2015 Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Earns Debut IOM Win

2015 Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Earns Debut IOM Win
Ivan Lintin

2015 Lightweight TT Results

2015 Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Earns Debut IOM Win
Ivan Lintin

Consisting of nearly all Kawasaki 650cc twins, the Lightweight TT race depends on rider and team talent more than anything. This was proven once again during the 2015 Isle of Man TT.

But it wasn’t a repeat winner; RC Express Racing Kawasaki’s Ivan Lintin earned his debut TT victory during the Lightweight TT in record-breaking fashion. Lintin posted a record lap of 120.845mph on lap four of four around the 37.73-mile Mountain Course, shattering the previous record of 119.130 set by James Hillier during the 2013 Isle of Man TT.

During this year’s Lightweight TT, Hillier also broke his old record, posting a quickest lap of 120.848mph also on the final lap. He would finish second on his Quattro Plant Muc-Off Kawasaki. Taking third was the only non-Kawasaki to finish – Team ILR Paton’s Michael Rutter.

This was the second-straight year the RC Express Racing team was successful at the Lightweight TT; last year, Dean Harrison was the winner.

2015 Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Earns Debut IOM Win James Hillier
James Hillier

When the 2015 Lightweight TT began, Hillier was quickest at Glen Helen, followed 1.5 seconds back by Lintin. Closing in behind were Ryan Farquhar, Lee Johnston, Dan Cooper and Rutter. The pre-race favorite, Cookstown Burrows Engineering Jamie Hamilton, was pushed back outside the top 10.

By Ramsey, though, Lintin would take over the lead by 1.7 seconds ahead of Farquhar, pushing Hillier back to third. Lintin’s lead grew to 2.1 seconds ahead of Farquhar after an opening first lap of 119.078mph. Hillier got bumped to fourth with Johnston in third, and Rutter and Stewart Smith’s Racing’s James Cowton completed the top six.

Farquhar’s hopes of a win – or even a podium – were shattered when he was given a 30-second penalty for speeding through pit lane. Another rider that didn’t have much luck was Gary Johnson, who retired in the pits with bike issues.

Things changed once again, though, as Northern Ireland’s Hamilton took the lead from Lintin by over three seconds. Hillier was back into third, and Johnston in fourth. Farquhar was dropped back to ninth, but he was forced to retire at Cronk y Voddy.

2015 Lightweight TT Results | Lintin Earns Debut IOM Win rutter
Paton’s Michael Rutter

The lead would change again, though, and by Ramsey Lintin held four seconds over Hamilton, with Hillier just behind in third. Now, Johnston, Michael Russell and Rutter rounded out the top six.

Lintin held the lead going into the final lap, though Hillier was closing in on him. Behind, Johnston took over third as Hamilton made a pit stop. But Johnston was forced to retire at Ballacraine, and Rutter moved into third.

Lintin would cross the line 3.8 seconds ahead of Hillier, with Rutter in third. Cowton finished fourth, and the battle for fifth went all the way to the end with Hamilton ousting Daniel Cooper, who won the Privateer TT Championship.

Rounding out the top 10 were Russell, the American Mark Miller, Connor Behan and Danny Webb. Newcomer Derek McGee earned 11th.

As for crashes, Hudson Kennaugh was reported off at Braddan Oaks but was not injured.

Photos by Wayne Freestone

2015 Lightweight TT Results Photo Gallery