Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2016 Isle of Man SES TT Zero Results | Mugen’s Anstey Earns...

2016 Isle of Man SES TT Zero Results | Mugen’s Anstey Earns Debut Electric Win

2016 Isle of Man SES TT Zero Results

2016 Isle of Man SES TT Zero Results | Mugen’s Ansety Earns Debut Electric Win
Mugen’s Bruce Anstey

In 2010, the TT Zero replaced the traditional all-electric TTXGP at the Isle of Man TT. That year, America’s Mark Miller made history as the first TT Zero winner, the MotoCzysz averaging an average speed of 96.820mph.

Fast forward to the 2015 Isle of Man TT, and John McGuinness earned his second-consecutive TT Zero aboard the Shinden San Mugen. His speed? A record 119.279mph, showing how quickly electric motorcycles progressed over a five-year span.

2016 Isle of Man SES TT Zero Results | Victory's William Dunlop
Victory’s William Dunlop

McGuinness, a 23-time TT winner, was a favorite heading into the 2016 SES TT Zero, and expected to break a 120mph average lap time. But it wouldn’t happen; McGuinness experienced technical issues during the one-lap race around the 37.73-mile Mountain Course, and finished just off the podium in fourth.

Want more TT news? Visit the Ultimate MotorCycling Isle of Man TT page.

His teammate, the New Zealander Bruce Anstey, had much better luck. Though the average lap speed was lower than 2015, Anstey earned his debut TT Zero victory with a lap of 118.416mph. This was also Anstey’s 11th career TT victory, tying him for sixth on the all-time TT win list with Steve Hislop and Phillip McCallen.

Anstey took the lead from McGuinness at Ballaugh around the time McGuinness began having technical issues. He would finish 25.461 seconds ahead of William Dunlop aboard the Victory RR electric racer; this was Victory’s second-straight year of entering the TT Zero.

Earning third was Daley Mathison on the University of Nottingham’s UoN Electric 1 entry. The “Morecambe Missile” McGuinness earned fourth, despite his temporary technical issues near Sulby, just ahead of South Africa’s Allann Venter on the Brunel.

2016 Isle of Man TT Zero podium
TT Zero podium

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

2021 Ducati Monster Lineup First Look: 4 Models; 2 All-New

There’s a big shakeup in the Ducati Monster lineup for 2021. Say goodbye to the 797, 821, and 821 Stealth. Those three models are...

2020 Ducati Monster 821 Stealth Review (15 Fast Facts)

Upgraded in 2018, the Ducati Monster 821 was joined by a Stealth version in 2019. Not merely a matte black extravaganza with exclusive graphics,...

2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally First Look (12 Fast Facts)

There is going to be a 2021 Honda CRF300L and CRF300L Rally, in Europe, at least. We’re getting our first look at these two...

2021 KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

Every autumn, like Charlie Brown in the pumpkin patch, we await the arrival of the KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition. Well, we're getting our...

Lieback’s Lounge: Winter Romance in the Basement

I love the holidays, but there’s one element that destroys "the most wonderful time of the year," and that's "The Vanishing of the Motorcycles."

The Comprehensive Vintage Motorcycle Price Guide: 2020-2021 Edition [Review]

The Comprehensive Vintage Motorcycle Price Guide: 2020-2021 Edition is a worthy resource for classic and vintage motorcycle lovers.