Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP Suzuki’s Espargaro Earns Record Pole at Catalunya MotoGP Qualifying

Suzuki’s Espargaro Earns Record Pole at Catalunya MotoGP Qualifying

2015 Catalunya MotoGP Qualifying Results

Suzuki’s Espargaro Earns Record Pole at Catalunya MotoGP Qualifying
Suzuki’s Aleix Espargaro

The Suzuki GSX-RR made quite the statement during qualifying for round seven of the 2015 MotoGP Championship at the Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya.

Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Aleix Espargaro and Maverick Vinales, respectively, claimed the 1-2 qualifying positions for Sunday’s 25-lap Grand Prix of Catalunya. Espargaro earned his second-career MotoGP pole in dominating style – he broke the lap record set by Repsol Honda’s Dani Pedrosa in 2013. This was also the first pole for Suzuki since Chris Vermeulen at 2007 Assen MotoGP.

Espargaro claimed the pole with a lap of 140.893, and Vinales followed 0.083 of a second behind. Taking the final front-row starting position was the man who won the last three rounds of 2015 MotoGP, Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Jorge Lorenzo.

Speaking before a home crowd, Espargaro says: “Unbelievable. I push 100 percent. With the first tire I push a lot but not to the limit, the second tyre I push, everything or nothing! I almost crashed because I opened the throttle so early. First and second for Suzuki is great after the work they have done it’s like a present for them. Hopefully we can be near the front tomorrow.

“Let’s cross our fingers and hope for a dry race for all the people coming tomorrow. I think it’s much better dry than wet. We did a lot of laps on used tires in FP4, 25 like the race. I think our pace is very similar at the top. Yesterday I said pole wasn’t important, but it will be a dream to fight with Jorge, Marc and Vale for the podium.”

Suzuki’s Espargaro Earns Record Pole at Catalunya MotoGP Qualifying Maverick Vinales
Suzuki’s Maverick Vinales

Lorenzo earned his fourth-consecutive front-row start, the two-time MotoGP Champion finishing 0.1 of a second behind Espargaro.

Heading up row two is the reigning MotoGP Champion who has struggled so far this season, Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez. The Spaniard, who set a quick pace during the final lap only to peter out in the final sector, finished 0.208 of a second behind Espargaro.

Joining Marquez on row two is Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizioso, who finished on the podium four times this season, and the other Honda RC213V pilot, Dani Pedrosa.

The winningest rider at Catalunya, nine-time World Champion Valentino Rossi, will start seventh on his Movistar Yamaha MotoGP YZR-M1. He was followed by Monster Tech 3 Yamaha’s Bradley Smith and CWM LCR Honda’s Cal Crutchlow, who crashed on turn 10.

The leader of the Open class standings, Hector Barbera (Avintia Racing), will start from the head of the fifth row in 13th, just ahead of Marc VDS Racing’s Scott Redding. As for the sole American in 2015 MotoGP, Aspar MotoGP Team’s Nicky Hayden will start from 18th.

AB Motoracing Honda’s Karel Abraham suffered a horrible crash in FP4, and will be sidelined for Sunday’s MotoGP; he dislocated his left foot’s big toe.

2015 Catalunya MotoGP Qualifying Results

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling.

2020 Suzuki GSX-R750 Buyer’s Guide: Specs & Price

Take Suzuki GSX-R600 supersport chassis and put in a 750cc cheater motor, and you have the 2020 Suzuki GSX-R750. Sure, it doesn't fit in...

The Best of Peter Egan: Book Review (Rider’s Library)

relatable, real. Those qualities have made Peter Egan one of the most widely-read writers of our time. Here's a review of The Best of Peter Egan.

2016-2020 Triumph Thruxton Recall: Side Stand Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 3,244 of its 2016-2018 Thruxton, 2016-2019 Thruxton R, and 2020 Thruxton TFC motorcycles due to side-stand issues.

2019-2020 Triumph Speed Twin Recall: Gear Shift Lever Issues

Triumph Motorcycles America has recalled 1,304 of its 2019-2020 Speed Twin motorcycles due to gear shift lever issues. Triumph says the gear shift lever linkage...

2020 Anaheim 2 Supercross Results and Coverage: 3 Races, 3 Winners

Eli Tomac made it three winners in three races on three brands in the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross Championship Series as he overcame a...

2020 Dakar Rally Results: Honda’s Brabec Claims 1st Win for USA (Video)

For the past 18 consecutive years, KTM has dominated the Dakar Rally, winning each event in dominating style. Two legendary names are associated with...