Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2014 Sepang Moto3 Results

2014 Sepang Moto3 Results

2014 Sepang Moto3 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2014 Moto3 Championship results from the Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang International Circuit listed below.

From the looks of things heading into Sepang International Circuit, either Red Bull Ajo KTM’s Jack Miller or Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Marquez would earn the 2014 Moto3 title.

But this didn’t happen. And unlike MotoGP and Moto2 where the titles have been decided, the 2014 Moto3 Championship won’t be settled until the season finale at Valenica in two weeks time.

The reason? SaxoPrint-RTG’s Efren Vazquez, who was able to take the win under extremely hot conditions. Miller would finish second, with Estrella Galicia 0,0’s Alex Rins taking the final-podium position.

As for Marquez – the younger brother of 2014 MotoGP Champion Marc Marquez who broke additional records Sunday – he battled intensely with Miller through the race, the two touching a few times. But Marquez was forced to settle for fifth. Due to their finishes, Marquez’s lead was slimmed to 11 ahead of Miller as the series heads to Valencia.

Up front, Vazquez took his second victory of the year. He finished 0.213 of a second ahead of Miller, with Rins 0.385 of a second behind.

Fourth came down to a final-lap fight between Red Bull Ajo Husqvarna’s Danny Kent and Marquez, but Kent taking fourth.

The top ten was completed by Alexis Masbou (Ongetta-Rivacold), Niccolo Antonelli (Junior Team GO&FUN Moto3), Jakub Kornfeil (Calvo Team), Karel Hanika (Red Bull KTM Ajo) and Enea Bastianini (Junior Team Go&FUN Moto3).

Miguel Oliveira (Mahindra Racing) was the first to crash out. Andrea Migno (Mahindra Racing) and local hero Zulfahmi Khairuddin (Ongetta-AirAsia) both collided, ending their races. There was another incident involving Scott Deroue (RW Racing GP), Matteo Ferrari (San Carlo Tam Italia) and Hafiza Rofa (SIC-Ajo), with the latter rejoining the race, MotoGP reports.

Isaac Viñales (Calvo Team) fell as he attempted to chase down the leading group. John McPhee (SaxoPrint-RTG) crashed as he pushed for his first podium, MotoGP Reports.

There were retirements for Jasper Iwema (CIP), Ramdam Rosli (Petrons AHM Malaysia). They were joined in the pits by Niklas Ajo (Avant Tecno Husqvarna Ajo) and Brad Binder (Ambrogio Racing), MotoGP reports.

Teammates Romano Fenati (SKY Racing Team VR46) and Francesco Bagnaia (SKY Racing Team VR46) also entered the pits with technical problems, MotoGP reports.

The 2014 Moto3 Championship now breaks for two weeks before the season finale at Valencia – the fourth round held in Spain.

2014 Sepang Moto3 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 7 Efren VAZQUEZ SPA SaxoPrint-RTG Honda 147.1 40’41.002
2 20 8 Jack MILLER AUS Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 147.1 +0.213
3 16 42 Alex RINS SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 147.1 +0.385
4 13 52 Danny KENT GBR Red Bull Husqvarna Ajo Husqvarna 147.0 +0.803
5 11 12 Alex MARQUEZ SPA Estrella Galicia 0,0 Honda 147.0 +0.831
6 10 10 Alexis MASBOU FRA Ongetta-Rivacold Honda 147.0 +1.073
7 9 23 Niccolò ANTONELLI ITA Junior Team GO&FUN Moto3 KTM 147.0 +1.916
8 8 84 Jakub KORNFEIL CZE Calvo Team KTM 147.0 +2.089
9 7 98 Karel HANIKA CZE Red Bull KTM Ajo KTM 146.7 +7.336
10 6 33 Enea BASTIANINI ITA Junior Team GO&FUN Moto3 KTM 146.5 +9.520
11 5 58 Juanfran GUEVARA SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3 Kalex KTM 146.1 +17.407
12 4 99 Jorge NAVARRO SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex KTM 146.0 +17.610
13 3 38 Hafiq AZMI MAL SIC-AJO KTM 145.3 +29.592
14 2 19 Alessandro TONUCCI ITA CIP Mahindra 145.3 +29.745
15 1 2 Remy GARDNER AUS Calvo Team KTM 144.9 +37.467
16 43 Luca GRÜNWALD GER Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 144.9 +37.505
17 95 Jules DANILO FRA Ambrogio Racing Mahindra 144.9 +37.792
18 65 Philipp OETTL GER Interwetten Paddock Moto3 Kalex KTM 144.8 +38.773
19 4 Gabriel RAMOS VEN Kiefer Racing Kalex KTM 143.8 +55.583
20 88 Hafiza ROFA MAL SIC-AJO KTM 141.5 +1’36.170
Not Classified
17 John MCPHEE GBR SaxoPrint-RTG Honda 147.1 1 Lap
21 Francesco BAGNAIA ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 145.9 6 Laps
32 Isaac VIÑALES SPA Calvo Team KTM 147.1 7 Laps
5 Romano FENATI ITA SKY Racing Team VR46 KTM 145.2 7 Laps
9 Scott DEROUE NED RW Racing GP Kalex KTM 144.4 10 Laps
3 Matteo FERRARI ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra 144.3 10 Laps
55 Andrea LOCATELLI ITA San Carlo Team Italia Mahindra 144.7 11 Laps
41 Brad BINDER RSA Ambrogio Racing Mahindra 145.0 12 Laps
31 Niklas AJO FIN Avant Tecno Husqvarna Ajo Husqvarna 143.4 14 Laps
63 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN MAL Ongetta-AirAsia Honda 137.7 17 Laps
16 Andrea MIGNO ITA Mahindra Racing Mahindra 137.6 17 Laps
13 Jasper IWEMA NED CIP Mahindra 135.2 17 Laps
93 Ramdan ROSLI MAL Petronas AHM Malaysia KTM 133.1 17 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
44 Miguel OLIVEIRA POR Mahindra Racing Mahindra 0 Lap

2014 Moto3 Championship Point Standings (after 17 or 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Alex MARQUEZ Honda SPA 262
3 Alex RINS Honda SPA 226
4 Efren VAZQUEZ Honda SPA 212
5 Romano FENATI KTM ITA 174
6 Alexis MASBOU Honda FRA 160
9 Danny KENT Husqvarna GBR 116
10 Brad BINDER Mahindra RSA 102
11 Miguel OLIVEIRA Mahindra POR 102
13 John MCPHEE Honda GBR 77
15 Niklas AJO Husqvarna FIN 52
16 Francesco BAGNAIA KTM ITA 50
17 Juanfran GUEVARA Kalex KTM SPA 45
18 Karel HANIKA KTM CZE 38
19 Alessandro TONUCCI Mahindra ITA 20
20 Zulfahmi KHAIRUDDIN Honda MAL 19
21 Livio LOI Kalex KTM BEL 17
22 Matteo FERRARI Mahindra ITA 12
23 Jorge NAVARRO Kalex KTM SPA 11
24 Philipp OETTL Kalex KTM GER 10
25 Andrea MIGNO Mahindra ITA 8
26 Hiroki ONO Honda JPN 5
28 Hafiq AZMI KTM MAL 3
29 Arthur SISSIS Mahindra AUS 3
30 Jules DANILO Mahindra FRA 2

Garmin Montana 700i Review: Motorcycle GPS Adventure Partner

I am starting to do adventure motorcycle riding here in the Pacific Northwest, and I am a fanatic about my personal safety. I do...

2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE First Look (5 Fast Facts—Supercharged)

We met the Kawasaki Z H2 last year, and now it’s time to upgrade. The 2021 Kawasaki Z H2 SE takes the standard supercharged...

2021 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR: All-New (15 Fast Facts)

Kawasaki has totally revamped its 2021 Ninja ZX-10R and ZX-10RR superbikes. The motorcycles, built with input from Kawasaki Racing Team (KRT), won the past...

2021 Kawasaki KLX300SM First Look with Specs (6 Fast Facts)

Adding to the KLX300R and all-new KLX300 dual-sport, Kawasaki has completed its 2021 KLX lineup with an unexpected motorcycle. Meet the 2021 Kawasaki KLX300SM,...

2021 Kawasaki KLX300 First Look (5 Fast Facts)

From the moment we rode the 2020 Kawasaki KLX300R, we were crossing our fingers that we would see a dual-sport version. It took only...

2021 Honda Trail 125 Review (17 Fast Facts On- and Off-Road)

Honda continues to mine its archives for fun, approachable, small-displacement motorcycles with the release of their cool-as-a-Swiss-army-knife 2021 Honda Trail 125 ABS. This is...