2016 Isle of Man TT Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Claims 2

2016 Isle of Man TT Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Claims 2
Kawasaki's Ivan Lintin

2016 Isle of Man TT Lightweight TT Results

2016 Isle of Man TT Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Claims 2
Kawasaki's Ivan Lintin

For the second-straight Isle of Man TT, Devitt RC Express Racing Kawasaki ER6 pilot Ivan Lintin claimed the Bennetts Lightweight TT victory.

Lintin earned the 2016 IOM TT Lightweight win - a third for the team - by 12.4 seconds ahead of Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki’s James Hillier. Earning the final podium was Riders Motorcycles Kawasaki’s Martin Jessopp; this was Jessopp’s maiden TT podium.

Due to sea mist on parts of the island, the race was delayed two hours. This didn’t affect Lintin, though; he opened a tiny, 0.33 of a second gap over Hillier with Michael Rutter by Glen Helen of the 37.73-mile Mountain Course.

Kawasaki's James Hillier at 2016 Lightweight TT
Kawasaki's James Hillier

The Italian Stefano Bonetti jumped to fourth aboard the CCM Motorsport Paton, followed by Dan Cooper Racing Kawasaki’s Daniel Cooper and CF Moto WK Bike’s Gary Johnson. There was no luck for Danny Webb and Mark Miller on the opening lap, both retiring.

For more TT news, visit the Ultimate MotorCycling Isle of Man TT page.

Hillier jumped ahead of Hillier for the lead on the opening lap, followed by Johnson, Bonetti and Jessopp. As for Rutter, he was also forced to retire (at Brandywell) due to bike issues.

After lap two, the riders pitted for the four-lap race. Lintin took control once again, followed by Johnson, Jessopp, Bonetti and Cooper. By Glen Helen of the third lap, Lintin was on the move, just over 8 seconds ahead of Hillier.

Lintin was pressing on ahead though and, riding to his signals, he wasn’t to be denied his second successive win in the class, also making it three in a row for the team after Dean Harrison’s triumph in 2014. Lintin’s win also made him the first man to win the Lightweight race more than once since it was re-introduced in 2012, the IOM TT reports.

Hillier claimed second ahead of Jessopp, Johnson, Bonnetti and Cooper. Rounding out the top 10 were RJP Racing Kawasaki’s Jamie Coward; VRS Racing Kawasaki’s Colin Stephenson; DP Coldplaning/TC Racing Kawasaki’s Bjorn Gunnarsson; and Cowton Racing by Radcliffes Kawasaki’s James Cowton.

The 2016 Isle of Man TT breaks for Thursday ahead of Friday's final TTs - the Senior TT and the second Sidecar race.

2016 Isle of Man TT Lightweight TT Results - Photo Gallery


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.