2015 North West 200 Results & Recap – BMW S1000RR Dominates

2015 North West 200 Results & Recap - BMW S1000RR Dominates Seeley 1
Alastair Seeley

2015 North West 200 Results

2015 North West 200 Results & Recap - BMW S1000RR Dominates Seeley 1
Alastair Seeley

Due to a serious crash and weather conditions, the 2015 North West 200 didn’t go quite as planned - only four of six races were complete.

Thursday’s Spidi Superstock race was rescheduled for Saturday, but the race was canceled following a three-rider crash between York Corner and Mill Road Roundabout that involved Horst Saiger, Stephen Thompson and Dean Harrison.

Saiger broke his arm, and Thompson and Harrison were in critical condition, but are now stable. A female spectator - Violet McAfee - was also injured. Due to the seriousness of the crash, the Superstock event was canceled.

Also canceled was the main race of the weekend - the Vauxhall International North West 200. The reasoning? High winds on Northern Ireland’s 8.970-mile Triangle Circuit.

2015 North West 200 Results & Recap - BMW S1000RR Dominates
Lee Johnston leads

But as for the four-remaining races, BMW Motorrad was the top player in the literbike races - the Monster Energy Superbike and CP Hire Superstock races.

Privateer BMW Motorrad riders earned a double win on the new S100)RR - Alastair Seeley (GB / Tyco BMW) in the Superbike race and local hero Lee Johnston (GB / ECR/Burdens) in the Superstock race. Seeley also finished runner-up in the Superstock racing, giving BMW Motorrad its first 1-2 finish.

BMW Reports that the International North West 200 near Coleraine (GB) marked the first major event of the season, which will continue with the legendary Isle of Man TT (IOMTT), the Ulster GP and the Macau Grand Prix. These four events are also combined in the new “BMW Combined Road Race Challenge” (BMW RRC), which counts towards the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy. After several wins in national road race events in preparation for the season, the BMW Motorrad teams tackled the North West 200 with a lot of confidence – and their expectations were not disappointed.

2015 North West 200 Monster Energy Superbike Race:

Seeley’s Superbike victory aboard the BMW S1000RR allowed him to equal Robert Dunlop’s all-time record of 15 wins at the North West 200. Joining Seeley on the Monster Energy Superbike podium were PBM Kawasaki’s Ian Hutchinson (-0.305) and Valvoline Honda’s Bruce Anstey (-0.543).

“I’m a bit overwhelmed if I’m honest. To have equalled Robert’s record in such a short space of time… I’m stuck for words,” said Seeley, who also did the fastest race lap. “It is just amazing for me and the Tyco BMW team. Big credit to all the boys for a big effort this North West and, of course, BMW Motorrad for providing top class machinery.”

Philip Neill, Tyco BMW team manager, adds “This is an extremely important event for us and to take our first victory for Tyco BMW in our first year together is amazing and testament to the new BMW S 1000 RR.”

Rounding out the top five were Johnsont, and BMW Penz13.com’s Michae Rutter.

As for 21-time Isle of Man TT winner, Honda Racing’s John McGuinness finished sixth, just ahead of the TYCO BMW S1000RR duo of William Dunlop and Guy Martin.

2015 North West 200 Results & Recap - BMW S1000RR Dominates Guy Martin
Guy Martin

2015 North West 200 CP Hire Superstock Race:

The BMW S1000RR was dominate once again in the Superstock class. Seeley was on the hunt for another win, but fellow S1000RR pilot Johnston was not giving up. The two fought a duel at front that came down to the finish line, and Johnston took the win by a mere 0.192 of a second ahead of Seeley. Kawasaki’s Hutchinson took the final podium position.

Rounding out the top five were MD Racing Yamaha’s Michael Dunlop and Riders Motorcycles and TYCO BMW’s William Dunlop. In total, six RRs crossed the line in the top 10 - Johnsont, Seeley, Dunlop, Martin Jessopp (GB / Riders Motorcycles) in sixth, Keith Amor (Rig Deluge Road Racing BMW) in eighth, and David Johnson (Ice Valley BMW) in 10th.

Following are the podium results of all races in the 2015 North West 200:

2015 NW200 Monster Energy Superbike Race:
1. Alastair Seeley, TYCO BMW S1000RR
2. Ian Hutchinson, PBM Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R
3. Bruce Anstey, Valvoline Racing Honda CBR1000RR

2015 NW200 CP Hire Superstock Race:
1. Lee Johntson, ECR/Burdens BMW S1000RR
2. Alastair Seeley, TYCO BMW S1000RR
3. Ian Hutchinson, PBM Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R

2015 NW200 Bet Mclean Supersport Race:
1. Alastair Seeley, TYCO Suzuki by TAS GSX-R600
2. Glenn Irwin, Gearlink Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R
3. Lee Johnston, ECR/Burdens Triumph 675

2015 NW200 Anchor Complex Supertwin Race:
1. Jeremy McWilliams, SGS Manx Gas by KMR Kawasaki
2. Ryan Farquhar, SGS Manx Gas by KMR Kawasaki
3. Jamie Hamilton, Cookstown BE Racing Kawasaki

2015 North West 200 BMW S1000RR photo Gallery:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.