2015 Isle of Man TT Supersport 1 Results | Hutchy is Officially Back!

2015 Isle of Man TT Supersport 1 Results | Hutchy is Officially Back!
Yamaha's Ian Hutchinson

2015 Isle of Man TT Supersport 1 Results

2015 Isle of Man TT Supersport 1 Results | Hutchy is Officially Back!
Yamaha’s Ian Hutchinson

Ian Hutchinson completed the near impossible in 2010 – he swept all five solo TTs. But during the 2010 British Supersport race at Silverstone later that year, “Hutchy” suffered a crash and broke his leg. The injuries were career threatening, but Hutchinson wasn’t about to give up.

Hutchinson would not win a TT since that Silverstone crash – but that changed during Monday’s Monster Energy Supersport 1 race at the 37.73-mile Mountain Course.

The Team Traction Control Yamaha YZF-R6 pilot earned the win by 7.7 seconds ahead of the man who won Sunday’s RST Superbike race and owns the outright lap record at the TT, Bruce Anstey (Valvoline Racing by Padgetts Honda). Earning the final podium position was TBC Yamaha’s Gary Johnson, who crashed during the RST Superbike race.

The was Hutchinson’s ninth TT win, completing the story of his amazing comeback.

2015 Isle of Man TT Supersport 1 Results | Hutchy is Officially Back! Bruce Anstey
Honda’s Bruce Anstey

When the four-lap race began under perfect conditions, Johnson took the lead at Glen Helen, and was two seconds ahead of Mar-Train Racing Yamaha’s Dean Harrison.

Meanwhile behind, Hutchinson was even with Quattro Kawasaki’s James Hillier. The top six were filled by Anstey and East Coast Construction Triumph’s Lee Johnston.

By Ramsey on the opening lap, Hutchinson was into second, and out ahead of 21-time Isle of Man TT winner John McGuinness (Jackson Racing Honda). Anstey was into fourth ahead of Hillier and Johnston, and Smiths Racing Triumph’s Guy Martin was up into seventh.

Hutchinson posted an opening lap of 126.400mph, and was able to snag the lead from Johnson. Anstey followed two second back, ahead of Harrison, Johnston and Martin, who passed Hillier for sixth.

As Hutchinson opened up a two-second lead on lap two, Harrison was forced to retire at Crosby Crossroads. Another rider to retire was MD Racing Honda’s Michael Dunlop at Kirk Michael.

Anstey and Johnson battled hard, and were nearly equal at Ramsey Hairpin and the Bungalow timing points. Another rider to crash was RigDeluge Road Racing Honda’s Keith Amor, who went off at Stella Maris. He was airlifted to Noble hospital, where he was treated for facial injuries.

Anstey would catch up with Hutchinson before the first pit, but Hutchy’s team did great work and he was able to gain 6.6 seconds on Anstey. As for Martin, he suffered a 30-second penalty for speeding on pit lane.

2015 Isle of Man TT Supersport 1 Results | Hutchy is Officially Back! Yamaha Gary Johnson
Yamaha’s Gary Johnson

The 35-year-old Yorkshireman Hutchinson was able to ride smooth and fast, posting the fastest lap of the race on the fourth and final time around (127.571mph). He finished over seven seconds ahead of Anstey and Johnson. Johnston finished fourth, securing his best-ever TT finish.

Martin finished fifth, followed by Hillier in sixth. Rounding out the top 10 were McGuinness, Jackson Racing Honda’s Conor Cummins, Valvoline Padgetts Honda’s Dan Kneen and SMT/Carbridge Racing Kawasaki’s Michael Rutter.

Earlier in the day, CD/IC Racing Yamaha’s William Dunlop had crashed during Lightweight Qualifying. He was airlifted to the Noble hospital, where he was diagnosed with broken ribs – an injury that sidelines him for the rest of the 2015 Isle of Man TT.

2015 Isle of Man TT Supersport 1 Results Photo Gallery