Motorcycle Racing News Isle of Man TT 2015 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock TT Results | Hutchy Again!

2015 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock TT Results | Hutchy Again!

2015 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock TT Results

2015 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock TT Results | Hutchy Again!
Kawasaki’s Ian Hutchinson

Heading into the 2015 Isle of Man TT, 35-year-old Ian Hutchinson had not won a TT since he swept all five solo classes in 2010.

“Hutchy” surely would have won additional TTs, but he did some serious damage to his left lef following a crash during the 2010 Silverstone British Supersport race. He was run over by another rider, and sustained severe damage to his left tibia and fibula – injuries that prompted numerous surgeries and nearly ended his racing career.

But Hutchinson wasn’t about to give up. Following a season off, Hutchinson returned to the TT in 2012, which marked his determination to get back to full racing. Unfortunately, Hutchinson’s leg issues continued, and he underwent further surgery that sidelined him from both the 2013 and 2014 TTs.

Hutchinson then penned a deal with Paul Bird Motorsports for 2015, piloting a Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R in the superbike/superstock races. He showed promise throughout qualifying, and earned second Sunday behind Bruce Anstey in the opening solo race of 2015 IOM TT – the RST Superbike TT.

2015 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock TT Results | Hutchy Again! Michael Dunlop
BMW’s Michael Dunlop

He followed this up Monday with a win in the Supersport 1 race while competing aboard the Team Traction Control Yamaha YZF-R6; this was his first win since 2010, and his ninth TT victory.

But Hutchinson wasn’t done; he carried this momentum into Tuesday’s RL360 Superstock TT, destroying Michael Dunlop’s record by 32 seconds!

Joining Hutchinson on the RL360 Superstock podium was 11-time TT winner Michael Dunlop, who is the nephew of the man who holds the record for TT wins with 26 – Joey Dunlop – and East Coast Construction BMW’s Lee Johnston, who achieved his first TT podium.

As for America’s Mark Miller, the Splitlath EBR 1190RX pilot finished 35th.

The “Bingley Bullet” Hutchinson, who now claims 10 TT wins, took the lead on lap three of four. Though Dunlop, Johnson and Quattro Plant Kawasaki’s James Hillier were all riding inside the lap record, no one could catch Hutchinson.

When the race began, Michael Dunlop, who switched from Yamaha to BMW S1000RR machinery during the middle of qualifying, took the early lead from Hillier, Hutchinson and Tyco BMW’s Guy Martin, who will pilot a Victory prototype in the Zero TT. Behind these four were Johnston and GB Moto Kawasaki’s Gary Johnson. Unfortunately, Johnson had electrical issues on his ZX-10R, and was forced to retire at Parliament Square on the second lap.

Michael Dunlop continued to gain ground, but behind Hutchinson was already into second place by the end of the opening lap. Martin was also into third, and all three were averaging over 130mph.

By the second half of lap two on the 37.73-mile Mountain Course, Hutchinson was catching up to the MD Racing BMW S1000RR pilot Michael Dunlop. At Ramsey, the gap shrunk to 0.8 of a second, but due to an optimal pit stop, Dunlop’s lead grew to nearly two seconds ahead of Hutchinson. Behind, the top six were filled by Johnston, Hillier and Briggs Equipment UK BMW’s Peter Hickman. As for Martin, he dropped to eighth after his S1000RR wouldn’t start.

2015 Isle of Man TT RL360 Superstock TT Results | Hutchy Again! Lee Johnston
BMW’s Lee Johnston

Hutchinson’s tire change greatly affected his performance, though, and by Glen Helen he had the lead over Dunlop by 2.7 seconds. This lead improved to nearly 10 seconds by lap’s end.

As Dunlop remained in second, Hillier moved into third ahead of Johnston, Hickman and Smiths Racing BMW’s David Johnson.

Hutchinson continued to stretch his lead, and eventually took the checkered flag by 17.2 seconds ahead of Michael Dunlop for his 10th TT victory. Johnston was able to hold off Hillier by a mere 0.270 of a second for the final podium position.

Fifth went to Hickman, who was followed by BMW pilots Johnson and Martin. Rounding out the top 10 were three Honda CBR1000RR superbike pilots – John McGuinness, RST Superbike winner Bruce Anstey and Conor Cummins.

Photos by Wayne Freestone

2015 RL360 Superstock TT Results Photo Gallery

Ron Lieback
Ron Lieback
One of the few moto journalists based on the East Coast, Ron Lieback joined the motorcycle industry as a freelancer in 2007, and is currently Online Editor at Ultimate Motorcycling. He is also the author of "365 to Vision: Modern Writer's Guide (How to Produce More Quality Writing in Less Time).

Classic Superbikes by Frank Melling Book Review: Motorcycle History

Frank Melling is an old-school moto journalist and former factory racer. He lives with his wife Carol on a beautiful farm in northwest England....

Harley-Davidson IRONe12 Review (14 Fast Facts)

Electric bicycles are growing in popularity across a broad spectrum of people and a wide array of uses. This is a story about one...

2021 Honda Rebel 1100 First Look (8 Fast Facts + 40 Photos)

In spite of the Japanese manufacturers’ general retreat from the cruiser market, Honda is going against the current with its third iteration of the...

Garmin Montana 700i Review: Motorcycle GPS Adventure Partner

I am starting to do adventure motorcycle riding here in the Pacific Northwest, and I am a fanatic about my personal safety. I do...

2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE First Look (5 Fast Facts—Supercharged)

We met the Kawasaki Z H2 last year, and now it’s time to upgrade. The 2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE takes the standard supercharged...

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR: All-New (15 Fast Facts)

Kawasaki has totally revamped its 2021 Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR superbikes. The motorcycles, built with input from Kawasaki Racing Team (KRT), won the past...