Catalunya Moto3 2015 Results | Kent by 0.035 of a Second!

Catalunya Moto3 2015 Results | Kent by 0.035 of a Second!
Danny Kent earns win by a mere 0035 of a second.

Catalunya Moto3 2015 Results

Catalunya Moto3 2015 Results | Kent by 0.035 of a Second!
Danny Kent earns win by a mere 0035 of a second.

Just as in Moto2, the battle for the Moto3 race at the Catalunya-Barcelona Circuit came down to the final lap.

Actually, round seven in the 2015 MotoGP Championship came down to the start/finish line where Leopard Racing’s Danny Kent beat reival Enea Bastianini by a mere 0.035 of a second. Earning the final podium position was Kent’s teammate Erfen Vacquez.

There was a spectacular six-way battle at the front of another captivating 22-lap Moto3 race that ended with Kent mounting a last lap charge to take a sensational victory at the Gran Premi Monster Energy de Catalunya.

Gresini Racing Team Moto3’s 17-year-old Italian Bastianini crossed the line in second, with Kent’s teammate Efren Vazquez making a daring move on the last corner to snatch third from Ongetta-Rivacold’s Niccolo Antonelli.

In near perfect conditions (Track temp 40°C) it was Red Bull KTM Ajo’s Miguel Oliveira that led into turn 1. But it was soon clear that no one would be able to make a break like Kent did in Texas and Argentina due to the slipstream effect on the long straight.

Within a few laps Kent, Bastianini, Oliveira, Vazquez, Antonelli and Estrella Galicia’s Jorge Navarro had managed to break away from the rest of the field.

A dramatic fight for the win ensued with the lead changing hands at almost every corner. Numerous times Kent, who had a 46-point lead in the championship standings before the race, tried to break the leading group but each time he opened up an advantage, the group simply swallowed him back up on the start/finish straight.

It came down to a thrilling final lap and Kent made his move, with only Bastianini able to go with him. Kent knew he had to lead out of the last corner to take the victory, and the Brit held his nerve to take the chequered flag for his fourth win of the season. In the process Kent became the first Briton to win four or more races in a Grand Prix season since Barry Sheene in 1977 (6x500cc victories).

Bastianini (+0.035s) crossed the line just behind Kent, while Vazquez (+0.600s) managed to pass Antonelli at the last corner to secure the last step of the podium. Mugello race-winner Oliveira finished in fifth as the leading KTM rider ahead of Navarro, who celebrated a career best sixth.

Isaac Viñales on the Husqvarna Factory Laglisse won the fight for seventh at the head of the chasing pack, beating Sky Racing Team VR46’s Romano Fenati (eighth) and Brad Binder (Red Bull KTM Ajo) across the line. Schedl Racing GP’s Philippe Oettl completed the top ten, just under 15 seconds behind Kent.

Frenchman Fabio Quartararo finished down in fourteenth, ahead of Maria Herrera who crossed the line in 15th to score he first World Championship point scoring finish.

There was an incident on the first lap between Gabriel Rodrigo, Jakub Kornfeil and Stefano Manzi, which saw them all fall, with the latter managing to remount. There were also crashes for Karel Hanika, Darryn Binder, John McPhee and Hiroki Ono.

The Moto3 Championship now breaks for two weeks before heading to the Assen TT in the Netherlands.

Catalunya Moto3 2015 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 52 Danny KENT GBR Leopard Racing Honda 152.2 40’59.419
2 20 33 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Gresini Racing Team Moto3 Honda 152.2 +0.035
3 16 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA Leopard Racing Honda 152.1 +0.600
4 13 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA Ongetta-Rivacold Honda 152.1 +0.687
5 11 44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 152.1 +0.827
6 10 9 Jorge NAVARRO SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 152.1 +0.913
7 9 32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Husqvarna Factory Laglisse Husqvarna 151.6 +8.871
8 8 5 Romano FENATI ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 151.6 +8.917
9 7 41 Brad BINDER RSA Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 151.5 +11.068
10 6 65 Philipp OETTL GER Schedl GP Racing KTM 151.3 +14.968
11 5 88 Jorge MARTIN SPA MAPFRE Team MAHINDRA Mahindra 151.2 +16.596
12 4 55 Andrea LOCATELLI ITA Gresini Racing Team Moto3 Honda 151.1 +17.340
13 3 31 Niklas AJO FIN RBA Racing Team KTM 151.0 +19.086
14 2 20 Fabio QUARTARARO FRA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 151.0 +19.320
15 1 6 Maria HERRERA SPA Husqvarna Factory Laglisse Husqvarna 151.0 +19.366
16 95 Jules DANILO FRA Ongetta-Rivacold Honda 150.8 +22.257
17 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA Outox Reset Drink Team Mahindra 150.7 +23.345
18 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA SAXOPRINT RTG Honda 150.6 +26.414
19 11 Livio LOI BEL RW Racing GP Honda 150.5 +27.080
20 21 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA MAPFRE Team MAHINDRA Mahindra 149.9 +36.956
21 12 Matteo FERRARI ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra 149.9 +37.895
22 24 Tatsuki SUZUKI JPN CIP Mahindra 149.9 +37.946
23 22 Ana CARRASCO SPA RBA Racing Team KTM 149.9 +38.088
24 63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Drive M7 SIC KTM 148.9 +53.346
25 2 Remy GARDNER AUS CIP Mahindra 148.4 +1’02.762
26 58 Juanfran GUEVARA SPA MAPFRE Team MAHINDRA Mahindra 147.6 +1’16.487
27 29 Stefano MANZI ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra 143.9 1 Lap
28 16 Andrea MIGNO ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 143.8 1 Lap
Not Classified
98 Karel HANIKA CZE Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 151.0 3 Laps
40 Darryn BINDER RSA Outox Reset Drink Team Mahindra 145.4 5 Laps
17 John MCPHEE GBR SAXOPRINT RTG Honda 150.7 13 Laps
76 Hiroki ONO JPN Leopard Racing Honda 151.4 16 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Drive M7 SIC KTM 0 Lap
91 Gabriel RODRIGO ARG RBA Racing Team KTM 0 Lap