Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2015 Isle of Man TT Sidecar 2 Results | Birchalls Take 2

2015 Isle of Man TT Sidecar 2 Results | Birchalls Take 2

2015 Isle of Man TT Sidecar 2 Results

2015 Isle of Man TT Sidecar 2 Results | Birchalls Take 2
Ben and Tom Birchall

Two records were set during the final Sure Sidecar race of the 2015 Isle of Man TT. The first was the record time that went to Ben and Tom Birchall as the team doubled in the Sure Sidecar F2 races at 2015 TT.

The second record was a new lap time set by the favorites heading into 2015 IOM TT – Dave Molyneux/Ben Binns.

When the Sure Sidecar 2 race wrapped up, the Birchalls earned the race win with a record time of 58:24.971. The LCR/Manx Gas Racing team of the Birchalls finished seven seconds ahead of DMR Suzuki’s Molyneaux/Binns, the team that earned the record with a final lap speed of 116.785.

Taking third over 20 seconds behind was the LCR Silicone Engineering/Barnes Racing team of John Holden and Dan Sayle.

Following is the official 2015 Isle of Man TT Sidecar 2 Results Recap:

The Birchalls grabbed the lead from the outset, leading Holden/Sayle by two seconds at Glen Helen with Molyneux/Binns a further two seconds back. Tim Reeves/Patrick Farrance were only 1.5 seconds behind in fourth as Conrad Harrison/Mike Aylott and Ian and Carl Bell completed the top six.

With glorious conditions all round the Mountain Course, the Birchalls lead was up to 2.5s at Ramsey with the top three still the same but Reeves/Farrance were reported as having retired at Glen Auldyn on the approach to the northern town.

An opening lap of 115.549mph gave the Birchalls a 3.4 seconds lead of Molyneux/Binns with Holden/Sayle still in third. Reeves’ retirement promoted Harrison/Aylott up to fourth with the Bells now fifth and Gary Bryan/Jamie Winn. However, the latter pulled in to the pits to retire with Winn having lost his visor over the Mountain.

molyneux-binns-2015 Isle of Man TT Sidecar 2 Results | Birchalls Take 2
Dave Molyneux / Benjamin Binns

It was clear the race was going to be a record-breaking one with all three leading crews setting 116mph laps second time around, the Birchalls only two seconds outside Crowe’s 2007 lap record. Their lead now stood at 7.6 seconds with Holden only 3.7 seconds adrift in third. Harrison and Bell remained in fourth and fifth as Matt Dix/Shaun parker moved up to sixth.

The Birchalls and Molyneux practically matched each other the whole way round the lap, the gap between the two hovering around the seven second mark and as they came along Glencrutchery Road for the final time, it was the Birchalls who got it, their third TT win in total, by seven seconds also breaking their two day old race record.

They broke Crowe’s lap record with a speed of 116.783 but Molyneux was a fraction quicker at 116.785 and reclaimed the record he’d last held in 2006. Holden/Sayle came home in third for their second podium of the week.

Harrison/Aylott and the Bells had relatively lonely drives into fourth and fifth respectively as Dix/Parker secured their best ever TT position in sixth also posting their best ever 110mph lap.

Wayne Lockey/Mark Sayers, Steve Ramsden/Matty Ramsden, Rob Handcock/Aki Alto and Tony Baker/Fiona Baker-Milligan completed the top 10.

Photos by Wayne Freestone

2015 Isle of Man TT Sidecar 2 Results Photo Gallery

2021 Indian Springfield Lineup First Look (5 Fast Facts)

There are two motorcycles in the 2021 Indian Springfield lineup, with the standard Springfield focused on longer-distance touring, and the Springfield Dark Horse pulling...

2021 BMW R 18 Review (19 Fast Facts on the First Edition)

Over a year after its concept debut, the 2021 BMW R 18 has made its way to production. Much has been written about its...

2021 Honda CRF450R Review (12 First Ride Fast Facts from Glen Helen)

The 2021 Honda CRF450R is all-new for 2021. The entirely new chassis, bodywork, exhaust, and hydraulic clutch highlight the changes to the CRF450R. Add to...

Arai Spoiler EX2 for the Corsair-X Helmet First Look

The Arai Corsair-X is the Japanese company’s flagship helmet and intended for riders of the highest performance motorcycle. MotoGP racers Maverick Viñales of Monster...

2021 Indian Scout Lineup First Look: Five Models (Photos, Specs + Prices)

Although the five-motorcycle Indian Scout lineup is functionally unchanged for 2021—last year was a major expansion of the line—this year, Indian is offering new...

2020 Ural Weekender SE First Look: Special Edition Sidecar

Just in time for autumn, Ural lets loose with the 2020 Ural Weekender SE. Based on the 2WD Gear Up model, the Weekender SE...