Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2015 SES TT Zero Results | McGuinness Earns 22nd TT!

2015 SES TT Zero Results | McGuinness Earns 22nd TT!

2015 SES TT Zero Results

2015 TT Zero Results - John McGuinness Wins
Mugen’s John McGuinness (photo by Wayne Freestone)

Many say nobody will beat the late Joey Dunlop’s record of 26 TT wins. But John McGuinness may prove these folks wrong.

It won’t happen this year, but McGuinness is one TT closer to Dunlop’s record. This was following another dominate performance in Wednesday’s SES TT Zero race at the 2015 Isle of Man TT.

The 43-year-old McGuinness – known as the Morecambe Missile – now has 22 TT wins. The one-lap SES TT Zero was also McGuinness’ second-straight victory in the electric motorcycle TT Zero class, which replaced the TTXGP in 2010.

En route to the TT Zero win – taken on a 148-horsepower Team Mugen eBike named “Shinden Yon” – McGuinness beat his old electric-class lap record by nearly two seconds. The new record at the 37.73-mile Mountain Course stands at 119.279mph.

Joining McGuinness on the 2015 TT Zero podium were this year’s RST Superbike TT winner, Bruce Anstey (Mugen Motorsports) and Lee Johnston on the Victory Racing prototype, respectively.

McGuinness led the nine-rider grid, and by Glen Helen on the Snaefell Mountain Course, he held a one-second lead over Anstey. But a further 17 seconds behind were Johnston and his Victory Racing teammate Guy Martin, who became the last-minute replacement for the injured William Dunlop.

At Ballaugh Bridge, McGuinness’ lead increased to over two seconds as both Mugen riders pulled away. Johnston was safely in third, nine seconds ahead of Martin at Ballaugh

By Ballaugh Bridge, Belgium’s Sarolea Racing’s Robert Wilson was in fifth, followed by Brunel University’s James Cowton and University of Nottingham’s Michael Sweeney, the latter two battling for the top University position.

When the race wrapped up, McGuinnness took a record-breaking win with a lap of 119.279mph (18:58.743). Anstey followed in second (118.857mph/19:02.785), and Johnston in third (111.620mph/20:16.881. Guy Martin (109.717mph/20:37.987), Robert Wilson (106.510mph/21:15.256) completed the top five with Michael Sweeney (73.156mph/30:56.695) taking the University honors for Nottingham.

Three riders suffered DNFs – Cowton, Wilson and Kingston University’s Shaun Anderson.

2015 Isle of Man TT SES TT Zero Photo Gallery (photos 1-4 by Wayne Freestone)

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Avon Tyres + Blood Bikes = Motorcycles Saving Lives

We’ve all heard of blood banks, but this is the first time we have heard of blood bikes. Leicestershire & Rutland Blood Bikes is...

2021 Moto Guzzi V7 Stone 100th Anniversary First Look

Back in December, we gave you a first look at the new 2021 Moto Guzzi V7 lineup. The big news was an increase in...

2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber First Look (11 Fast Facts)

The 2022 Triumph Bonneville Bobber enjoys a wide range of updates that include functional and aesthetic. The changes are, in part, to meet Euro...

2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The 2021 MV Agusta Dragster RR SCS RC is the new flagship of the urban-brawling Dragster lineup. The RC stands for Reparto Corse, and...

2022 Triumph Bonneville T100 First Look (9 Fast Facts)

The Triumph Bonneville T100 gets a more powerful and higher-revving motor for 2022,  along with a lighter chassis and upgraded suspension as the British...

2022 Triumph Street Twin First Look (7 Fast Facts)

The best-selling Triumph Street Twin is back with motor changes to meet Euro 5 standards, upgraded styling, and a classy new variant. Let’s take...