2015 Valencia MotoGP Results | #99 or #46?

MotoGP Valencia Results 2015 Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo

2015 Valencia MotoGP Results

2015 Valencia MotoGP Results | lorenzo
Yamaha’s Jorge Lorenzo

Spoiler Alert – 2015 Valencia MotoGP Results and 2015 World Champion report below.

Nobody paid much attention to the MotoGP season finale over the past two years. Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez was already crowned champion before the season finale both of those years, and the excitement surrounding the final round at Valencia was centered around racing for pure fun – not a title.

This year was much different. The 2015 MotoGP season finale came down to the last round. Seven points separated Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Valentino Rossi from teammate Jorge Lorenzo, and a bunch of different scenarios had to play out to make either champion.

But from the outset of the 30-lap race, one rider dominated, and did just what he needed to earn the 2015 MotoGP title. The rider? Lorenzo, who relentlessly fought for a third premier-class title at Valencia.

Lorenzo, who earned a record pole at his home circuit in Spain, got the hole shot and led all 30 laps. His only challenge came from Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez, who finished second. Taking the final podium was Marquez’s teammate Dani Pedrosa.

2015 Valencia MotoGP Results | Valentino Rossi
Yamaha’s Valentino Rossi

Though Lorenzo won the title, Rossi gave it all he had to come from dead last to a final finishing position of fourth. The nine-time World Champion was forced to start from last on the grid due to sustaining four penalty points this season – one at Misano for slowing Lorenzo during qualifying, and three for the controversial clash with Marquez at Sepang International Circuit two weeks ago.

Rossi picked of riders one-by-one, and was fourth by mid race. The 36-year-old Italian finished in a lonely fourth, nearly 19 seconds behind the podium finishers and over six seconds ahead of Movistar Yamaha Tech 3’s Pol Espargaro, the top-finishing satellite pilot.

With his win, Lorenzo earned his fifth World title( 250cc – 2006, 250cc – 2007, MotoGP – 2010, 2012, 2015), and become only the third rider in premier-class history to overcome another rider to earn the championship He is also the first since Giacomo Agostini in 1966 to clinch the title in the final round.

2015 Valencia MotoGP Results – Race Recap

Starting from pole, Lorenzo made turn one of 14 first. He was followed by the Repsol Honda RC213V pilots Marquez and Pedrosa, and Ducati Team’s Andrea Iannone, in that order.

As for Rossi, he started from 26th and was into 16th by the first corner. The Italian continually picked off riders and moved into 10th by the third lap. After Iannone crashed at turn 12 on lap three, Rossi was into ninth.

By lap five, Rossi was in a battle with the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 duo of Bradley Smith and Pol Espargaro, and Pramac Ducati’s Danilo Petrucci. After passing these three, Rossi set his sight on Team Ecstar Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro; he passed the Spaniard on lap 12, and a few corners later passed Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso for fourth.

Rossi would remain there until the checkered flag. Fourth didn’t allow him to garner enough points to earn a 10th title. Up front, Lorenzo, Marquez and Pedrosa remained in the 1-2-3 positions for the entire encounter. This would be Lorenzo’s 40th win in the premier class, and 61st of his Grand Prix career.

2015 Valencia MotoGP Results | Marquez
Honda’s Marc Marquez

Rounding out the top 10 were Smith, Dovizioso, Aleix Espargaro, LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow and Petrucci.

EG 0,0 Marc VDS Scott Redding took the last points scoring spot in 15th, with Avintia Racing’s Hector Barbera in 16th as the leading Open Class rider, with the Spaniard securing the Open title in the process as his rival Loris Baz (Forward Racing) could only finish in 19th.

As for the sole American in all of Grand Prix motorcycle racing, Aspar MotoGP Team’s Nicky Hayden finished his final MotoGP race in 17th; the Kentuckian joins Ten Kate Honda next year in World Superbike.

The MotoGP riders will remain at Valencia for the traditional post-season test Tuesday and Wednesday.

2015 Valencia MotoGP Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 156.7 45’59.364
2 20 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 156.7 +0.263
3 16 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda 156.7 +0.654
4 13 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 155.6 +19.789
5 11 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 155.2 +26.004
6 10 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha 155.1 +28.835
7 9 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 155.1 +28.886
8 8 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 154.8 +34.222
9 7 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR LCR Honda Honda 154.7 +35.924
10 6 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 154.5 +39.579
11 5 25 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Team SUZUKI ECSTAR Suzuki 154.5 +39.746
12 4 51 Michele PIRRO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 154.1 +47.053
13 3 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Octo Pramac Racing Ducati 153.7 +54.081
14 2 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 153.6 +56.646
15 1 45 Scott REDDING GBR EG 0,0 Marc VDS Honda 153.5 +57.278
16 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 153.5 +57.363
17 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Aspar MotoGP Team Honda 153.4 +58.742
18 6 Stefan BRADL GER Aprilia Racing Team Gresini Aprilia 153.4 +59.086
19 76 Loris BAZ FRA Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 153.1 +1’04.339
20 24 Toni ELIAS SPA Forward Racing Yamaha Forward 153.1 +1’04.413
21 43 Jack MILLER AUS LCR Honda Honda 153.1 +1’05.212
22 13 Anthony WEST AUS AB Motoracing Honda 151.9 +1’27.281
Not Classified
63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Avintia Racing Ducati 152.6 6 Laps
50 Eugene LAVERTY IRL Aspar MotoGP Team Honda 152.2 7 Laps
23 Broc PARKES AUS E-Motion IodaRacing Team ART 150.9 9 Laps
29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Ducati Team Ducati 152.2 28 Laps

2015 MotoGP Point Standings – Final:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Jorge LORENZO Yamaha SPA 330
2 Valentino ROSSI Yamaha ITA 325
3 Marc MARQUEZ Honda SPA 242
4 Dani PEDROSA Honda SPA 206
5 Andrea IANNONE Ducati ITA 188
6 Bradley SMITH Yamaha GBR 181
7 Andrea DOVIZIOSO Ducati ITA 162
8 Cal CRUTCHLOW Honda GBR 125
9 Pol ESPARGARO Yamaha SPA 114
10 Danilo PETRUCCI Ducati ITA 113
11 Aleix ESPARGARO Suzuki SPA 105
12 Maverick VIÑALES Suzuki SPA 97
13 Scott REDDING Honda GBR 84
14 Yonny HERNANDEZ Ducati COL 56
15 Hector BARBERA Ducati SPA 33
16 Alvaro BAUTISTA Aprilia SPA 31
17 Loris BAZ Yamaha Forward FRA 28
18 Stefan BRADL Aprilia GER 17
19 Jack MILLER Honda AUS 17
20 Nicky HAYDEN Honda USA 16
21 Michele PIRRO Ducati ITA 12
22 Eugene LAVERTY Honda IRL 9
23 Katsuyuki NAKASUGA Yamaha JPN 8
24 Mike DI MEGLIO Ducati FRA 8
25 Hiroshi AOYAMA Honda JPN 5
26 Takumi TAKAHASHI Honda JPN 4
27 Toni ELIAS Yamaha Forward SPA 2