Conor Cummins with Padgetts Honda for Isle of Man TT 2016

Conor Cummins at 2015 Senior TT
Cummins at 2015 Senior TT

2016 Conor Cummins News

Conor Cummins with Padgetts Honda for Isle of Man TT 2016
Conor Cummins

Just ahead of the 2016 Isle of Man TT, Conor Cummins has signed with the Batley-based Padgetts Honda to contest CBR machinery in the Monster Energy Supersport and RL350 Quantum Superstock TTs. The major sponsor for Padgetts in 2016 is Valvoline.

The 29-year-old Isle of Man native began competing on Honda machinery next to 23-time TT winner John McGuinness in 2015. That season, he secured second place in the Senior TT. Cummins will continue to campaign his Honda Racing Team CBR1000RR Fireblade SP in the RST Superbike and PokerStars Senior TT races.

Read 2015 Isle of Man TT Results & Fatalities

Last season, Cummins competed aboard the Jackson Racing Team for the Supersport and Superstock classes. But Honda (Europe) team management made the decision this year to balance the rider line-up within their two partner teams with Jackson Honda Racing focused on McGuinness and Steve Mercer, and Padgetts Honda focusing on Bruce Anstey and Cummins.

“I’m absolutely thrilled to have Conor on board,” said team manager Clive Padgett. “When it looked like it might come about I didn’t have to think twice. He’s the perfect addition to the team. We’re currently building his bikes and look forward to getting to the TT.”

Conor Cummins at 2015 Senior TT
Cummins at 2015 Senior TT

Conor Cummins said “I’ve known Clive Padgett for many years. He actually sold me my first ever race bike, a second hand RS125 and I’ve always been impressed with the way that the team prepares the bikes. They have a record that’s second to none around the Isle of Man. I’m really excited about representing the team and it will be a real honor to ride in the famous team colors.”

Padgetts Honda reports that off the last 39 TT races the team has started around the Mountain Course, they have finished in the top four on no less than 33 occasions, including 27 podiums and 11 wins.

The team is probably most well known for Ian Hutchinson’s five wins in a week in 2010 – a record for most TTs won.. The team has also secured numerous lap and race records including Bruce Anstey’s RST Superbike win in 2015 in a record winning time of 128.749mph (1:45.29.902).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.