Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2014 Sepang Moto2 Results

2014 Sepang Moto2 Results

2014 Sepang Moto2 Results

Spoiler Alert: 2014 Moto2 Championship results from the Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang International Circuit listed below.

As the Moto2 Championship headed to Sepang International Circuit for the final of three back-to-back rounds, Marc VDS Racing’s Tito Rabat had the chance to secure his first-ever title in the series that he joined in 2011.

Forty-one points separated him from teammate Mike Kallio, so there was a possibility of the title fight going down to the final round in Valencia in two weeks.

But with a third-place finish, Esteve Rabat secured enough points to clinch the 2014 Moto2 title at the penultimate round. Starting from pole, he rode smartly, knowing not to push it. He would take third behind winner Maverick Vinales, who joins the Suzuki MotoGP Team in 2015, and Kallio.

When the 20-lap race began, Rabat capililzed on his pole-position start, leading for the opening 10 laps. But there was too much pressure from Kallio and Paginas Amarillas HP 40’s Vinales.

Both riders eventually passed Rabat, and Vinales went on to win by 2.694 seconds ahead of Kallio. Rabat would finish third, 8.054 seconds off the top time. This was Vinales’ third win in four races of 2014 Moto2, and Kallio’s 10th podium.

Taking fourth was AirAsia Caterham’s Johann Zarco, who won a closely-fought battle with Technolomag carXpert’s Dominique Aegerter and Italtrans Racing Team’s Julian Simon, respectively.

Rounding out the top 10 were Sandro Cortese (Dynavolt Intact GP), Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Sitag), Jonas Folger (AGR Team) and Marcel Schrotter (Tech 3).

Gino Rea (AGT Rea Racing) fell at Turn 2 on the first lap, causing Nico Terol (Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2) to drop his Suter to avoid the fallen rider. Rea was later diagnosed with three broken bones in his right foot, MotoGP reports.

Franco Morbidelli (Italtrans Racing Team) crashed but rejoined in order to continue learning the Malaysian circuit. Randy Krummenacher (Octo IodaRacing Team) and Sam Lowes (SpeedUp) both fell at the last corner of the track midrace, remounting after. Lowes would pit with five laps remaining however, MotoGP reports

Takaaki Nakagami (Idemitsu Honda Team Asia) and Louis Rossi (SAG Team) both fell and were unable to rejoin. Home rider Hafizh Syahrin (Petronas Racline Malaysia) crashed out of tenth after a lightning start to the race. Axel Pons (AGR Team) retired to the pits with a technical issue, MotoGP reports.

The 2014 Moto2 Championship now breaks for two weeks before the season finale at Valencia – the fourth round held in Spain.

2014 Sepang Moto2 Results:

Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Km/h Time/Gap
1 25 40 Maverick VIÑALES SPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex 154.9 40’46.754
2 20 36 Mika KALLIO FIN Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 154.7 +2.694
3 16 53 Esteve RABAT SPA Marc VDS Racing Team Kalex 154.4 +8.054
4 13 5 Johann ZARCO FRA AirAsia Caterham Caterham Suter 154.2 +10.590
5 11 77 Dominique AEGERTER SWI Technomag carXpert Suter 154.2 +10.663
6 10 60 Julian SIMON SPA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 154.2 +10.769
7 9 11 Sandro CORTESE GER Dynavolt Intact GP Kalex 153.9 +15.657
8 8 12 Thomas LUTHI SWI Interwetten Sitag Suter 153.7 +18.839
9 7 94 Jonas FOLGER GER AGR Team Kalex 153.7 +19.486
10 6 23 Marcel SCHROTTER GER Tech 3 Tech 3 153.3 +24.887
11 5 39 Luis SALOM SPA Paginas Amarillas HP 40 Kalex 153.1 +28.234
12 4 88 Ricard CARDUS SPA Tech 3 Tech 3 153.0 +30.338
13 3 54 Mattia PASINI ITA NGM Forward Racing Kalex 153.0 +30.533
14 2 44 Roberto ROLFO ITA Tasca Racing Moto2 Suter 153.0 +30.548
15 1 81 Jordi TORRES SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 152.7 +34.769
16 20 Florian MARINO FRA NGM Forward Racing Kalex 152.6 +36.613
17 7 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI ITA Gresini Moto2 Suter 152.5 +38.869
18 95 Anthony WEST AUS QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 152.3 +42.201
19 19 Xavier SIMEON BEL Federal Oil Gresini Moto2 Suter 151.9 +47.876
20 25 Azlan SHAH MAL IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 151.6 +52.950
21 10 Thitipong WAROKORN THA APH PTT The Pizza SAG Kalex 151.6 +53.163
22 97 Roman RAMOS SPA QMMF Racing Team Speed Up 151.2 +59.999
23 71 Tomoyoshi KOYAMA JPN Teluru Team JiR Webike NTS 151.0 +1’03.331
24 18 Nicolas TEROL SPA Mapfre Aspar Team Moto2 Suter 150.7 +1’08.275
25 46 Decha KRAISART THA Singha Eneos Yamaha Tech 3 Tech 3 150.2 +1’16.996
26 4 Randy KRUMMENACHER SWI Octo IodaRacing Team Suter 142.4 1 Lap
Not Classified
21 Franco MORBIDELLI ITA Italtrans Racing Team Kalex 129.8 4 Laps
22 Sam LOWES GBR Speed Up Speed Up 149.2 5 Laps
49 Axel PONS SPA AGR Team Kalex 151.6 7 Laps
55 Hafizh SYAHRIN MAL Petronas Raceline Malaysia Kalex 153.5 9 Laps
96 Louis ROSSI FRA SAG Team Kalex 152.3 11 Laps
30 Takaaki NAKAGAMI JPN IDEMITSU Honda Team Asia Kalex 151.7 13 Laps
14 Ratthapark WILAIROT THA AirAsia Caterham Caterham Suter 151.5 13 Laps
Not Finished 1st Lap
8 Gino REA GBR AGT REA Racing Suter 0 Lap

2014 Moto2 Championship Point Standings (after 17 or 18 rounds):

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 326
2 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 289
3 Maverick VIÑALES Kalex SPA 274
4 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 169
5 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 162
6 Johann ZARCO Caterham Suter FRA 130
7 Simone CORSI Kalex ITA 100
8 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 85
9 Franco MORBIDELLI Kalex ITA 75
10 Luis SALOM Kalex SPA 72
11 Marcel SCHROTTER Tech 3 GER 72
12 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 65
13 Jonas FOLGER Kalex GER 60
14 Sam LOWES Speed Up GBR 60
15 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 56
16 Xavier SIMEON Suter BEL 52
17 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 52
18 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex MAL 42
19 Ricard CARDUS Tech 3 SPA 41
20 Alex DE ANGELIS Suter RSM 37
21 Mattia PASINI Kalex ITA 35
22 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 32
23 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 28
24 Randy KRUMMENACHER Suter SWI 24
25 Louis ROSSI Kalex FRA 17
26 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Suter ITA 14
27 Gino REA Suter GBR 7
28 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 2
29 Roberto ROLFO Suter ITA 2

2021 Indian Challenger Lineup First Look: Photos, Prices, and Colors

The performance-oriented Challenger bagger lineup from Indian returns for 2021, with three models to choose from. All three 2021 Indian Challenger models get the...

2021 GasGas Motocross Lineup First Look (Specs and Photos)

When under Spanish ownership, GasGas was never known as a motocross brand. However, under the guidance of Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto—the owners...

2021 Indian Chieftain Lineup First Look: 3 Big-Inch Baggers

There are three baggers in the 2021 Indian Chieftain lineup, with just a few changes to the motorcycles this year. There are new colors,...

2021 GasGas Trial Lineup First Look (8 Fast Facts: 3 TXT Racing Models)

The first GasGas motorcycles of the Pierer Mobility AG and Bajaj Auto era have arrived. Those who were expecting wholesale redesigns of the line...

Lieback’s Lounge: This Will All Pass [Thoughts on Simic and Motorcycles]

There is a menace in the air Of tragedies in the making. These lines are from "Late September," written by the American minimalist poet Charles Simic....

Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish by Andy Reynolds [Review]

Author Andy Reynolds’ new book, Racing Classic Motorcycles: First You Have to Finish, is about a man livin’ the classic motorcycle racing dream—with some...