2015 Assen Moto3 Qualifying Results

2015 Assen Moto3 Qualifying | Bastianini Claims Pole
Enea Bastianini

Just as Valentino Rossi in MotoGP, and Johann Zarco in Moto2, Enea Bastianini set a new Moto3 track record en route to the pole at the Assen TT Circuit. This was the Gresini Racing Team Moto3 pilots second-straight Moto3 pole including his front-row start at Catalunya Moto3 two weeks ago.

Under overcast conditions in The Netherlands, Bastianini posted a best lap of 1:41.283 to set a new track record during 2015 Assen Moto3 qualifying. Joining him on the front row is Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Jorge Navarro, who finished 0.335 of a second back, and Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Karel Hanika, who earned his first-ever Moto3 front-row start 0.4 of a second behind.

The quickest rider throughout Moto3 free practice – Leopard Racing’s Moto3 World Championship leader Danny Kent – heads up the second row; Kent finished 0.416 of a seocnd back.

Kent will be joined on row two by Husqvarna Factory Laglisse’s Isaac Viñales (+0.511), who improved from 18th in free practice to fifth in qualifying, and Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Miguel Oliveira (+0.522).

Rounding out the top 10 were Fabio Quartararo (Estrella Galicia 0,0), Romano Fenati (Sky Racing Team VR46), Efren Vazquez (Leopard Racing) and Francesco Bagnaia (Mapfre Team Mahindra). Bagnaia suffered a crash at turn 9 before the end of the session.

Andrea Locatelli crashed early in the session also at turn 9 but recovered to start from 14th on the grid. SAXOPRINT RTG’s Scottish rider, John McPhee, will have to start the race from down in 23rd.

MotoGP reports that today was the first time the Moto3 field had to qualify under the new guidelines from Race Direction aimed at preventing riders cruising on the racing line waiting for a tow.