Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2015 Silverstone Moto3 Results & Recap

2015 Silverstone Moto3 Results & Recap

2015 Silverstone Moto3 Results

2015 Silverstone Moto3 Results & Recap Danny Kent
Danny Kent

Just as in MotoGP and Moto2 at Silverstone, the Moto3 race of the British Grand Prix was held under wet conditions.

But the rain didn’t seem to affect Leopard Racing’s Danny Kent, who dominated 2015 Silverstone Moto3. Kent earned his sixth win of 2015 Moto3 by 8.492 seconds ahead of Drive M7 SIZ’s Jakub Kornfiel and 13.189 seconds ahead of Ongetta-Rivacold’s Niccolo Antonelli.

With his win – Kent’s eight of his Grand Prix career – he extends his lead to 224 points – 70 ahead of Gresini Racing Team’s Moto3’s Enea Bastianini, who crashed out on the final lap of 2015 Silverstone Moto3, and 98 ahead of Sky Racing Team VR46’s Romano Fenati.

Starting from third on the grid behind pole man Jorge Navarro (Estrella Galicia 0,0) and Karel Hanika (Red Bull KTM Ajo), Kent quickly got into the battle for the lead, chasing down early leader Isaac Vinales (RBA Racing Team KTM).

2015 Silverstone Moto3 Results & Recap
Start of 2015 Silverstone Moto3

With 13 0f 17 laps completed, Vinales crashed out, giving Kent the lead before his home crowd. From there, he was unchallenged. Regardless of a huge moment late in the race when the rain got worse, Kent went on to win, becoming the first British rider to ever win at Silverstone in the lightweight class.

Kornfeil battled from a starting position of 13th to second, earning his first-ever Moto3 podium. Antonelli finished third, earning his second Moto3 podium.

Fourth went to Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Fabio Quartararo, the 16-year-old nearly 37 seconds behind Kent. MotoGP reports that The French rider Quartararo struggled with his helmet steaming up during the race, but managed to win an excellent battle with RW Racing’s Livio Loi (-51.755s) and Scotsman John McPhee (-53.726s) on the SAXOPRINT RTG Honda. Loi and McPhee once again demonstrated their prowess in the wet after finishing on the top two steps of the podium at Indianapolis.

Juanfran Guevara earned his career best with seventh, the Mapfre Team Mahindra pilot finishing ahead of Lorenzo Dalla Porta (Husqvarna Factory Laglisse), who scored points for the first time in his career in only his third race.

2015 Silverstone Moto3 Results & Recap Danny Kent takes lead
Danny Kent takes lead

Rounding out the top 10 were Efren Vazquez (Leopard Racing) and Tatsuki Suzuki (CIP). British wildcards Luke Hedger (FPW Racing) and Taz Taylor (RS Racing) finished in 18th and 19th respectively.

During 2015 Silverstone Moto3, a total of 16 riders fell, including pole man Jorge Navarro who crashed out of the race on the very first lap while in the lead, Francesco Bagnaia, Andrea Locatelli, Maria Herrera and Brad Binder.

The series now breaks for two weeks ahead of the San Marino Grand Prix at Misano.

2015 Silverstone Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 52 Danny KENT GBR Leopard Racing Honda 136.0 44’13.623
2 20 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Drive M7 SIC KTM 135.6 +8.492
3 16 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA Ongetta-Rivacold Honda 135.3 +13.189
4 13 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 133.5 +50.018
5 11 11 Livio LOI BEL RW Racing GP Honda 133.4 +51.755
6 10 17 John MCPHEE GBR SAXOPRINT RTG Honda 133.3 +53.726
7 9 58 Juanfran GUEVARA SPA MAPFRE Team MAHINDRA Mahindra 133.0 +1’01.086
8 8 48 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA ITA Husqvarna Factory Laglisse Husqvarna 132.7 +1’06.158
9 7 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Leopard Racing Honda 132.6 +1’08.634
10 6 24 Tatsuki SUZUKI JPN CIP Mahindra 132.3 +1’13.589
11 5 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA SAXOPRINT RTG Honda 132.1 +1’18.961
12 4 5 Romano FENATI ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 131.7 +1’27.462
13 3 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 131.5 +1’31.210
14 2 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Drive M7 SIC KTM 131.2 +1’37.523
15 1 16 Andrea MIGNO ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 131.2 +1’38.004
16 65 Philipp OETTL GER Schedl GP Racing KTM 131.1 +1’40.376
17 2 Remy GARDNER AUS CIP Mahindra 130.6 +1’50.488
18 26 Luke HEDGER GBR FPW Racing Kalex KTM 128.7 +2’30.582
19 66 Taz TAYLOR GBR RS Racing KTM 126.8 1 Lap
20 76 Hiroki ONO JPN Leopard Racing Honda 126.1 1 Lap
Not Classified
21 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA MAPFRE Team MAHINDRA Mahindra 135.9 2 Laps
33 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Gresini Racing Team Moto3 Honda 134.1 2 Laps
29 Stefano MANZI ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra 132.3 2 Laps
55 Andrea LOCATELLI ITA Gresini Racing Team Moto3 Honda 135.1 3 Laps
40 Darryn BINDER RSA Outox Reset Drink Team Mahindra 125.8 3 Laps
19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Outox Reset Drink Team Mahindra 131.5 5 Laps
88 Jorge MARTIN SPA MAPFRE Team MAHINDRA Mahindra 132.6 7 Laps
95 Jules DANILO FRA Ongetta-Rivacold Honda 131.6 9 Laps
41 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 126.7 9 Laps
98 Karel HANIKA CZE Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 131.2 11 Laps
32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA RBA Racing Team KTM 127.1 11 Laps
6 Maria HERRERA SPA Husqvarna Factory Laglisse Husqvarna 119.6 11 Laps
22 Ana CARRASCO SPA RBA Racing Team KTM 115.7 11 Laps
12 Matteo FERRARI ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra 101.9 16 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
9 Jorge NAVARRO SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 0 Lap
91 Gabriel RODRIGO ARG RBA Racing Team KTM 0 Lap

2015 Moto3 Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Danny KENT Honda GBR 224
2 Enea BASTIANINI Honda ITA 154
3 Romano FENATI KTM ITA 126
4 Efren VAZQUEZ Honda SPA 116
6 Niccolò ANTONELLI Honda ITA 110
8 Fabio QUARTARARO Honda FRA 92
10 Jorge NAVARRO Honda SPA 72
11 John MCPHEE Honda GBR 70
12 Francesco BAGNAIA Mahindra ITA 59
13 Livio LOI Honda BEL 51
14 Alexis MASBOU Honda FRA 46
16 Philipp OETTL KTM GER 40
17 Karel HANIKA KTM CZE 33
18 Andrea LOCATELLI Honda ITA 31
19 Jorge MARTIN Mahindra SPA 23
20 Niklas AJO KTM FIN 21
21 Andrea MIGNO KTM ITA 20
22 Juanfran GUEVARA Mahindra SPA 15
23 Hiroki ONO Honda JPN 15
24 Lorenzo DALLA PORTA Husqvarna ITA 8
25 Jules DANILO Honda FRA 7
26 Tatsuki SUZUKI Mahindra JPN 6
28 Maria HERRERA Husqvarna SPA 1
29 Stefano MANZI Mahindra ITA 1
30 Matteo FERRARI Mahindra ITA 1

Sinless Cycles Collection at Mecum’s Las Vegas 2021 Auction: Top 7

Sinless Cycles out of Woodworth, La., is a renowned custom shop. It looks like the garage got a bit full, so they’re putting up...

2022 Kawasaki KLR650 First Look (14 Fast Facts)

2018 was a dark year for Kawasaki KLR650 enthusiasts. It was the last year of the much-loved venerable big-bore dual-sport model that debuted in...

2022 Indian FTR Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts)

It’s barely 2021, yet the 2022 Indian FTR lineup is here, and there are some significant changes to three of the four variants. In...

2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S First Look (8 Fast Facts)

Just a year after the debut of the Kawasaki KLX230R trail bike, we get our first look at the 2021 Kawasaki KLX230R S. While...

2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS First Look (19 Fast Facts)

Forget what you know about any previous Triumph Speed Triple. The 2021 Triumph Speed Triple 1200 RS is an all-new naked upright sportbike ready...

2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited First Look: Updates, Specs, Photos

The 2021 Harley-Davidson CVO Limited arrives with two new paint choices, plus a couple of updates in the dash area. There’s a new LED...