2017 Argentina MotoGP Qualifying | Marquez on Pole at Termas de Rio Hondo

2017 Argentina MotoGP Qualifying | Marquez on Termas de Rio Hondo Pole
2017 Argentina MotoGP Qualifying: Honda's Marc Marquez

Marc Marquez has Record World Championship 66 Poles

This is the fourth year that Termas de Rio Hondo in Argentina has hosted MotoGP, and one rider has dominated qualifying: Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez.

The 24-year-old Spaniard, who has two victories in Argentina, claimed the pole Saturday under wet conditions. Marquez posted 1:47.512, which is nearly 10 seconds slower than his best lap set there in 2014 (1:37.683).

Joining the three-time MotoGP Champion on the front row are Pull&Bear Aspar Team Ducati’s Karel Abraham, who finished 0.763 of a second behind, and LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow, who finished 0.766 behind.

2017 Argentina MotoGP Qualifying | Marquez on Termas de Rio Hondo Pole
2017 Argentina MotoGP Qualifying: Honda’s Marc Marquez

Octo Pramac Racing Ducati’s Danilo Petrucci heads up row two, finishing 1.396 seconds behind Marquez. The Italian will be joined by Repsol Honda Team’s Dani Pedrosa and the season-opener winner in Qatar, Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Maverick Vinales, who led Friday free practice.

Vinales teammate, nine-time World Champion Valentino Rossi qualified seventh, and will be joined on the third row by Aprilia Racing Team Gresini’s Aleix Espargaro and Reale Avintia Racing Ducati’s Loris Baz.

Jonas Folger (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) was top rookie in qualifying and the only rookie in Q2, lining up just ahead of Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Andrea Iannone after the Italian had a moment on his final charge.

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team), Johann Zarco (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Scott Redding (Octo Pramac Racing) complete the top 15 – just ahead of a difficult day for Jorge Lorenzo (Ducati Team).

2017 Argentina MotoGP Qualifying Results:

1Marc MarquezSPARepsol Honda Team1’47.512
2Karel AbrahamCZEPull&Bear Aspar Team1’48.275
3Cal CrutchlowGBRLCR Honda1’48.278
4Danilo PetrucciITAOcto Pramac Racing1’48.908
5Dani PedrosaSPARepsol Honda Team1’49.008
6Maverick ViñalesSPAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1’49.218
7Valentino RossiITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGP1’49.272
8Aleix EspargaròSPAAprilia Racing Team Gresini1’49.323
9Loris BazFRAReale Avintia Racing1’49.630
10Alvaro BautistaSPAPull&Bear Aspar Team1’49.724
11Jonas FolgerGERMonster Yamaha Tech31’49.825
12Andrea IannoneITATeam Suzuki Ecstar1’50.725
13Andrea DoviziosoITADucati Team1’49.488
14Johann ZarcoFRAMonster Yamaha Tech31’49.916
15Scott ReddingGBROcto Pramac Racing1’50.048
16Jorge LorenzoSPADucati Team1’50.310
17Jack MillerAUSTeam EG 0,0 Marc VDS1’50.319
18Pol EspargaròSPARed Bull KTM Factory Racing1’50.673
19Bradley SmithGBRRed Bull KTM Factory Racing1’50.676
20Tito RabatSPATeam EG 0,0 Marc VDS1’50.910
21Hector BarberaSPAReale Avintia Racing1’51.058
22Sam LowesGBRAprilia Racing Team Gresini1’51.199
23Alex RinsSPATeam Suzuki Ecstar1’52.340