lampkin Replica First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2019 Vertigo Dougie Lampkin Replica Trials Motorcycle It is getting to be a regular thing with Vertigo—a boutique Spanish observed trials manufacturer—late in the year...

Motorcycle Workbench Workout: Facing the Trash, Finding Some Treasure

Top 14 Trash and Treasure Items Found on Workbench Admit it - we have a workbench problem. If you have a workbench it is likely...

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: National Track Tested (12 Fast Facts)

2020 Honda CRF250R Review: First Ride at Fox Raceway The 2020 Honda CRF250R is virtually all-new this year, with a host of change. There are significant...

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck First Look: Motorcycle Hauler

BMW X7 Pick-up Truck Concept Vehicle: Fully Functional If you’re tired of suffering the indignity of hauling your BMW motorcycle around in the bed of...