News 2017 Australian World Supersport Results | Rolfo by 0.001

2017 Australian World Supersport Results | Rolfo by 0.001

2017 Australian World Supersport Results from Phillip Island

2017 Australian World Supersport Results: MV Agusta's Roberto Rolfo
2017 Australian World Supersport Results: MV Agusta’s Roberto Rolfo

Following a shortened, 10-lap race at Phillip Island due to a huge crash involving Robin Mulhauser (CIA Landlord Insurance Honda) at turn 6, Team Factory Vamag MV Agusta’s Roberto Rolfo claimed the first World Supersport win of 2017.

The Italian fought to the very end to claim the victory by a mere 0.001 of a second ahead of GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP pilot Lucas Mahias (France). Earning third, 1.544 seconds back, was West Racing Yamaha’s Anthony West (Australia, wild card rider).

[Visit our World Superbike page]

During the final lap, CIA Landlord Insurance Honda’s Jules Cluzel and GRT Yamaha Official WorldSSP Team’s Federico Caricasulo crashed while in contention for victory. Though Cluzel was diagnosed with a fractured sacrum bone (triangular bone at base of the spine), his team reports he will race at the Thailand round March 10-12.

Another front runner at the time, Race Department ATK#25 MV Agusta’s Alex Baldolini was also caught up in the crash, and forced to finish 13th.

2017 Australian World Supersport Results: Yamaha's Anthony West
2017 Australian World Supersport Results: Yamaha’s Anthony West

Finishing behind West were Kawasaki Puccetti Racing Kawasaki’s Kyle Ryde and Kallio Racing Yamaha’s Niki Tuuli.

Pole sitter PJ Jacobsen, the sole American in 2017 World Supersport, finished sixth aboard his MV Agusta Reparto Corse F3, though he suffered a technical issue before the restarted 10-lap race. Completing the top 10 were Aiden Wagner (GEMAR Team Lorini Honda), Kazuki Watanabe (Team Kawasaki Go Eleven), Nacho Calero (Orelac Racing VerdNatura Kawasaki) and Lachlan Epis (Response RE Racing Kawasaki).

2017 Australian World Supersport Results: MV Agusta's PJ Jacobsen
2017 Australian World Supersport Results: MV Agusta’s PJ Jacobsen

Defending champion Kenan Sofuoglu (Kawasaki Puccetti Racing) was absent due to a pre-season hand injury which means he will miss the opening two rounds of the 2017 championship, the Turkish rider looking to come back in style early in April at MotorLand Aragon in Round 3.

With round one of 13 in the books, Rolfo leads the World Supersport Championship with 25 points, five ahead of Mahias and nine ahead of West. The 2017 World Supersport championship now breaks for two weeks before the Motul Thai round March 10-12.

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

Emula Concept First Look: With 2electron McFly Technology

One of the prime complaints many motorcyclists have about electric motorcycles is that they don’t deliver the visceral experience that comes from an internal...

2020 Yamaha Power Assist Bicycles Review: Two Electric Choices

While not a motorcycle, as we interpret it, a pedal-assisted electric bicycle just might be a gateway product to owning a motorcycle. With that...

Editor’s Choice: Al Phillips Collection at Mecum Indy 2020 Auction

Noted motorcycle collector Al Phillips will be selling 25 motorcycles from his collection at the Mecum Indy 2020 auction at the Indiana State Fairgrounds....

2020 Kawasaki Concours 14 ABS Buyers Guide: Specs & Price

Based on the dragstrip-scorching Kawasaki Ninja ZX-14R, the 2020 Kawasaki Concours 14 ABS is a civilized coast-to-coast sport-touring motorcycle that does not lack for...

2021 AIMExpo Dates Set: Now A Trade-Only Show

The Motorcycle Industry Council is making two big changes to its American International Motorcycle Expo (AIMExpo). First, the date for the show, which the...

Suffragists Centennial Motorcycle Ride Starts July 31, 2021

Women’s Motorcycle Tours’ Suffragists Centennial Motorcycle Ride is set to start in Portland on July 31, 2021, and run through August 20 in Washington, DC....