Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2016 Anaheim 1 Supercross Results | Anderson Wins 450SX Opener

2016 Anaheim 1 Supercross Results | Anderson Wins 450SX Opener

2016 Anaheim 1 Supercross Results: Victory Goes To Husqvarna’s Anderson

The Main of the opening round of the 2016 Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series began with AutoTrader/Monster Energy/Toyota/Yamaha’s Justin Barcia grabbing the holeshot with Rockstar Energy Racing Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson and Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing’s James Stewart following closely behind.

2016 A1 Supercross 450 PodiumUnfortunately, the race was restarted after Stewart crashed in the left-hand corner before the finish line after a collision with Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey on the first lap.

Stewart lay motionless on the track long enough for the organizers to decide to red flag the race. Stewart was escorted off the track by the Asterisk Mobile Medical Crew and was able to sit up under his own power, but understandably did not return to the gate for the restart.

On the restart, it was Team Honda HRC’s Cole Seely who took the early lead with Barcia and Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac giving chase. On lap five, both Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard and Anderson would make their way past Tomac. From there, Canard would pass Barcia to take second place position on lap six.

Anderson, putting in the field’s fastest laps, passed Barcia on lap seven and got by Canard on lap eight, as well. Tomac, Dungey, Reed, and Roczen would all pass Barcia, who was struggling, in the following few laps. Anderson took the lead from Seely at the end of lap 13 and ran off. Anderson lit the candles over the finish line jump to take his first victory of his SX450 career and the first Husqvarna win in the 450SX class. Anderson joins Ken Roczen, Chad Reed, Damon Bradshaw, Johnny O’Mara, David Bailey, and Donnie Hanson, among others to score a first-time win at Anaheim.

2016 Supercross A1 StartSeely got passed by Dungey in the last few laps of the race, placing Dungey in second and Seely in third at the finish line. Dungey recovered strongly after being pushed off the track by an aggressive Canard. Tomac made his way up to fourth place position, right in front of RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen who was on a charge after a bad start. Earlier, Roczen had gone down hard in the first corner of his Heat race when he tangled with Barcia.

Rounding out the top 10 were Monster Energy/360fly/Chapparal/Yamaha Factory Racing’s Chad Reed, Canard, BTO Sports KTM’s Davi Millsaps, Red Bull KTM’s Dean Wilson, and BTO Sports KTM’s Justin Brayton, respectively. Barcia went down and finished 15th.

The highly anticipated Monster Energy AMA Supercross first “round” of the year began before the main event even started as AutoTrader/Monster Energy/Toyota/Yamaha’s Weston Peick punched Team MotoConcepts Racing’s Vince Friese in the helmet several times after Friese took him out in the semi-final race. Friese had also taken Peick off the track in their Heat race earlier that night. Peick was suspended from racing for the remainder of the night and was not allowed to try to qualify through the LCQ and scored zero points. Peick has been suspended from the San Diego round next week and fined $5000.

Photography by Simon Cudby

2016 Anaheim 1 Supercross Results | 450SX

  1. Jason Anderson – Husqvarna FC 450
  2. Ryan Dungey – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition
  3. Cole Seely – Honda CRF450R
  4. Eli Tomac – Kawasaki KX450F
  5. Ken Roczen – Suzuki RM-Z450
  6. Chad Reed – Yamaha YZ450F
  7. Trey Canard – Honda CRF450R
  8. Davi Millsaps – Kawasaki KX450F
  9. Dean Wilson – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition
  10. Justin Brayton – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition
  11. Broc Tickle – Suzuki RM-Z450
  12. Jake Weimer – Kawasaki KX450F
  13. Justin Bogle – Honda CRF450R
  14. Marvin Musquin – KTM 450 SX-F Factory Edition
  15. Justin Barcia – Yamaha YZ450F
  16. Mike Alessi – Honda CRF450R
  17. Wil Hahn – Kawasaki KX450F
  18. Christophe Pourcel – Husqvarna FC 450
  19. Kyle Chisholm – Honda CRF450R
  20. Tommy Hahn – Yamaha YZ450F
  21. Lawson Bopping – Yamaha YZ450F
  22. James Stewart – Suzuki RM-Z450


2020 MV Agusta Rush 1000 First Look: Brutale in Beast Mode (10 Fast Facts)

2020 MV Agusta Rush 1000 First Look The current MV Agusta logo carries the line "Motorcycle Art Since 1945." The new Superveloce 800 and Brutale 1000...

2021 BMW R 18 Pre-Ordering Begins: Special Webpage Live Now

2021 BMW R 18 Pre-Ordering Begins: Web-Only, No Final Version Shown Yet BMW has been teasing the release of the 2021 BMW R 18 for some...

2019 Royal Enfield INT650 Commuter Test: To Work and Back in Style

2019 Royal Enfield INT650 Commuter Test Everything old is new again, so that should make me a very desirable model—ha! Yes, I’m about as old...

2020 Moto Guzzi V85 TT Travel First Look (9 Fast Facts)

Meet the 2020 Moto Guzzi V 85 TT Travel, which fits between the urban-forward V85 TT ADV and the V85 TT Adventure with its panniers and a top box.

Timeless on the Silk Road: An Odyssey from London to Hanoi (Book Review)

It is the story of the second half of an epic motorcycle adventure that spanned four years, transited Africa, Europe and Asia, but that isn’t even the most compelling part of it.

2020 Suzuki DR200S Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Price

2020 Suzuki DR200S Part of a retro dual-sport line, the 2020 Suzuki DR200S is a trip down memory lane. The SOHC, two-valve motor is air-cooled,...