2015 World Superbike Schedule Down to 13; Russia Cancels

2015 World Superbike Schedule Down to 13; Russia Cancels
Pata Honda's Sylvain Guintoli, the reigning World SBK Champion

For the second-consecutive year, the Russian round of 2015 World Superbike at Moscow Raceway was canceled, Dorna WSBK reports. Due to this, the 2015 World SBK calendar is down to 13 rounds – the same as 2014.

The cancellation of the Russian round scheduled for July 5 was canceled after Dorna WSBK and FIM put forth their “best efforts.” The scenario is similar to what occurred last year when Russian World Superbike was canceled due to dire political situations (Ukraine Crisis and Vladimir Putin’s actions).

As a consequence of this year’s cancellation, the Moscow Region Yakhnich Motorsport Team, which applied to the FIM Supersport World Championship, will not participate in the series.

2015 World Superbike Schedule Down to 13; Russia Cancels
Pata Honda’s Sylvain Guintoli, the reigning World SBK Champion

Moscow Raceway joined the WSBK schedule in 2012, with 2013 Champion Tom Sykes taking the race-one win, and Marco Melandr – then piloting a BMW S1000RR – taking the race-two win. Last year’s round was struck by tragedy. The second World Superbike race was cancelled immediately following a crash in World Supersport that claimed the life of Andrea Antonelli. Melandri won race one, which was plagued by heavy rains.

The 13-round SBK schedule features all rounds the World Superbike series visited in 2014, with the addition of the Chang International Circuit. Like 2014, World Superbike will get underway at Phillip Island in Australia (February 22) and will conclude under the lights at Losail International Circuit in Qatar (October 18).

Following a season-long battle with 2013 SBK Champion Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team), Sylvain Guintoli earned the 2014 title for Aprilia Racing Team. This was Aprilia’s third title with its RSV4 (other two arrived with Max Biaggi).

2015 World Superbike Schedule:

  1. February 22: Phillip Island GP Circuit, Australia
  2. March 22: Chang International Circuit, Thailand
  3. April 12: MotorLand Aragón, Spain
  4. April 19: TT Circuit Assen, The Netherlands
  5. May 10: Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari di Imola, italy
  6. May 24: Donington Park, UK
  7. June 7: Autódromo Internacional do Algarve*, Portugal
  8. June 21: Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli, Italy
  9. July 19: Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, USA
  10. August 2: Sepang International Circuit, Malaysia
  11. September 20: Circuito de Jerez, Spain
  12. October 4: Circuit de Nevers Magny-Cours, France
  13. October 18: Losail International Circuit*, Qatar

STC: Subject to Contract