News 2017 Aragon Superbike Superpole Results | Ducati’s Davies on Pole

2017 Aragon Superbike Superpole Results | Ducati’s Davies on Pole

2017 Aragon Superbike Superpole Results

The man who won three of the past four races at Aragon World Superbike, Racing Ducati’s Chaz Davies, has secured the pole for this weekend’s double header.

The Welshman, running a new Pirelli qualifying tire at Motorland Aragon, posted a best lap of 1:49.319 during Superpole for round 3 of 13. Joining Davies on the front row are Kawasaki Racing teammates Jonathan Rea, the two-time reigning WorldSBK Champion, and 2013 SBK Champion Tom Sykes.

Rea, who had doubled in both opening rounds in Australia and Thailand from pole, finished 0.031 of a second behind Davies. As for Sykes, he was 0.173 of a second off the pace.

2017 Aragon Superbike Superpole Results | Ducati’s Davies on Pole
Ducati’s Chaz Davies

Heading up row two is Racing Ducati’s Marco Melandri, who will be joined by Spaniards Xavi Fores (BARNI Racing Team) and Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team).

Michael van der Mark (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team), Leandro Mercado (IODARacing) and Eugene Laverty (Milwaukee Aprilia) qualified on row three.

The sole American in 2017 World Superbike, Nicky Hayden (Red Bull Honda World Superbike Team) came through as the leader of Tissot Superpole 1 to qualify 10th.

Five minutes into the Tissot Superpole 2 shootout Alex Lowes (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) pulled off track due to a technical problem with his Yamaha YZF R1, effectively ending his session as he qualified 12th. Later it was Stefan Bradl (Red Bull Honda World Superbike Team) who was another victim of technical issues as his Honda CBR1000RR came to a sudden halt, leaving him 11th on the grid.

Crashes in close succession for Randy Krummenacher (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing), Ondrej Jezek (Grillini Racing Team) and Markus Reiterberger (Althea BMW Racing Team) towards the end of Tissot Superpole 1 saw them all slide out of contention and unable to challenge for Superpole 2 positions.

Race 1 at Motorland Aragon gets underway at 1 p.m. local time.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2020 Suzuki V-Strom 1050XT Test: Simply Taking On Spain

With refined power, better electronics, and better handling, the 2020 Suzuki V-Strom 1050XT appeals more than ever to passionate Strom fans. Here's my test.

Lieback’s Lounge: Do Motorcyclists Need ‘Vanity’ Electronics?

As a motorcyclist who desires full control over every possible adjustment on my bike, from one or two psi difference in a tire to...

Metzeler Sportec M9 RR Motorcycle Tires First Look (6 Fast Facts)

Upgraded from the highly regarded M7, the Metzeler Sportec M9 RR tires promise to provide high-level performance for sportbikes in both wet and dry...

2020 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard First Look (6 Fast Facts)

Aiming at both budget-minded big-inch cruiser fans, as well as serious customizers, the new 2020 Harley-Davidson Softail Standard is all about presenting buyers with...

2020 Arlington Supercross Results and Coverage: Tomac Victorious

Despite finishing in P5 after a poor start in Main Event 1 of the Triple Crown format, Eli Tomac stormed back to win back-to-back...

Fantasy Supercross Tips: 2020 Arlington – Tomac, Roczen, Webb

It’s time to get in your picks for fantasy supercross—a fun and simple way to make the races just that much more exciting....