Motorcycle Racing News MotoGP 2014 Motegi Moto2 Preview | Rabat Leads Kallio

2014 Motegi Moto2 Preview | Rabat Leads Kallio

2014 Motegi Moto2 Preview | Rabat Leads Kallio2014 Motegi Moto2 Preview — Rabat’s lead over Kallio larger, but not insurmountable going into Motul GP of Japan

As the 2014 Moto2 Championship heads to the Twin Ring Motegi circuit in Japan for round 15, Esteve Rabat (SPA) and Mika Kallio (FIN) (both Marc VDS Racing Team) are the leaders in the points race.

Thanks to his second-place finish at Aragon two weeks ago, Rabat has 278 points, 33 ahead of Kallio, who finished seventh in Spain.

Kallio has three victories this yea, and  must top the podium in some of the four remaining rounds if he is gain ground on Rabat in the title hunt. Heading into Aragon, Kallio had finished on the podium in each of the five previous events.

Third in the standings with 204 points is Maverick Viñales (Paginas Amarillas HP 40), who rode to victory at Aragon; an achievement that has secured the Rookie of the Year award for him. In addition, a 2015 MotoGP ride with Suzuki has been secured. Aragon was the 19-year old’s 14th Grand Prix victory.

Dominique Aegerter (Technomag carXpert), Thomas Luthi (Interwetten Sitag) and Johann Zarco (AirAsia Caterham) have the potential to be on the podium at Motegi, whereas Simone Corsi (NGM Forward Racing) will not return to competition before Valencia due to injury.

Corsi had a fracture to his left forearm suffered at Silverstone surgically repaired and won’t be ready to return to competition. He will again be substituted for at the next three rounds by the 21 year-old French rider Florian Marino.

Tomoyoshi Koyama also gets a substitute ride in Japan as he steps in for Tetsuta Nagashima (Teluru Team JiR Webike) who likewise is still injured.

2014 Moto2 Point Standings:

Pos. Rider Bike Nation Points
1 Esteve RABAT Kalex SPA 278
2 Mika KALLIO Kalex FIN 245
3 Maverick VIÑALES Kalex SPA 204
4 Dominique AEGERTER Suter SWI 143
5 Thomas LUTHI Suter SWI 116
6 Johann ZARCO Caterham Suter FRA 104
7 Simone CORSI Kalex ITA 100
8 Luis SALOM Kalex SPA 66
9 Sandro CORTESE Kalex GER 66
10 Anthony WEST Speed Up AUS 65
11 Franco MORBIDELLI Kalex ITA 63
12 Marcel SCHROTTER Tech 3 GER 57
13 Sam LOWES Speed Up GBR 49
14 Jonas FOLGER Kalex GER 48
15 Jordi TORRES Suter SPA 40
16 Xavier SIMEON Suter BEL 39
17 Alex DE ANGELIS Suter RSM 37
18 Julian SIMON Kalex SPA 36
19 Hafizh SYAHRIN Kalex MAL 34
20 Mattia PASINI Kalex ITA 32
21 Ricard CARDUS Tech 3 SPA 30
22 Axel PONS Kalex SPA 28
23 Randy KRUMMENACHER Suter SWI 24
24 Takaaki NAKAGAMI Kalex JPN 24
25 Louis ROSSI Kalex FRA 13
26 Lorenzo BALDASSARRI Suter ITA 12
27 Gino REA Suter GBR 5
28 Nicolas TEROL Suter SPA 2

2020 Japan MotoGP Canceled Due to COVID (Revised Calendar)

2020 Japan MotoGP at Twin Ring Motegi was canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The Japenese Grand Prix becomes the seventh MotoGP canceled this season.

SLC2 Fantasy Supercross Tips (6 Fast Facts for Winning Picks)

The first of seven consecutive rounds at Rice-Eccles Stadium is in the books, and there was only one surprise in the finishes for

Alpinestars Tech-Air 5 Airbag System Review: Safety for All

The Alpinestars Tech-Air 5 is the Italian manufacturer’s first standalone airbag offering, allowing riders to enjoy the added protection of an airbag system, regardless...

2021 Gettysburg Bike Week Dates Set—20th Year Coming

The 2021 Gettysburg Bike Week, touted by organizers as “Eastern Pennsylvania’s definitive motorcycle rally,” will be held on July 8 through 11. Held at...

2021 Kawasaki KLX Lineup First Look: KLX140R and KLX140R L Debut

The first three 2021 Kawasaki KLX off-road motorcycles have been revealed. While there are no mechanical changes, Kawasaki has updated the model designations of...

MotoGP Virtual British Grand Prix Results and Coverage

In his Virtual MotoGP debut, Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP test rider and five-time GP World Champion Jorge Lorenzo took the win at the Michelin...