Motorcycle Racing News Jerez Superbike Qualifying Results | Sykes on Record Pole

Jerez Superbike Qualifying Results | Sykes on Record Pole

2015 Jerez Superbike Qualifying Results & Recap

Jerez Superbike Qualifying Results | Sykes on Record Pole
Kawasaki’s Tom Sykes

For the 29th time of his career, Kawasaki Racing Team’s Tom Sykes has earned pole position. The ZX-10R Ninja pilot’s latest arrived at the Jerez circuit in Spain, the Brit putting in a best lap of 1:40.292 during Tissot-Superpole. This was 0.006 of a second faster than the previous record set by Loris Baz last season, who was also on a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R.

Sykes will be joined on the front row for Sunday’s double-header at Jerez by the current points leader, teammate Jonathan Rea, and Althea Racing Ducati’s Niccolo Canepa; these top three were split by only 0.216 of a second.

As the 2015 World Superbike Championship heads into Jerez, round 11 of 13, Rea has 452 points – 144 ahead of Ducati Team’s Chaz Davies. The Northern Irishman Rea can possible clinch the title this weekend. During the last round back on August 2 at Sepang in Malaysia, Rea and Davies split wins.

2015 Jerez Superbike Qualifying Results – Recap

Following Free Practice 3, the top 10 riders were joined for Superpole 2 by Michael van der Mark (Pata Honda) and David Salom (Team Pedercini). Both ensured their place in the final top 12 shoot-out thanks to their lap times of 1.41.432 and 1.41.632 respectively. Unfortunately, Salom crashed out at turn one, ending his day. Luckily he was unhurt. During Superpole 2, the top seven were covered by 0.839 of a second after multiple lead changes in the 15-minute session.

Qualifying behind Canepa on the top of row two is the reigning World Supersport Champion, van der Mark. He will be joined by Aprilia Racing Team’s Jordi Torres and Davies.

Qualifying seventh is Ducati Superbike Team replacement rider Michele Pirro, will be joined on row three by Althea Racing’s Matteo Baiocco and Voltcom Crescent Suzuki’s Alex Lowes who completes row 3.

Row four consists of Pata Honda World Superbike’s Sylvain Guintoli, Aprilia Racing Team’s Leon Haslam, and Salom who crashed out of Superpole 1.

Filling the fifth row is Leon Camier (MV Agusta Reparto Corse), Leandro Mercado (Barni Racing) and Randy de Puniet (Voltcom Crescent Suzuki).

Sunday’s two 20 lap races are scheduled to start at 10:30 a.m. and 1:10 p.m. local time respectively.

KTM Private MotoGP Test at Red Bull Ring: Espargaró and Pedrosa

As the world emerges from the COVID-19 threat, KTM took to the Red Bull Ring for a private test of its latest RC16 MotoGP...

MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix Preview: Silverstone Circuit

MotoGP virtual racing is back, this time the 2020 MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix on Sunday. The format is returning to racing with riders...

2020 Salt Lake City 1 Supercross Preview (with Track Map)

After a long break from racing due to the government response to the COVID-19 virus, the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series is back....

2021 Beta RR 2-Stroke Off-Road Line-Up First Look

For 2021, Beta is continuing to offer four two-stroke off-road RR models ranging from the agile 125 RR to the torquey 300 RR. There...

2020 Ducati Custom Rumble Winner Crowned: Scrambler 1100 FT

The third Ducati Custom Rumble competition between builders of custom Ducati Scramblers has a winner—Marco Graziani of CC-Racing Garage. Entered in the Bully category,...

Ducati Team Signs Jack Miller for MotoGP in 2021

Before a MotoGP race has been run in 2020, the Ducati Team has signed Jack Miller for its 2021 MotoGP factory squad. Miller, 25,...