Motorcycle Racing News AMA Supercross/Motocross 2015 Spring Creek Motocross Results | Dungey Domination

2015 Spring Creek Motocross Results | Dungey Domination

2015 Spring Creek Motocross Results

2015 Spring Creek Motocross Results | Dungey Domination
KTM’s Ryan Dungey

Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey had two major incentive factors heading into round eight of the 2015 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Championship in Millville, Minn. – he was racing before a home crowd and he had just earned the top Sport Athlete honors at the 2015 ESPY Awards.

Dungey capitalized on the situation, dominating both motos of the La Crescent Wine & Spirit Spring Creek National to earn his third overall win and first sweep of 2015 Motocross. This was also Dungey’s four-career victory before a home crowd.

Joining Dungey on the overall 2015 Spring Creek Motocross podium were’s Justin Barcia (2-2) and Team Yoshimura Suzuki’s Blake Baggett, respectively.

“It feels great to get a victory here,” Dungey said from the 2015 Spring Creek Motocross podium. “I felt great here at my home track and my KTM worked great today. I hope to continue the rest of the season just like this.”

2015-spring-creek-motocross-results-dungey-dominates 42015 Spring Creek Motocross Results, Race 1 Recap

After earning the Bud Light Fastest Qualifier aboard his KTM SX-F450, Dungey got off the line behind holeshot-winner Barcia and the Yamaha pilot’s teammate Phil Nocoletti.

Dungey made quick work of Nicoletti, and was immediately on Barcia’s tail. After Barcia and Dungey swapped the lead a few times, Dungey got out front before the start of lap two, and began opening a gap.

Barcia attempted to fight back, but he couldn’t keep up with Dungey’s pass. Dungey eventually led all 16 laps, and took the checkered flag 4.469 seconds ahead of Barcia. Third went to the reigning Motocross champion, RCH Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ken Roczen, who was followed by Baggett and RCH Soaring Eagle/Jimmy Johns/Suzuki Factory Racing’s Broc Tickle.

2015 Spring Creek Motocross Results, Race 2 Recap

Barcia once again earned the Holeshot Award in moto 2. He was followed by Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson, Team Honda HRC’s Freddie Noren, and Dungey, respectively.

Anderson briefly stole he lead, but Barcia quickly countered. Behind Dungey was charging through the field, passing Noren and then Anderson on the opening lap.

Barcia was able to hold of Dungey for two laps, but that was it. Dungey took advantage of the steep downhill section of 2015 Spring Creek Motocross, and eventually cross the finish line 5.148 seconds ahead of Barcia. Baggett made a late-race pass on Roczen to earn third, pushing Roczen into fourth. Taking third was Noren; this was his best-career Motocross finish.

Dungey now has the most overall wins of any rider in 2015 Motocross. Dungey has three, and Barcia and the injured GEICO Honda pilot Eli Tomac both have two.

2015 Spring Creek Motocross Results | Dungey Domination Justin Barcia
Yamaha’s Justin Barcia

“The track was difficult today, but I was looking forward to it. This place can get rough and I enjoy it when it does,” Dungey says. ”I got a good start in the first moto and was able to get around Jusitn [Barcia] early, then I just rode my own race.

“In the second moto it took a little longer, but I really wanted to get that 1-1 since I hadn’t done that yet this season. The bike was really working great and I was really able to get down the hills well. I knew that if there was a pass to be made, that’s where it would be.”

Dungey now has a 56-point lead over Roczen, and Barcia is in third, 69 points behind.

Following the Dungey-dominated 2015 Spring Creek Motocross race, the series continues next Saturday with the Washougal National in Washington, round nine of 12

2015 Spring Creek Motocross Results, 450 Class (Moto Finish)

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM (1-1)
  2. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Yamaha (2-2)
  3. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki (4-3)
  4. Ken Roczen, Germany, Suzuki (3-4)
  5. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna (6-6)
  6. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki (5-7)
  7. Fredrik Noren, Sweden, Honda (8-5)
  8. Christophe Pourcel, France, Husqvarna (9-8)
  9. Phil Nicoletti, Cohocton, N.Y., Yamaha (7-10)
  10. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Husqvarna (10-9)

2015 Motocross 450 Class Championship Standings

  1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., KTM, 353
  2. Ken Roczen, Germany, Suzuki, 297
  3. Justin Barcia, Monroe, N.Y., Yamaha, 284
  4. Blake Baggett, Grand Terrace, Calif., Suzuki, 250
  5. Jason Anderson, Edgewood, N.M., Husqvarna, 227
  6. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Suzuki, 220
  7. Christophe Pourcel, France, Husqvarna, 211
  8. Phil Nicoletti, Cohocton, N.Y., Yamaha, 176
  9. Weston Peick, Wildomar, Calif., Yamaha, 171
  10. Fredrik Noren, Sweden, Honda, 161

Dunlop Dragmax First Look: Drag Racing Motorcycle Tire

Dunlop has a wide range of motorcycle tires in its lineup, from the slow-going D803GP for trials bikes to the MotoAmerica-ready KR448 slick. Filling...

2020 BMW R nineT Pure Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Price

It’s back to basics with the 2020 BMW R nineT Pure. That minimalist attitude has allowed BMW to bring the R nineT Pure to the showroom for less than $10k.

Wells Lamont Gloves, You’ve Come a Long Way

A company called Wells Lamont made these leather motorcycle glove back then and they could be had down at the Co-op Store for a few bucks a pair.

2020 FIM International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) Postponed Until 2021

The coronavirus pandemic has caused the cancelation and/or postponements of rounds throughout multiple motorcycle racing series, from MotoGP to Supercross to the Isle of...

Husqvarna 701 Svartpilen and 701 Vitpilen Recall: Possible Fuel Leak

KTM, the owner of Husqvarna, has recalled 1500 of its 701 Svartpilen and 701 Vitpilen motorcycles. KTM says the fuel may leak from the fuel-level...

MotoGP Virtual Race Results, Round 1: Alex Márquez Wins

With the world’s MotoGP riders homebound due to international health concerns, MotoGP held its first-even Virtual Race. Held on the Mugello Circuit, the race...