2015 Indy Moto2 Results | Alex Rins Earns Debut Win

2015 Indy Moto2 Results | Alex Rins Earns Debut Win
Alex Rins at Indy Moto2

2015 Indy Moto2 Results

2015 Indy Moto2 Results | Alex Rins Earns Debut Win
Alex Rins at Indy Moto2

With conditions declared wet but the Moto2 grid faced with a drying Indianapolis Motor Speedway, many decided to go with slick tires.

This created loads of excitement during the opening laps of 2015 Indy Moto2, which marked the return of GP action following a month-long summer break. With the riders on slicks on a semi-wet track for round 10 of 18, many were cautious as they adjusted to conditions during the opening few laps Indianapolis Moto2.

Throughout it all, though, Paginas Amarillas HP40’s Alex Rins displayed a raw energy needed to earn his debut win. The rookie would do this, taking the victory from pole after some serious battling.

When the 2015 Indy Moto2 was finished, Rin took the win by 0.482 of a second ahead of the current points leader, Ajo Motorsports Johann Zarco, and 0.888 of a second ahead of Italtrans Racing Kalex’s Franco Morbidelli.

With his win, Rins also bumped the reigning Moto2 Champion Esteve Rabat (Marc VDS) for second in points; Rins now has 128 points, 71 behind Zarco. This was his ninth Grand Prix victory, which includes eight wins in Moto3.

Once riders got used to the conditions, a battle very similar to what is the norm in Moto3 immediately began Rins, Rabat, Zarco and Dominique Aegerter (Technomag Racing Interwetten). This battle would go until the penultimate lap when Zarco ran wide – taking Aegerter with him. This allowed Rins to take the checkered flag without worry. Zarco would regain his rhythm to finish second, as Morbidelli took advantage of Aegerter’s mistake to earn his first Moto2 podium.

Aegerter, fresh from his podium at the Suzuka 8 Hours, finished fourth, 0.406 behind Morbidelli. Fifth went to Rabat, who fought hard with Morbidelli for much of the race.

Rounding out the top 10 were Thomas Luthi (Derendinger Racing Interwetten), AGR Teams Axel Pons, who recovered from a warm-up crash, Xavier Simeon (Federal Oil Gresini Moto2), Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) and Alex Marquez (Paginas Amarillas HP40).

With five laps remaining, Speed Up Racing’s Sam Lowes crashed out while in sixth at Turn 15. Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Raceline Malaysia) was also in contention for a top six finish when he crashed out on the final lap, while Mika Kallio, who had started from the front row, also went down after contact with Lowes on lap 11.

There were also DNF’s for Tech 3’s debutant Xavi Vierge, Randy Krummenacher, Ratthapark Wilairot, Sandro Cortese and Julian Simon who had actually led the race at the start.

Following 2015 Indy Moto2, the series takes no break, heading directly to Brno for the Czech Republic Grand Prix August 14-16.

2015 Indy Moto2 Results:

12540Alex RINSSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex151.341’18.866
2205Johann ZARCOFRAAjo MotorsportKalex151.3+0.482
31621Franco MORBIDELLIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex151.3+0.888
41377Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag Racing InterwettenKalex151.2+1.719
5111Tito RABATSPAEG 0,0 Marc VDSKalex151.2+2.963
61012Thomas LUTHISWIDerendinger Racing InterwettenKalex151.1+3.478
7949Axel PONSSPAAGR TeamKalex151.0+5.064
8819Xavier SIMEONBELFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Kalex150.9+7.562
9730Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex150.8+9.316
10673Alex MARQUEZSPAEG 0,0 Marc VDSKalex150.8+9.801
11525Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex150.7+9.899
12494Jonas FOLGERGERAGR TeamKalex150.7+10.108
13395Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up150.3+17.106
14223Marcel SCHROTTERGERTech 3Tech 3149.8+25.187
15170Robin MULHAUSERSWITechnomag Racing InterwettenKalex149.4+32.587
1639Luis SALOMSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex149.1+37.611
172Jesko RAFFINSWIsports-millions-EMWE-SAGKalex149.0+38.889
1810Thitipong WAROKORNTHAAPH PTT The Pizza SAGKalex148.4+49.094
1966Florian ALTGERE-Motion IodaRacing TeamSuter147.8+59.167
Not Classified
55Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaKalex151.01 Lap
22Sam LOWESGBRSpeed Up RacingSpeed Up150.95 Laps
97Xavier VIERGESPATech 3Tech 3148.25 Laps
4Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIJIR Racing TeamKalex143.67 Laps
96Louis ROSSIFRATasca Racing Scuderia Moto2Tech 3140.610 Laps
15Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAJPMoto MalaysiaSuter147.111 Laps
36Mika KALLIOFINItaltrans Racing TeamKalex142.214 Laps
11Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex148.815 Laps
60Julian SIMONSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up128.219 Laps

2015 Moto2 Point Standings:

1Johann ZARCOKalexFRA199
2Alex RINSKalexSPA128
3Tito RABATKalexSPA125
4Thomas LUTHIKalexSWI109
5Sam LOWESSpeed UpGBR107
6Xavier SIMEONKalexBEL92
7Jonas FOLGERKalexGER81
9Dominique AEGERTERKalexSWI56
10Mika KALLIOKalexFIN47
11Julian SIMONSpeed UpSPA47
12Takaaki NAKAGAMIKalexJPN39
14Luis SALOMKalexSPA36
15Alex MARQUEZKalexSPA36
16Simone CORSIKalexITA35
17Sandro CORTESEKalexGER35
18Hafizh SYAHRINKalexMAL34
19Anthony WESTSpeed UpAUS20
20Axel PONSKalexSPA18
21Marcel SCHROTTERTech 3GER14
23Louis ROSSITech 3FRA7
24Azlan SHAHKalexMAL6