2016 Toronto Supercross Results | Roczen Takes 3rd Win

Roczen Wins Toronto SX
Winner: Ken Roczen


Toronto Supercross Results and Coverage | Roczen Runs Away

Roczen Wins Toronto SX
Winner: Ken Roczen

Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen claimed his third victory of the Monster Energy AMA Supercross season at Rogers Centre in Toronto. Red Bull/KTM teammates Marvin Musquin was 2nd, with reining champion and points leader Ryan Dungey in 3rd. Racers described the track as highly challenging.

In the Main event, Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Chad Reed crashed hard on the start straight after clipping the back wheel of Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard, taking Reed out for the night. GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle emerged with the lead after passing holeshot winner Dungey exiting the first corner.

Start of Toronto SupercrossHowever, Bogle overjumped in the opening rhythm section and crashed hard. Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac’s bike was grazed by Bogle’s Honda, but Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson ran into the downed bike and went over the bars. Anderson eventually found himself underneath Kelly’s Kawasaki’s Deven Raper’s bike. Fortunately, Anderson was able to rejoin the race, but Bogle was out for the night after being run over unavoidably by Smartop/MotoConcepts’ Mike Alessi.

Emerging from the carnage unscathed and inheriting the lead was Dungey, who was pursued by Tomac and Roczen. Tomac and Roczen got around Dungey before the end the first lap, and then Roczen made a block pass on Tomac the next lap to secure the lead. Roczen comfortably rode the remainder of the race up front, leading 19 of 20 laps, and was unchallenged all the way to the checkered flag. For a three-lap stretch, Roczen had a lead of over seven seconds.

“I simply got a better start,” said Roczen. “I think I was top three. My RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John’s/Suzuki was working really great out there. The conditions were tough tonight. You can see the really hard base of dirt and the whoops got really cupped out. We have been solid all day. I wasn’t the fastest in practice, but I had a good feeling and that’s all that matters. I knew I could lay it down in the race. It was awesome! I made a few passes and had a good lead towards the end. I am really happy right now!”

Toronto 450SX - Ryan DungeyDungey and a charging Musquin passed Tomac by the halfway point, with Musquin going by a downed Dungey on Lap 15. Dungey quickly remounted and extended his consecutive podium streak to 26, breaking Reed’s record of 25. The 2nd place finish was Musquin’s third consecutive podium.

Tomac’s woes continued, as Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely went by Tomac on Lap 17 to take over 4th. At the end, Tomac was barely able to hold off BTO Sports/KTM’s Justin Brayton who finished 6th, just a half-second behind Tomac.

“We had a great practice, rode really well in the heat and tried to carry that speed into the Main Event,” Tomac said. “Once the Main Event started, I got my KX450F out of the gate really well, avoided the incident on the first lap, and then made the pass into the lead. From there I just didn’t feel exactly how I needed to get the job done.” 

Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard took 7th, after getting hung up in the Bogle crash. Autotrader/Monster Energy/Yamaha’s Weston Peick rode a consistent race to take 8th place, his first top 10 finish of the year. In an impressive comeback, Anderson recovered from the hard crash to finish 9th after completing Lap 1 in 18th place. Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Jake Weimer had an uneventful 10th.

Photography by Simon Cudby

Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Results, Round 10, Rogers Centre, Toronto

  1. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450
  2. Marvin Musquin – KTM 450 SX-F
  3. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F
  4. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R
  5. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F
  6. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F
  7. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R
  8. Weston Peick – Yamaha YZ450F
  9. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450
  10. Jake Weimer – Suzuki RM-Z450
  11. Blake Baggett – Suzuki RM-Z450
  12. Vince Friese – Honda CRF450R
  13. Mike Alessi – Honda CRF450R
  14. Nick Wey – Kawasaki KX450F
  15. AJ Catanzaro – Kawasaki KX450F
  16. Nick Schmidt – Suzuki RM-Z450
  17. Cade Clason – Honda CRF450R
  18. Deven Raper – Kawasaki KX450F
  19. Kyle Cunningham – Suzuki RM-Z450
  20. Tommy Hahn – Yamaha YZ450F
  21. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF450R
  22. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F

2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross 450SX Standings (after 10 of 17 rounds)

  1. Ryan Dungey, 233 points (5 wins)
  2. Ken Roczen, 199 (3 wins)
  3. Jason Anderson, 175 (1 win)
  4. Eli Tomac, 170 (1 win)
  5. Cole Seely, 163
  6. Marvin Musquin, 156
  7. Chad Reed, 142
  8. Justin Brayton, 125
  9. Davi Millsaps, 105
  10. Jake Weimer, 92
  11. Trey Canard, 91
  12. Christophe Pourcel, 77
  13. Weston Peick, 65
  14. Mike Alessi, 61
  15. William Hahn, 56
  16. Vince Friese, 48
  17. Justin Bogle, 42
  18. Blake Baggett, 24
  19. Tommy Hahn, 20
  20. Nick Schmidt, 20

2016 Toronto Supercross Gallery