2014 Motegi MotoGP Results

2014 Motegi MotoGP Results
Start of Motegi MotoGp

2014 Motegi MotoGP Results

Spoiler Alert: 2014 MotoGP results from Twin Ring Motegi in Japan listed below.

One story trumped all heading into the 2014 Grand Prix of Japan at Twin Ring Motegi – the possible title clinch by Repsol Honda’s Marc Marquez.

The 21-year-old Spaniard needed one of two scenarios to work at round 15 of 18 – either win, or finish second or third ahead of Valentino Rossi and Dani Pedrosa.

After the 24-lap race at the technical Motegi circuit, the latter scenario played out for the Repsol Honda rider. Marquez finished second behind Movistar Yamaha MotoGP’s Jorge Lorenzo, and was able to clinch the title with three rounds remaining. Taking the final podium position was Lorenzo’s teammate Rossi.

This was Marquez’s second-straight title; he won 11 of 15 rounds so far in 2014 MotoGP, and becomes the youngest rider in history to win two consecutive premier-class championships. This was also the third World Championship for Marquez in three years after success in Moto2, and his fourth in five years, since he won his first title in the 125cc class at 17-years old.

“I am very happy to have sealed this second consecutive World Championship, because although it is difficult to maintain this level, in the end we succeeded! Today is the time to enjoy this title,” Marquez says.

“In the race I had a very clear objective, which was to finish ahead of Valentino and Dani ‒the other riders did not matter to me so much today. I just had one goal in mind and the important thing is that I was able to achieve it. I want to dedicate this title to all the people who have helped me ‒they know who they are‒ and especially to my family and the team, who are the foundation for all of this.”

It wasn’t an easy second place for Marquez, though. Starting from fourth on the grid, Marquez didn’t get the best start. But he quickly passed Monster Yamaha Tech 3’s Pol Espargaro, teammate Dani Pedrosa, and Pramac Racing Ducati’s Andrea Iannone.

Marquez then chased down the front runners – Lorenzo, Rossi and pole man Andrea Dovizioso. The Honda RC213V pilot made quick work of Dovi, and then overtook Rossi on lap nine for second.

Marquez attempted to catch the leader Lorenzo, but raced smartly, knowing he could clinch the title by finishing second ahead of Rossi and Pedrosa.

Marquez eventually crossed the finish line 1.638 seconds behind Lorenzo. Rossi finished third, 2.602 seconds behind. Pedrosa finished fourth, 3.157 seconds back, followed by Dovizioso, who was 14.353 seconds behind Lorenzo.

Andrea Iannone (Pramac Racing), Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda MotoGP), Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech3), Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech3) and Alvaro Bautista (GO&FUN Honda Gresini) completed the top 10.

The man who took his first podium of 2014 MotoGP at Aragon, Ducati Team’s Cal Crutchlow, was the first to crash. Also crashing in the second half of the race were Cardion AB Motoracing’s Karel Abraham and Energy T.I. Pramac Racing’s Yonny Hernandez; all three crashes were not injured.

Danilo Petrucci (Octo Iodaracing Team) also suffered a DNF after he was forced to retire due to technical problems.

The 2014 MotoGP Championship takes no break, and heads straight to Phillip Island in Australia for the second race in three back-to-back rounds.

2014 Motegi MotoGP Results:

12599Jorge LORENZOSPAMovistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha163.242’21.259
22093Marc MARQUEZSPARepsol Honda TeamHonda163.1+1.638
31646Valentino ROSSIITAMovistar Yamaha MotoGPYamaha163.0+2.602
41326Dani PEDROSASPARepsol Honda TeamHonda163.0+3.157
5114Andrea DOVIZIOSOITADucati TeamDucati162.3+14.353
61029Andrea IANNONEITAPramac RacingDucati162.1+16.653
796Stefan BRADLGERLCR Honda MotoGPHonda161.9+19.531
8844Pol ESPARGAROSPAMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha161.9+19.815
9738Bradley SMITHGBRMonster Yamaha Tech 3Yamaha161.7+23.575
10619Alvaro BAUTISTASPAGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda160.9+35.687
11541Aleix ESPARGAROSPANGM Forward RacingForward Yamaha160.6+40.668
12421Katsuyuki NAKASUGAJPNYAMALUBE Racing Team with YSPYamaha160.0+51.027
1337Hiroshi AOYAMAJPNDrive M7 AsparHonda160.0+51.093
14269Nicky HAYDENUSADrive M7 AsparHonda159.7+55.792
1518Hector BARBERASPAAvintia RacingDucati159.5+59.089
1645Scott REDDINGGBRGO&FUN Honda GresiniHonda159.4+59.508
1715Alex DE ANGELISRSMNGM Forward RacingForward Yamaha158.4+1’16.547
1870Michael LAVERTYGBRPaul Bird MotorsportPBM157.7+1’28.021
1963Mike DI MEGLIOFRAAvintia RacingAvintia157.6+1’29.470
2023Broc PARKESAUSPaul Bird MotorsportPBM157.4+1’33.253
Not Classified
68Yonny HERNANDEZCOLEnergy T.I. Pramac RacingDucati160.71 Lap
17Karel ABRAHAMCZECardion AB MotoracingHonda158.810 Laps
9Danilo PETRUCCIITAOcto IodaRacing TeamART154.820 Laps
35Cal CRUTCHLOWGBRDucati TeamDucati152.123 Laps

2014 MotoGP Point Standings (after 15 of 18 rounds):

1Marc MARQUEZHondaSPA312
2Valentino ROSSIYamahaITA230
3Dani PEDROSAHondaSPA230
4Jorge LORENZOYamahaSPA227
5Andrea DOVIZIOSODucatiITA153
6Aleix ESPARGAROForward YamahaSPA117
8Andrea IANNONEDucatiITA102
9Stefan BRADLHondaGER96
10Bradley SMITHYamahaGBR92
11Alvaro BAUTISTAHondaSPA79
13Scott REDDINGHondaGBR60
14Hiroshi AOYAMAHondaJPN54
15Yonny HERNANDEZDucatiCOL39
16Nicky HAYDENHondaUSA38
17Karel ABRAHAMHondaCZE33
18Colin EDWARDSForward YamahaUSA11
19Michele PIRRODucatiITA11
22Alex DE ANGELISForward YamahaRSM7
23Mike DI MEGLIOAvintiaFRA4
24Katsuyuki NAKASUGAYamahaJPN4
25Hector BARBERADucatiSPA3
27Leon CAMIERHondaGBR1