John McGuinness Earns Segrave Trophy for Skill & Courage

John McGuinness Earns Segrave Trophy for Skill & Courage

John McGuinness News

John McGuinness Earns Segrave Trophy for Skill & CourageIt’s nearly impossible to discuss the Isle of Man TT without mentioning the number-one racer currently competing – John McGuinness.

The 43-year-old “Morecambe Missile” debuted at the famed 37.73-mile Mountain Course in 1996, and has since earned 23 TT wins – the most of any rider currently competing. The only rider to have more TT wins is the late Joey Dunlop with 26.

Due to his TT success, which also includes become the first rider to break the 130 mph average speed record, and also setting a new outright lap record of 132.701 mph, and other racing success at events like the North West 200, McGuinness was awarded the Segrave Trophy by the Royal Automobile Club. This award that recognizes people who have “outstanding skill, courage and initiative on land, water and in air – the Spirit of Adventure.”

The citation on McGuinness’ Segrave Trophy says: “An outstanding contribution to motorcycle road and circuit racing, including setting the outright lap record at the 2015 Isle of Man TT. He is the greatest living exponent of the TT, with 23 victories to his name.”

Speaking at the ceremony in the UK this week, Tom Purves, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club, says: “It is our honor to salute John’s career and his remarkable success, particularly at the Isle of Man TT where he became the first rider to achieve an average speed of over 130 mph and, in 2015, set a new outright lap record of 132.701 mph.

“Lady Segrave commissioned the Trophy in 1930, soon after her husband, Sir Henry Segrave died after breaking the water speed record on Lake Windermere. It was her wish that the Trophy would celebrate and encourage those individuals who demonstrated outstanding skill and courage, whether on land, sea or in the air. As one of Britain’s greatest motorcycle racers of his generation, John’s bravery and sheer speed are the exact qualities Lady Segrave wished to celebrate.”

After he received the Segrave Trophy, McGuinness said: “I’m absolutely honored to receive this prestigious award. It’s something a little different and I’m definitely in good company when you look back at the motorcycling greats who have previously received this, with the likes of Geoff Duke, Barry Sheene and Joey Dunlop. The award has been running since 1930 and I have massive respect for everyone who has been a part of its history and I am so proud to now have my name alongside some of my heroes.”

McGuinness will return to the 2016 Isle of Man TT aboard Honda machinery in the Superbike and Supersport classes, and a Mugen for the TT Zero class.

About the Segrave Trophy (courtesty of IOMTT):

The Segrave Trophy is named after British pilot and pre-war racing driver, Sir Henry Segrave – a man who pushed himself and his machines to the very limit in the pursuit of ultimate speed. He was the first man to hold both land and water speed records, though the latter would cost him his life in 1930. With such drive and determination in mind, the Trophy is awarded for ‘outstanding skill, courage and initiative on land, water and in air – the Spirit of Adventure’.

The first recipient of the Segrave Trophy was Air Commodore Sir Charles Kingsford Smith for his transatlantic and England to Australia flights in 1930. Previous holders of the trophy have included Amy Johnson (1932), Donald Campbell CBE (1958), Sir Jackie Stewart (1973) to Allan McNish (2014). The Trophy is only awarded if the Segrave Nominations Committee judge there to be a suitable recipient that meets the criteria of the award.

The Segrave Trophy has been awarded to eight motorcycle racers including Geoff Duke, Barry Sheene MBE, Mike Hailwood, Steve Webster, Carl Fogarty, Joey Dunlop and John Surtees CBE


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.