2015 Assen Moto2 Results – Zarco Tops Reigning Champ Rabat

2015 Assen Moto2 Results - Zarco Tops Reigning Champ Rabat
Johann Zarco

2015 Assen Moto2 Results

2015 Assen Moto2 Results - Zarco Tops Reigning Champ Rabat
Johann Zarco

Round eight of the 2015 Moto2 Championship at the TT Circuit Assen began under the worst possible condition – a first-lap red flag.

The frowned-upon waving red at 2015 Assen Moto2 was due to an incident involving Marcel Schrotter, Anthony West and Luis Salom. The latter crashed hard, and his Paginas Amarillas HP40 Kalex caught on fire and spewed oil on the 2.82-mile Assen TT Circuit in the Netherlands, which ultimately caused the red flag. Salom would suffer a DNF. West would restart, but suffer a crash with Lorenzo Baldassari five laps into the restarted race.

After the restart, 2015 Assen Moto2 came down to a battle between the man leading the points heading into the Dutch TT Moto2 event – Ajo Motorsport’s Johann Zarco – and the reigning Moto2 Champion, Marc VDS Racing’s Esteve “Tito” Rabat.

And when 2015 Assen Moto2 wrapped up, Zarco would retain – and extend – his points lead. The Frenchman would earn his third win of 2015 Moto2, and finish 0.757 of a second ahead of Rabat. Taking the final podium finish 2.080 behind Zarco was Speed Up Racing’s Sam Lowes.

Starting from pole, Zarco had some issues and feel back a few positions. AGR Team’s Jonas Folger took the holeshot, and immediately opened a lead on the man in second, Rabat.

But Zarco was already challenging Rabat on lap four of 2015 Assen Moto2, and the two made contact, pushing Zarco wide. These gave Rabat some breathing room as he chased down Folger and took the lead on lap 8. But a few moments later Zarco would do the same, and began chasing down Rabat.

When Zarco passed Folger for second, Rabat was 0.5 of a second ahead. But with three laps remaining, Zarco caught up and gave Rabat a small “nudge” as he took the lead. He immediately opened a gap and would take the win 2015 Assen Moto2 by 0.757 of a second. Lowes would battle his was to third, finishing 2.080 seconds back.

Paginas Amarillas HP40’s Alex Rins finished fourth, 3.738 seconds behind Zarco. Derendinger Racing Interwetten Kalex’s Thomas Luthi earned fifth, 4.530 second back, and Federal Oil Gresini Moto2’s Xavier Simeon sixth, 5.045 seconds adrift.

Folger faded to seventh, followed by Italtrans Racing Team’s Mika Kallio, Marc VDS Racing’s Alex Marquez, and Athina Forward Racing’s Simone Corsi.

Louis Rossi, Ricky Cardus and Florian Alt also recorded DNF’s, with Luis Salom not able to take his place on the grid for the re-started race due to the damage to his bike from the red flag incident.

Following 2015 Assen Moto2 Zarco now has 159 pints, and events his lead to 45 points ahead of Rabat. Lowes is in third with 96 points.

The series now breaks for two weeks before heading to Sachsenring in Germany for round nine of 18.

2015 Assen Moto2 Results

1255Johann ZARCOFRAAjo MotorsportKalex166.226’13.410
2201Tito RABATSPAEG 0,0 Marc VDSKalex166.1+0.757
31622Sam LOWESGBRSpeed Up RacingSpeed Up166.0+2.080
41340Alex RINSSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex165.8+3.738
51112Thomas LUTHISWIDerendinger Racing InterwettenKalex165.7+4.530
61019Xavier SIMEONBELFederal Oil Gresini Moto2Kalex165.7+5.045
7994Jonas FOLGERGERAGR TeamKalex165.6+6.140
8836Mika KALLIOFINItaltrans Racing TeamKalex165.4+8.105
9773Alex MARQUEZSPAEG 0,0 Marc VDSKalex165.3+8.376
1063Simone CORSIITAAthinà Forward RacingKalex165.2+9.670
11560Julian SIMONSPAQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up165.0+11.749
12477Dominique AEGERTERSWITechnomag Racing InterwettenKalex164.4+17.537
13330Takaaki NAKAGAMIJPNIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex164.3+18.104
1424Randy KRUMMENACHERSWIJIR Racing TeamKalex164.1+20.468
15155Hafizh SYAHRINMALPetronas Raceline MalaysiaKalex164.0+20.894
1625Azlan SHAHMALIDEMITSU Honda Team AsiaKalex163.9+22.405
1711Sandro CORTESEGERDynavolt Intact GPKalex163.8+22.930
1823Marcel SCHROTTERGERTech 3Tech 3163.6+25.663
1921Franco MORBIDELLIITAItaltrans Racing TeamKalex163.0+30.931
2070Robin MULHAUSERSWITechnomag Racing InterwettenKalex162.6+35.014
212Jesko RAFFINSWIsports-millions-EMWE-SAGKalex162.6+35.289
2249Axel PONSSPAAGR TeamKalex161.6+44.794
2310Thitipong WAROKORNTHAAPH PTT The Pizza SAGKalex161.3+47.633
2415Ratthapark WILAIROTTHAJPMoto MalaysiaSuter160.7+54.049
2513Jasper IWEMANEDAbbink GPSpeed Up159.1+1’10.079
Not Classified
7Lorenzo BALDASSARRIITAAthinà Forward RacingKalex164.45 Laps
95Anthony WESTAUSQMMF Racing TeamSpeed Up164.35 Laps
96Louis ROSSIFRATasca Racing Scuderia Moto2Tech 3162.37 Laps
88Ricard CARDUSSPATech 3Tech 3162.211 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
66Florian ALTGERE-Motion IodaRacing TeamSuter0 Lap
Not Starting
39Luis SALOMSPAPaginas Amarillas HP 40Kalex0 Lap