Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT John McGuinness Heads Up 2015 500cc Classic TT Entry List

John McGuinness Heads Up 2015 500cc Classic TT Entry List

2015 500cc Classic TT Entry List

John McGuinness Heads Up 2015 500cc Classic TT Entry List
John McGuinness

The entry list is set for the 2015 Bennetts 500cc Classic TT Race, which takes place Saturday, August 29. The 2015 500cc Classic TT entry list features 90 riders that will vie for a podium finish at the 37.73-mile Isle of Man TT Mountain Course.

Heading up the list for the four-lap race is 23-time Isle of Man TT winner John McGuinness. The 43-year-old “Morecambe Missile” will once again start with the Number 1 plate on Roger Winfield’s Paton. During last year’s Classic TT, McGuinness, who won the 2015 Senior TT, lapped in excess of 112 mph, but was forced to retire on the opening lap due to mechanical issues.

All eyes will also be on McGuinness’ teammate Ryan Farquhar. The Dungannon man also led last year’s race before DNFing, but five victories in the corresponding race at the Manx Grand Prix show he’s a potential race winner.

The third potential victor on the Italian Paton is Ian Lougher who took last year’s race win and only narrowly missed out on setting a new lap record. Riding the Giovanni Cabassi/Flitwick Motorcycles machine, he’ll set off at number 11, two places behind Farquhar.

John McGuinness Heads Up 2015 500cc Classic TTThree of their strongest rivals will come from the formidable looking Team Molnar Manx who’ll be fielding Michael Dunlop (3). Dan Cooper (5) and Cameron Donald (8), the latter making a welcome return after injury forced him out of last year’s event. All three have proved their credentials and with all three on Andy Molnar’s 4-valve machines, their progress will be eagerly watched.

Michael Rutter was another rider to lead last year’s race before retiring and the Midlander became the fastest ever rider on a British single cylinder machine so it’s clear the Ripley Land Racing entrant is capable of standing on the top step.

He sets off at number two and the list of potential winners keeps coming in the shape of Gary Johnson (John Chapman Racing), Dean Harrison and Lee Johnston (Black Eagle Racing) who’ll all be mounted on MV Agustas. Johnson and Harrison missed last year’s race whilst Johnston won the 350cc encounter so their threat cannot be ruled out. They line up at numbers 7, 12 and 13 respectively.

Davies Motorsport also have two riders capable of the victory on their Honda machines with William Dunlop (6) and long-time Classic race exponent Alan Oversby (15) continuing with the team for a third year. Meanwhile, Bennetts Lightweight TT winner Ivan Lintin makes his Classic TT debut riding Brian Richards’ 4-valve Matchless.

John McGuinness Heads Up 2015  Classic TT Entry ListOlie Linsdell, the inaugural winner in 2013 and current lap record holder, returns at number 4 on the Flitwick Motorcycles 500cc Royal Enfield and will be gunning for a 110mph lap with Keith Amor (Dunnell Racing), Jamie Coward (Craven Manx), Chris Swallow (D.G. Kenah), Wattie Brown (Team Molnar Manx) expected to be other leading contenders on Norton’s.

Honda have further representation in the shape of Conor Cummins and James Hillier and the CSC Racing pairing will be hoping for a strong showing on their improved machines. James Cowton (D&M Racing), David Madsen Mygdal (Gimbert Racing), Pete Boast (MCN Sport), Paul Coward and Chris Petty add further weight to the Japanese challenge.

The quality of the entry is endless and other names to keep an eye on include Maria Costello, Mark Herbertson, Nick Jefferies, Allan Brew, Mark Parrett, Meredydd Owen, Barry Davidson and John Leigh Pemberton with Horst Saiger making his Classic TT bow on an Egli-Vincent.

2020 Kawasaki Vulcan 900 Custom Review: No Wallflower

As competent as Japanese cruisers are, they rarely are motorcycles that attract attention. Instead, they typically go about their business in a way that...

Three Electric Yamaha Scooters: First Look From Tokyo Auto Show

Yamaha displayed three scooters of interest at the 46th Tokyo Motor Show. Two of them are concept scooters, while the other is a production...

2020 Lambretta G325 Special First Look: Flagship Scooter

Although many American’s knowledge of Italian scooters begins and ends with Vespa, aficionados of the genre are well-versed in the Lambretta brand. After all,...

2020 Benelli Leoncino 800 First Look: Italian Design, Made In China

Truly a modern classic, the all-new 2020 Benelli Leoncino 800 stretches the Leoncino line upward. Featuring a new 754cc DOHC parallel-twin motor in a...

2020 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition First Look (12 Fast Facts)

With less than a month to go before the opening of the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross season, the 2020 Husqvarna FC 450 Rockstar Edition...

James Bond Triumph: Tiger 900 and Scrambler 1200 in New Movie

James Bond movies have a long history of motorcycles participating in the spy's cinematic adventures around the world. However, it did take Agent 007...