MotoGP BMW M Award Car Unveiled – BMW M6 Convertible

MotoGP BMW M Award Car Unveiled - BMW M6 Convertible
MotoGP BMW M Award Car Unveiled - BMW M6 Convertible
2015 BMW M Award – BMW M6

Since 2003, BMW M Division has been involved in MotoGP, the Bavarian manufacturer offering one of its M cars to the best qualifier of the season. T

Last year’s MotoGP Champion Marc Marquez earned his second-straight BMW M Award following 2014 MotoGP, the Spaniard collecting an M4 Coupe at the conclusion of a record-breaking season. Last year, Marquez earned 13 pole positions – a new record for any single season.

After four rounds so far this season, Marquez already has the lead in the BMW M Award; the 22-year-old Repsol Honda pilot has earned two. Taking the other two were Ducati Team’s Andrea Dovizoso and Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Jorge Lorenzo. One more BMW M Award and Marquez will tie Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner, whom each earned three M cars.

But 14 rounds remain before the 2015 BMW M Award will be presented. And this year’s car is truly exclusive – a BMW M6 Convertible that will be further customized for the winner. BMW unveiled the car today at Circuito de Jerez in Spain, which hosted round four of MotoGP this past weekend.

“The BMW M Award is one of the highlights of every MotoGP season – every rider wants to be the one to receive this outstanding prize at the end of the year,” says Pau Serracanta, Managing Director of the Commercial department at Dorna Sports, at the presentation.

“The unveiling of the winner’s car here in Jerez has become an important tradition for us. The entire MotoGP family is very excited about it, and BMW M Division has surprised us again this year with a truly breath-taking car. I am certain that this stunning BMW M6 Convertible will be a coveted prize among the riders.”

“We are very proud that the BMW M Award is held in such high esteem within MotoGP,” says Axel Mittler, Head of Cooperation MotoGP at BMW M Division. “This award is also an important part of our long and successful partnership with MotoGP.

“For this reason, it is very important for us to provide a genuine highlight as the prize each year. For the 2015 season we opted for our new BMW M6 Convertible, which enjoyed its world premiere at the Detroit Auto Show in January. We now have our fingers crossed for all MotoGP riders in the race for this year’s BMW M Award.”

Following is further information courtesy of MotoGP:

MotoGP BMW M Award

Meet the BMW M6

The new BMW M6 line-up allows BMW M Division to restate its leadership in the high-performance luxury segment. The outgoing models had already set new benchmarks with the flawless balance of power, efficiency, agility, comfort and luxury that is typical of M models. And now the latest BMW M6 models, including the new BMW M6 Convertible, are is poised to write a fresh chapter in this success story, fuelled by an even more finely honed, well-resolved overall concept.

Aboard the new BMW M6 Convertible, the driver experiences the perfect symbiosis of stunning performance and a refined convertible. The power comes courtesy of the 560-hp M TwinPower Turbo V8 petrol engine (combined fuel consumption: 10.3 l/100 km; combined CO2 emissions: 239 g/km). The BMW M6 Convertible accelerates from 0 to 100 km/ in an impressive 4.3 seconds and boasts a top speed of (regulated) 250 km/h. Technology characteristic of BMW M, such as the double-clutch transmission with Drivelogic, Dynamic Damper Control, and Active M Differential, guarantee sporty and perfect handling in any situation.

The new BMW M6 Convertible for this year’s BMW M Award winner is also visually stunning. In its exclusive BMW Individual paint finish “Frozen Blue Metallic”, the convertible looks both ultra-dynamic and extremely elegant. This imposing appearance is reinforced by the Double-spoke style 20-inch BMW M light alloy wheels. The interior features BMW Individual full fine-grain Merino leather in “Opal White”, as well as BMW Individual interior trims in “Ash Grain White” real wood.

About the MotoGP BMW M Award

In 2015, the BMW M Award will be presented for the 13th time. Just like the points system for the races, riders at each Grand Prix weekend are awarded points relative to their positions in qualifying. Pole position is rewarded with 25 points, second place on the grid earns 20 points and third place scores 16 points – right down to one point for 15th. The rider with the most points at the end of the season wins the BMW M Award.

Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner are the current record holders, each with three BMW M Awards to their name. In 2013, Marc Marquez was crowned the youngest ever winner of the BMW M Award, and the first rider to receive this award in his first season at the pinnacle of motorcycle racing. In 2014, Márquez won the BMW M Award for a second time. His compatriot Jorge Lorenzo has also earned the coveted title of top qualifier twice so far. Sete Gibernau and Nicky Hayden have both won the BMW M Award once.

The BMW M Award is one of the many pillars of BMW M’s long-term commitment to the pinnacle of motorcycle racing. At the centre of the partnership with Dorna Sports is the provision of the BMW M fleet. 2015 is BMW M’s 17th season as “Official Car of MotoGP”. This year’s fleet of official MotoGP vehicles consists of six BMW M and M Performance models. It is spearheaded by the BMW M4 Coupé Safety Car with innovative water injection technology. The BMW M4 Coupé, the BMW M3 and BMW M6 Gran Coupé are also employed as Safety Cars as well. A BMW M5 is available for the Safety Officer, while the new BMW X5 M and the BMW M550d xDrive Touring are used as Medical Cars. BMW Motorrad also provides two BMW S 1000 RRs as Safety Bikes.

More information on the 2015 safety car fleet and the numerous MotoGP activities of BMW M Division as well as the current BMW M Award ranking can be found online at


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.